Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 26, 2013, 11:56 AM   #1
ucladave
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Can I use sprint iPhone 4s with T-mobile?

I have an iPhone 4s that is configured to Sprint. I think that the 4s models were able to be used on any of the different carriers as there is a sim card tray on it.

My question is, can I use this phone on T-Mobile? Specifically I am trying to tell if this phone is the same as the one that T-Mobile sells in their stores right now. If it isn't, would I get the same performance out of it or would I be better off selling it and getting an actual T-Mobile branded one?
ucladave is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 11:58 AM   #2
CEmajr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
You'll have to sell it and get the Tmobile one. The Sprint iPhone 4S cannot be used on other US carriers.
CEmajr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 11:59 AM   #3
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
I don't think so.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1574712

http://community.sprint.com/baw/message/578033
GoCubsGo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 12:18 PM   #4
PsstGreek
macrumors 68040
 
PsstGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucladave View Post
I have an iPhone 4s that is configured to Sprint. I think that the 4s models were able to be used on any of the different carriers as there is a sim card tray on it.

My question is, can I use this phone on T-Mobile? Specifically I am trying to tell if this phone is the same as the one that T-Mobile sells in their stores right now. If it isn't, would I get the same performance out of it or would I be better off selling it and getting an actual T-Mobile branded one?
You can but you'll need a turbo sim and it depends which iOS your iPhone is on to work.

Best bet is to get a T-Mobile branded one.
__________________
iMac + iPhone 5 + rMini
PsstGreek is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 12:27 PM   #5
SoIsays
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
OP, you can use it on T-Mobile using a GPP chip found on ebay or amazon. I tested it out on my Verizon unit and it worked. For a few days, I was on T-Mobile in the Washington DC area. The closer I was to Washington DC, the better chance I was able to hook onto a 3G signal (speeds were 4-8mbps dl). Unfortunately, most of the time I was on Edge since I live outside the city. For signal comparison inside a grocery store T-Mobile was 1 bar or less. On Verizon, it was 3 bars. Both would have an edge connection inside that grocery store.

Try it out. If you're not satisfied, just restore back to your Sprint backup.
SoIsays is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 12:44 PM   #6
ucladave
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoIsays View Post
OP, you can use it on T-Mobile using a GPP chip found on ebay or amazon. I tested it out on my Verizon unit and it worked. For a few days, I was on T-Mobile in the Washington DC area. The closer I was to Washington DC, the better chance I was able to hook onto a 3G signal (speeds were 4-8mbps dl). Unfortunately, most of the time I was on Edge since I live outside the city. For signal comparison inside a grocery store T-Mobile was 1 bar or less. On Verizon, it was 3 bars. Both would have an edge connection inside that grocery store.

Try it out. If you're not satisfied, just restore back to your Sprint backup.
I am in Los Angeles, and I believe that the T-Mobile branded iPhones get the 4g speeds. I could be wrong.

It sounds like I can use the GPP sim to get it to a T-Mobile signal, but at that point is there a difference between the T-Mobile branded phone and this one? Like does the T-Mobile branded one have different radio receivers? Or would there be no difference between the ul/dl speeds I would get either way?

If there is an advantage to the T-Mobile branded one I might just sell this one and get a new one...
ucladave is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 12:49 PM   #7
SoIsays
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
The difference with your 4S and the the Tmobile iphone is that your phone is one year older and lacks LTE. If you want a newer phone and the LTE speeds, the Tmobile iphone is a better choice.
SoIsays is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 02:13 PM   #8
ucladave
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoIsays View Post
The difference with your 4S and the the Tmobile iphone is that your phone is one year older and lacks LTE. If you want a newer phone and the LTE speeds, the Tmobile iphone is a better choice.
So there are no new frequency receivers in the T-Mobile branded one? I know that with some of the older "unlocked" iPhones you were only able to get 3g speeds in certain areas because of the lack of radio frequency capability...is that not the case with the 4s that I have?
ucladave is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 02:21 PM   #9
CEmajr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucladave View Post
So there are no new frequency receivers in the T-Mobile branded one? I know that with some of the older "unlocked" iPhones you were only able to get 3g speeds in certain areas because of the lack of radio frequency capability...is that not the case with the 4s that I have?
Even if you had an unlocked 4S or used the GPP interposer on your Sprint 4S you would still be limited to getting 3G only in T-Mobile 1900mhz refarmed areas.

Unofficial map here: www.airportal.de

If you want good service on an iPhone with T-Mobile then your best bet is the T-Mobile iPhone 5. It's the only one that supports all of their 3G/4G/LTE frequencies. They're doing a trade in where you can trade in your Sprint 4S and get an iPhone 5 with no money upfront.
CEmajr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 03:02 PM   #10
ucladave
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEmajr View Post
Even if you had an unlocked 4S or used the GPP interposer on your Sprint 4S you would still be limited to getting 3G only in T-Mobile 1900mhz refarmed areas.

Unofficial map here: www.airportal.de

If you want good service on an iPhone with T-Mobile then your best bet is the T-Mobile iPhone 5. It's the only one that supports all of their 3G/4G/LTE frequencies. They're doing a trade in where you can trade in your Sprint 4S and get an iPhone 5 with no money upfront.
Oh so there are frequency differences then...

Does the T-Mobile branded 4s not have the same receivers that the 5 has? I actually prefer the 4s over the 5 if at all possible.
ucladave is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 03:05 PM   #11
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucladave View Post
Oh so there are frequency differences then...

Does the T-Mobile branded 4s not have the same receivers that the 5 has? I actually prefer the 4s over the 5 if at all possible.
The Tmobile 4S has the same frequency issues.
In order to get 3G on both bands that Tmobile uses is if you get the tmobile i5.
Applejuiced is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 04:10 PM   #12
ucladave
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
The Tmobile 4S has the same frequency issues.
In order to get 3G on both bands that Tmobile uses is if you get the tmobile i5.
If that is true, it dosent make sense to sell off this one and get the T-Mobile branded one. Can anyone else confirm this?

If that is the case, I'll likely try the GPP option. Are there any special settings I would need to input after using the GPP?
ucladave is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 04:36 PM   #13
osofast240sx
macrumors 68020
 
osofast240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucladave View Post
If that is true, it dosent make sense to sell off this one and get the T-Mobile branded one. Can anyone else confirm this?

If that is the case, I'll likely try the GPP option. Are there any special settings I would need to input after using the GPP?
You need to sell your sprint iPhone 4 and buy a T-Mobile iPhone 5.
osofast240sx is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 04:38 PM   #14
ucladave
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by osofast240sx View Post
You need to sell your sprint iPhone 4 and buy a T-Mobile iPhone 5.
I don't want a 5. I mean to ask if there is no advantage to using a T-Mobile branded 4s vs using the 4s I have now and unlocking with GPP.

Never used the GPP before, so I was asking about settings for it...
ucladave is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 05:05 PM   #15
KUguardgrl13
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kansas, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucladave View Post
I don't want a 5. I mean to ask if there is no advantage to using a T-Mobile branded 4s vs using the 4s I have now and unlocking with GPP.

Never used the GPP before, so I was asking about settings for it...
T-Mobile does not have its own 4S. People who use 4Ses on T-Mobile brought them from other networks, mostly AT&T. They use refarmed 1900 MHz.

So if you really want a 4S on TMobile, your best bet is to trade yours for an unlocked AT&T one on Craigslist or something.

If you want to have an actual tmobile iPhone, you need to get their 5 or wait for the 5S.
KUguardgrl13 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 05:10 PM   #16
CEmajr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by KUguardgrl13 View Post
T-Mobile does not have its own 4S. People who use 4Ses on T-Mobile brought them from other networks, mostly AT&T. They use refarmed 1900 MHz.

So if you really want a 4S on TMobile, your best bet is to trade yours for an unlocked AT&T one on Craigslist or something.

If you want to have an actual tmobile iPhone, you need to get their 5 or wait for the 5S.
T-Mobile does sell the 4S in stores in reframed markets. The only difference from the AT&T model is that it's locked to T-Mobile instead of AT&T. It still doesn't have the AWS bands that the Tmobile 5 does though.
CEmajr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 05:24 PM   #17
KUguardgrl13
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kansas, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEmajr View Post
T-Mobile does sell the 4S in stores in reframed markets. The only difference from the AT&T model is that it's locked to T-Mobile instead of AT&T. It still doesn't have the AWS bands that the Tmobile 5 does though.
Huh. I haven't seen them in my area, and my boyfriend just went through the trouble to unlock his AT&T 4S and switch.

I'm also on Verizon, so I don't get this whole unlocking and switching network thing :P
KUguardgrl13 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 09:57 PM   #18
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucladave View Post
If that is true, it dosent make sense to sell off this one and get the T-Mobile branded one. Can anyone else confirm this?

If that is the case, I'll likely try the GPP option. Are there any special settings I would need to input after using the GPP?
Yep, pretty much even if you buy the tmobile 4S or use the one you got you will get the same exact hardware and bands.
So mind as well get the GPP and save yourself some money and time.
I heard the GPP's work fine and they're not that hard to install and use but haven't tried one personally.
Applejuiced is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2013, 01:29 PM   #19
pradeepv
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucladave View Post
I have an iPhone 4s that is configured to Sprint. I think that the 4s models were able to be used on any of the different carriers as there is a sim card tray on it.

My question is, can I use this phone on T-Mobile? Specifically I am trying to tell if this phone is the same as the one that T-Mobile sells in their stores right now. If it isn't, would I get the same performance out of it or would I be better off selling it and getting an actual T-Mobile branded one?

Did some one here try the GPP chip to unlock sprint iphone 4s .I want to unlock sprint iphone 4S and use it on t mobile. Some one who has done this before ,please help me .

Thanks,
Pradeep
pradeepv is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 4S iOS 7.1 Sprint to T-Mobile mark8 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Apr 16, 2014 08:07 PM
Unlocking Sprint iPhone 5 for T-Mobile? travis.hansen iPhone 40 Nov 19, 2013 07:28 PM
need some help [Sprint iPhone / T-Mobile network] bigboy96 iPhone 4 Sep 4, 2013 05:48 PM
Sprint vs T-Mobile for iPhone 5 utl768 iPhone 32 Jun 3, 2013 09:35 PM
Can you use a Sprint iPhone 4S on Virgin Mobile? todd2000 iPhone 12 Jul 26, 2012 07:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps