Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 6, 2008, 08:00 AM   #1
Ace 7
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Blu-ray on Bootcamp?

I have one of the latest aluminum iMacs and I'd really like to view Blu-rays on the gorgeous 24" display - but if Apple doesn't introduce Blu-ray support in their machines this fall I won't be the one to sit around waiting for it anymore.

So what I was wondering was if I could buy an external Blu-ray player, hook it up via USB to my iMac and play BDs using PowerDVD or AnyDVD HD on Bootcamp.

I was considering this one, and it had a reasonable price tag:

http://www.amazon.com/External-Bd-ro...0705583&sr=8-3

Any experiences on this?
Ace 7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 07:46 PM   #2
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 603
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
Theoretically you can, as long as the reader software works on windows, for this, I would suggest Vista since it is newer and there are blu-ray players for Vista and considerably less for XP. I may be wrong, but HD res is actually lower than a 24" res which is 1980 x 1200, whereas HD is 1920 x 1080. I strongly believe Apple will not be the one lagging behind but one whos thinking ahead, they were the first to ditch the floppy, scsi, and the super drive for the MBA. Just wait, I'm sure Apple will produce some sort of blu-ray add-on, like the MBA's super drive.
__________________
YouTube | Twitter
MacBook Air | iPhone 5 | iPad mini | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme 802.11ac | iPad signed by Steve Wozniak
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 05:45 PM   #3
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Yeah it will work. Either get InterVideo WinDVD or Cyberlink PowerDVD. If you want to use a display that doesn't support HDCP, get AnyDVD HD; otherwise you only need the former playback software.

BTW if your not the software paying type, you may want to pay for the playback software since there are regular updates to support new Blu-ray profiles and features.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2008, 01:58 PM   #4
MacBass
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: La Crosse, WI
Send a message via AIM to MacBass Send a message via Yahoo to MacBass
Would the video card in the iMac be able to display HDCP? That's one thing that I'm was curious about.
__________________
C2D Mini, 1.83/250 GB HD/3 GB RAM/ 22" Acer LCD
80 GB iPod Classic Black; 1G iPod Nano 2GB Black; 1G 512 iPod Shuffle; Broken 4G 20GB B&W iPod
MacBass is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2008, 03:50 PM   #5
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
My concern would be the display. I'm not sure it's HDCP compliant.
Can anyone answer this?
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 12:53 AM   #6
Ace 7
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Googled it...

http://arstechnica.com/reviews/hardw...e-new-imac.ars

According to the article, the iMac does indeed support HDCP.

By the way, I also have a nVidia GeForce 8800 GS, 512MB graphics card built in, so I think it should be able to handle it.
Ace 7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2008, 01:10 AM   #7
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace 7 View Post
Googled it...

http://arstechnica.com/reviews/hardw...e-new-imac.ars

According to the article, the iMac does indeed support HDCP.

By the way, I also have a nVidia GeForce 8800 GS, 512MB graphics card built in, so I think it should be able to handle it.
Didn't know, as I don't have an iMac.
Shouldn't be any problem then.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2008, 07:05 AM   #8
voodoofish
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace 7 View Post
Googled it...

http://arstechnica.com/reviews/hardw...e-new-imac.ars

According to the article, the iMac does indeed support HDCP.

By the way, I also have a nVidia GeForce 8800 GS, 512MB graphics card built in, so I think it should be able to handle it.
I have the same iMac and graphics card as you, did you ever try it in the end? i too would like to play blu-ray in windows (well, i would rather play is in Mac OS but apple isn't giving us the option...) without having to use anydvd
voodoofish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2008, 01:00 AM   #9
Ace 7
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by voodoofish View Post
I have the same iMac and graphics card as you, did you ever try it in the end? i too would like to play blu-ray in windows (well, i would rather play is in Mac OS but apple isn't giving us the option...) without having to use anydvd
Yes, now I've bought the external Lite-On Blu-ray player, and the iMac is indeed capable of playing them in Windows. I use AnyDVD sometimes to bypass region coding, because I like to shop around discs in different regions.
Ace 7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:54 AM   #10
ragu
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace 7 View Post
Yes, now I've bought the external Lite-On Blu-ray player, and the iMac is indeed capable of playing them in Windows. I use AnyDVD sometimes to bypass region coding, because I like to shop around discs in different regions.
you can even play blurry in OSX I am on my Mac Pro use a BluRay Player app works great and since I have a BluRay writer I can also make my own Bluray disc's
__________________
MacPro 3.1:2.8 Quad core 500g SSD & 3x3 Tb drives 22gig Ram>3 Tb TimeMachine
MacBook Pro 6.2 Core i7 620M)>480GigSSD>8Gig
Iphone 5-16gig & 3 ATV's
ragu is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I force a bootcamp menu on boot? ryanflucas Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 May 25, 2011 07:38 PM
Blu-rays on Bootcamp Unprocessed1 MacBook Air 1 Nov 17, 2010 11:02 AM
2GHZ Mac Mini, 4GB RAM - can it play Blu-Ray in Bootcamp? redfive19 Mac mini 8 Dec 16, 2008 12:20 PM
Blu-Ray on G4 PowerMacs TyleRomeo Macintosh Computers 9 Jan 21, 2005 02:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC