Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 29, 2013, 08:27 AM   #1
tevion5
macrumors 6502a
 
tevion5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ireland
Can you game with a Mac Pro 5,1?

I do not want to discuss price and value, all I want to know is, if I have a Mac pro 5,1, 2010, 2.8GHz, 8GB Ram and a nice aftermarket HD 7950, I would have a machine capable of playing most current games at virtually full graphics, right?

I have bought one quite cheap and I would like to know if it is indeed a powerful machine for gaming.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro, 2.3GHz; 16GB iPhone 4s; 8GB iPod Touch 2G ; 23" ACD ; Power Mac G5, 2GHz DC ; Power Macintosh 8600 ; Macintosh Classic II ; Macintosh 512Ke ; Apple II Plus ; Apple Monitor III
tevion5 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 08:31 AM   #2
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Is that a dual core? Or do any games even appreciate dual cores?
Anyway, yes, you can game on that machine. I'd suggest an increase in ram for sure. Basically, you need to find the system requirements of all games you want and cross reference with your system specs. It may take a little time, but you'll soon know where you fall short.
__________________
Because I'm a smartass.
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 08:40 AM   #3
GP-SE
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
yes it'll play games just fine. I have a Quad Core 2.93 Ghz, 8GB RAM, and a GTX 680, I play everything maxed out at 1920X1080.
GP-SE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 08:49 AM   #4
tevion5
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
tevion5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoCubsGo View Post
Is that a dual core? Or do any games even appreciate dual cores?
Anyway, yes, you can game on that machine. I'd suggest an increase in ram for sure. Basically, you need to find the system requirements of all games you want and cross reference with your system specs. It may take a little time, but you'll soon know where you fall short.
Quad core Xeon 2.8 GHz

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoCubsGo View Post
Is that a dual core? Or do any games even appreciate dual cores?
Anyway, yes, you can game on that machine. I'd suggest an increase in ram for sure. Basically, you need to find the system requirements of all games you want and cross reference with your system specs. It may take a little time, but you'll soon know where you fall short.
Oh I'm no noob when it come to hardware I've been building x86 machines since pentium 3 Big grey things with floppy drives

Just want to know if there is some secret Achilles heel in the mac pros gaming wise
__________________
13" MacBook Pro, 2.3GHz; 16GB iPhone 4s; 8GB iPod Touch 2G ; 23" ACD ; Power Mac G5, 2GHz DC ; Power Macintosh 8600 ; Macintosh Classic II ; Macintosh 512Ke ; Apple II Plus ; Apple Monitor III
tevion5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 08:59 AM   #5
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by tevion5 View Post
Quad core Xeon 2.8 GHz

----------



Oh I'm no noob when it come to hardware I've been building x86 machines since pentium 3 Big grey things with floppy drives

Just want to know if there is some secret Achilles heel in the mac pros gaming wise
Well, specs are specs. Find the requirements of the games you like and start comparing. Like x86 machines, it comes down to what your system is and what the requirements of the game are.
__________________
Because I'm a smartass.
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 09:13 AM   #6
tevion5
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
tevion5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoCubsGo View Post
Well, specs are specs. Find the requirements of the games you like and start comparing. Like x86 machines, it comes down to what your system is and what the requirements of the game are.
Great, that's what I hoped.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro, 2.3GHz; 16GB iPhone 4s; 8GB iPod Touch 2G ; 23" ACD ; Power Mac G5, 2GHz DC ; Power Macintosh 8600 ; Macintosh Classic II ; Macintosh 512Ke ; Apple II Plus ; Apple Monitor III
tevion5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 09:59 AM   #7
Demigod Mac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I can play Crysis 3 on High on my 5870. 5,1
Could probably do Very High if I upgraded to a better video card.
Demigod Mac is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 10:49 AM   #8
tevion5
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
tevion5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demigod Mac View Post
I can play Crysis 3 on High on my 5870. 5,1
Could probably do Very High if I upgraded to a better video card.
HD 7950 should be amazing so
__________________
13" MacBook Pro, 2.3GHz; 16GB iPhone 4s; 8GB iPod Touch 2G ; 23" ACD ; Power Mac G5, 2GHz DC ; Power Macintosh 8600 ; Macintosh Classic II ; Macintosh 512Ke ; Apple II Plus ; Apple Monitor III
tevion5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 03:45 AM   #9
mr1970
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Yep

I have a 2010 2 x 2.4 with the stock 5770 and it games very nicely. I don't play a lot but have been working through Diablo III and the thing I love is that the Pro can happily play the game at high quality while Handbraking in the background and serving video to the Apple TV elsewhere in the house.

To GoCubsGo's point, though, I'd up the RAM. I picked up 32GB of ex-server registered ECC RAM on eBay for peanuts and haven't had a page out in months (and the machine's never off). It's also worth making the boot drive an SSD - night and day difference, snaps into Diablo in quarter of the time.
mr1970 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 04:55 AM   #10
T'hain Esh Kelch
macrumors 65816
 
T'hain Esh Kelch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denmark
Send a message via ICQ to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via AIM to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via MSN to T'hain Esh Kelch
Why does people here seem to assume that more RAM == More speed? 8GB is more than enoguh for any gaming.
__________________
"There's no bigot like a religious bigot and there's no religion more fanatical than that espoused by Macintosh zealots." ~Martin Veitch, IT Week [31-01-2003]
T'hain Esh Kelch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 07:09 AM   #11
ValSalva
macrumors 68040
 
ValSalva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Burpelson AFB
Quote:
Originally Posted by T'hain Esh Kelch View Post
Why does people here seem to assume that more RAM == More speed? 8GB is more than enoguh for any gaming.
If more RAM prevents page outs then it helps with speed. But if one always has gigabytes and gigabytes of unused RAM, all that extra memory isn't doing anything for speed.
ValSalva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 04:50 AM   #12
T'hain Esh Kelch
macrumors 65816
 
T'hain Esh Kelch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denmark
Send a message via ICQ to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via AIM to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via MSN to T'hain Esh Kelch
Of course, that is my point. No games comes even close to using more than 2GB RAM.
__________________
"There's no bigot like a religious bigot and there's no religion more fanatical than that espoused by Macintosh zealots." ~Martin Veitch, IT Week [31-01-2003]
T'hain Esh Kelch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 06:56 AM   #13
ness96
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by tevion5 View Post
I do not want to discuss price and value, all I want to know is, if I have a Mac pro 5,1, 2010, 2.8GHz, 8GB Ram and a nice aftermarket HD 7950, I would have a machine capable of playing most current games at virtually full graphics, right?

I have bought one quite cheap and I would like to know if it is indeed a powerful machine for gaming.
I do. I've got a quad core 3.2ghz 5,1 with the stock Radeon. Granted, I didn't buy the Pro for gaming. It's my work machine, and I play games on it in my free time.

I use Boot Camp + Win7 for gaming. I don't play much, but it has very nicely handled everything I play (Skyrim, Fallout 3 + New Vegas, Minecraft). The video card could be better, but it works well enough that I don't feel the need to invest in a new card. It's not a gaming beast, but it'll do well
ness96 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 10:33 AM   #14
tevion5
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
tevion5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ness96 View Post
I do. I've got a quad core 3.2ghz 5,1 with the stock Radeon. Granted, I didn't buy the Pro for gaming. It's my work machine, and I play games on it in my free time.

I use Boot Camp + Win7 for gaming. I don't play much, but it has very nicely handled everything I play (Skyrim, Fallout 3 + New Vegas, Minecraft). The video card could be better, but it works well enough that I don't feel the need to invest in a new card. It's not a gaming beast, but it'll do well
Great to hear

I actually plan to upgrade to the new HD 7950 when I have the cash and find one for a good twice :P
tevion5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 11:14 AM   #15
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tevion5 View Post
Just want to know if there is some secret Achilles heel in the mac pros gaming wise
Yes. It is called OS X. Run Windows and you'll know no difference vs. PC of same hardware.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by T'hain Esh Kelch View Post
Of course, that is my point. No games comes even close to using more than 2GB RAM.
Maybe I want to play 6 games at a time.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 01:29 PM   #16
tevion5
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
tevion5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
Yes. It is called OS X. Run Windows and you'll know no difference vs. PC of same hardware.
What do you take me for?

I love OSX, but to do any serious gaming I will of course be bootcamping into windows 7.
Just wanted to know if there was some obscure issue with mac pro's and gaming hardware wise. On paper I don't see anything but I just wanted the opinion of those with experience.

Last edited by tevion5; Jul 2, 2013 at 05:26 AM.
tevion5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 06:32 PM   #17
Kaspersky
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Warsaw
Quote:
Originally Posted by T'hain Esh Kelch View Post
Of course, that is my point. No games comes even close to using more than 2GB RAM.
2008 say hello!
Kaspersky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 07:49 PM   #18
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tevion5 View Post
What do you take for?

I love OSX, but to do any serious gaming I will of course be bootcamping into windows 7.
Just wanted to know if there was some obscure issue with mac pro's and gaming hardware wise. On paper I don't see anything but I just wanted the opinion of those with experience.
No issue the way I have it (I mean games have their own issues and Windows has it's own issues). I don't use bootcamp though. Just dedicate a drive to it and install Win from disc. Have it grab all the X58 drivers and download GPU stuff and you are up to date and no sluggish boot camp leftovers.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 07:58 PM   #19
snarfquest
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
My primary use is gaming on my MP. Other then reading MacRumors...

The other things i use my MP for are so minimal for actually taxing the machinge.. ie VPN to work, reading email, ssh, X-Windows, etc. Gaming is the only thing that actually pushes this machine. Gaming on it rocks btw. Skyrim, Everquest, WoW are the games I am currently playing. Specs in tag.
__________________
Macpro5,1 - 3.33 HEX - 32GB - Radeon HD 7970 3GB - 500GB SSD / 2x1.5TB SAS 10k
snarfquest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 02:12 AM   #20
T'hain Esh Kelch
macrumors 65816
 
T'hain Esh Kelch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denmark
Send a message via ICQ to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via AIM to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via MSN to T'hain Esh Kelch
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaspersky View Post
2008 say hello!
And 2013 says hello back.
__________________
"There's no bigot like a religious bigot and there's no religion more fanatical than that espoused by Macintosh zealots." ~Martin Veitch, IT Week [31-01-2003]
T'hain Esh Kelch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 10:39 AM   #21
Kaspersky
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Warsaw
Quote:
Originally Posted by T'hain Esh Kelch View Post
And 2013 says hello back.

You do not even talk to him!


http://www.game-debate.com/games/ind...ame=Crysis%203

Last edited by Kaspersky; Jul 2, 2013 at 12:03 PM.
Kaspersky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 12:54 PM   #22
Omnius
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by T'hain Esh Kelch View Post
Why does people here seem to assume that more RAM == More speed? 8GB is more than enoguh for any gaming.
8 is fine if you only have the game open. However, it's more common to have a voice communication client open, sometimes a voice communication server, a browser with several tabs open, an application or two that is pertinent to the game, possibly a messenger program, maybe iTunes or an alternative media player.

8 is reasonably easy to max out in casual use. Especially when considering memory leaks during extended use. 16gb is the new safe number for casual gaming and home use.
__________________
Mac Mini 5,1, 2.3 ghz, 8GB RAM, 1.5TB (HTPC)
Mac Mini 5,2, 2.5 ghz, 16GB RAM, 500 GB HD, 256 GB SSD
iPhone 4S
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 01:22 AM   #23
Demigod Mac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Works flawlessly in BootCamp gaming, no Mac-specific issues at all.
Most reliable "PC" I've ever used, too.
Demigod Mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 02:06 AM   #24
ScottishCaptain
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaspersky View Post
Yawn.

Wake me up when Crytek figures out how to write an engine that isn't a giant piece of crap that chugs resources like there's no tomorrow. I understand pushing the envelope and all, but sometimes I swear they're trying to figure out the worst way of doing something solely so they can act as a hardware benchmark.

-SC
__________________
2010 Mac Pro (MacPro5,1), 2*2.93ghz, 64GB, 4x2TB, Apple RAID Card, 5970 GPU, 2xSD, Eizo CG276W
ScottishCaptain is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC