Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2012, 04:32 PM   #1
kfishpro3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
21.5 inch basic iMac (1299 version)

I currently have a mid-2010 Macbook Pro with a 2.4GHz Intel Core i5 and 8 gb of RAM. I am going to school for film/video production. I am big into short films and I also do weddings. I am starting to have to edit a lot more videos and my macbook pro just can't seem to handle it that well. It does the job, but runs slow. I want to upgrade to the new imac. Since I am in college, I can only afford the 1299 version. I use the Adobe Premium Production Suite, mainly premiere pro cs6 and after effects cs6. I edit DSLR 1080p footage. Would this iMac be a good upgrade from my macbook pro. Is it worth it for what I am going to use it for?
kfishpro3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 04:49 PM   #2
MacMiguel
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kfishpro3 View Post
I currently have a mid-2010 Macbook Pro with a 2.4GHz Intel Core i5 and 8 gb of RAM. I am going to school for film/video production. I am big into short films and I also do weddings. I am starting to have to edit a lot more videos and my macbook pro just can't seem to handle it that well. It does the job, but runs slow. I want to upgrade to the new imac. Since I am in college, I can only afford the 1299 version. I use the Adobe Premium Production Suite, mainly premiere pro cs6 and after effects cs6. I edit DSLR 1080p footage. Would this iMac be a good upgrade from my macbook pro. Is it worth it for what I am going to use it for?

No, sincerely, your actual MacBook is enough powerful then the basic model of iMac won't be a noticeable upgrade.... Save your money for a year!
MacMiguel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 05:00 PM   #3
Aluminum213
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kfishpro3 View Post
I currently have a mid-2010 Macbook Pro with a 2.4GHz Intel Core i5 and 8 gb of RAM. I am going to school for film/video production. I am big into short films and I also do weddings. I am starting to have to edit a lot more videos and my macbook pro just can't seem to handle it that well. It does the job, but runs slow. I want to upgrade to the new imac. Since I am in college, I can only afford the 1299 version. I use the Adobe Premium Production Suite, mainly premiere pro cs6 and after effects cs6. I edit DSLR 1080p footage. Would this iMac be a good upgrade from my macbook pro. Is it worth it for what I am going to use it for?
Editing on a 21.5' vs. 13-15' is a night and day experience in terms of ease
__________________
iPad Air | 32GB | LTE
2012 iMac 27" | i7 | 3.4Ghz | Fusion | 32GB RAM | 680MX
2010 MacBook Pro 13"
iPhone 5 | Black | 32GB TV (3rd Gen)
Aluminum213 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 05:01 PM   #4
phoenixsan
macrumors 65816
 
phoenixsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Post Imho....

the base model can be useful. But I am not so sure that is worth. My principal concerns are the HDD ( 1 TB) and RAM. 1080 footage can comsume fast a 1 TB drive. And Adobe software it is prone to eat RAM in chunks.....so, maybe you can buy the base model and upgrade components later, when you know for real how that works for your needs. The graphic card in this model sounds good and I believe it is CUDA enabled.

Hope you can upgrade the RAM and HDD right away.....

__________________
Mac Pro 2012 3.06 Westmere version, 12 Core 64 GB RAM, 4 TB , iPhone 5 (black)
phoenixsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 05:19 PM   #5
kfishpro3
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I actually do plan to upgrade to 16 gbs of RAM. So by doing that, would it be a good fit for what im doing? And my macbook pro hd knly has 320 gbs so 1TB is a bit of an upgrade for me. I have plenty of externals
kfishpro3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 10:57 PM   #6
Jiskefet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
FCP X usese more GPU than CPU so the graphics (512mb) will maybe the bottleneck ?
Jiskefet is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC