Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 9, 2010, 08:50 AM   #1
TextCrab
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Preparing To Copy - can this be turned off?

On my Mac, especially when copying a lot of files, the "preparing to copy" function before any copying actually takes place is too dang long. Is there any way to disable the "preparing to copy" part so that when I copy anything, it simply starts copying right away?

I don't need to the OS to guess how long the copy will take or to detect if I have enough free space. I just want to the copy to go as soon as I tell it to.
TextCrab is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2010, 08:53 AM   #2
sammich
macrumors 601
 
sammich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sarcasmville.
How much are you copying? And how often is this happening that it would be problem? Either that or you have a slow drive that you are copying from.

You could use the terminal to copy stuff if you want.
__________________
Official MR IRC
Slow news day? Never fear, Digitimes is here. Serving up free hits for techblogs everywhere.
sammich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2010, 12:04 PM   #3
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Those are not two separate functions. It's doing that because of the size of the item(s) you are copying. A small item will be copied instantaneously, as you want. But, it's a computer, not a miracle box. It takes a long time to cook a turkey in the microwave oven also.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2010, 01:34 PM   #4
wellandbusiness
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Peterborough (UK)
Send a message via Skype™ to wellandbusiness
Even if you could turn this feature off - it wouldn't achieve anything.

The preparing to copy stage of the copy process is your computer working out exactly where the files are physically located on your hard drive disks and where they will fit efficiently in the new location.

This has nothing to do with where you see the files i.e. User/Documents, but where they are really sitting on your physical disks.

Tom
wellandbusiness is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 08:06 AM   #5
TextCrab
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I see nobody has an answer to this, but I'll let you know why I asked.

Back when I asked this, I was copying 20,000+ files to a FAT32 partition on an external USB drive. (Yes, USB2). It took 39 hours for "preparing to copy" to finish, and then 48 minutes to do the actual copy.

That's why I was looking for a way to make the copy method more like Windows 98, where it doesn't get ready to copy - it just copies.
The "preparing to copy" takes way to much time.
TextCrab is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 08:07 AM   #6
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TextCrab View Post
I see nobody has an answer to this, but I'll let you know why I asked.
Two people answered your question. Here's a third: You can't turn it off.
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 08:25 AM   #7
astrosonic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
You may use alternative feature I use all the time for similar to yours cases: open terminal and enter "cp -R <source> <target>" - it will start copying your files immediately. All you have to make sure is about a space available on your target device before making that.
astrosonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 01:23 PM   #8
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by TextCrab View Post
I was looking for a way to make the copy method more like Windows 98, where it doesn't get ready to copy - it just copies.
With your obviously limited knowledge, what makes you so sure that Windows doesn't copy in much the same way, except not tell you about it? I've copied large items on Windows and sat there watching it copy for a long time. Just because there's a different animation does not mean that the process is faster. But, I've never tried an "apples to windows" comparison.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 09:50 AM   #9
loderunner
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: netherlands
question answered for me.

had the same issue; Finder stuck prohibitively long (and definitely not resulting in any visibly copied files).
(NB: accessing files from a Drobo through the network and DroboShare)

but the suggestion to use cp in the terminal is much better in this respect: it soon starts copying actual files--that are visible on the disk.
I would be surprised if that would yield a worse performing HD??

this is especially appreciated if it turns out you need to take the laptop (or HD) while the process is not completed yet.
__________________
Do you really care what -hardware I have?
loderunner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 06:09 AM   #10
wshyang
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sammich View Post
How much are you copying? And how often is this happening that it would be problem? Either that or you have a slow drive that you are copying from.

You could use the terminal to copy stuff if you want.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg2 View Post
Those are not two separate functions. It's doing that because of the size of the item(s) you are copying. A small item will be copied instantaneously, as you want. But, it's a computer, not a miracle box. It takes a long time to cook a turkey in the microwave oven also.
Quote:
Originally Posted by miles01110 View Post
Two people answered your question. Here's a third: You can't turn it off.
Goodness, I am having the exact same problem on my '10 ML MBP and what the hell exactly is this?

Some "stand round in a circle" mutual masturbatory salute to the technical excellences of the late Steve Jobs?

Finder is absolutely *horrible* and all you guys can suggest is "suck it up, that's the way it is", and even worse still make up non-existent pseudo-technical rationale on why things are so.
wshyang is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 12:02 PM   #11
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by wshyang View Post
Finder is absolutely *horrible* and all you guys can suggest is "suck it up, that's the way it is", and even worse still make up non-existent pseudo-technical rationale on why things are so.
Lots of people have issues with Finder. If there was a solution to the OP's problem, someone would have offered it. The suggestions above to "suck it up" as you say are indeed all I have to offer if the user is staying with a Mac. That's because there isn't an alternative with the Mac OS. So, one other suggestion: if you hate Finder that much, buy a Dell and use Windows.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 05:13 PM   #12
sammich
macrumors 601
 
sammich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sarcasmville.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wshyang View Post
salute to the technical excellences of the late Steve Jobs?
First: Steve was never a technical person.

Second: I didn't know that The Great, The One and Only Steve Jobs May His Name Live FOREVER *takes a minute of silence*

----------

wrote the Finder in it's current form.
__________________
Official MR IRC
Slow news day? Never fear, Digitimes is here. Serving up free hits for techblogs everywhere.

Last edited by sammich; Dec 28, 2012 at 05:14 PM. Reason: Oh, the forums are so clefar, merging consecutive posts
sammich is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multitasking in iOS4 - Can it be turned off? marshall88 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Aug 2, 2010 02:34 PM
Landscape in 3.0 - can it be turned off? Rojo iPhone 10 Mar 19, 2009 09:40 AM
Can Applications be Turned Off? mflyart OS X 2 Jun 9, 2008 09:39 AM
Can anti-aliasing be turned off in OS X akadmon OS X 16 Dec 14, 2006 09:29 AM
MS bluetooth mouse - can it be turned off? QCassidy352 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Dec 25, 2003 05:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC