Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 28, 2013, 08:10 AM   #1
orangezorki
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Title in FCPX not appearing in first frame

Hello,

I'm new to FCPX, but thought that I was doing well in working out how to put together a few clips, transitions, titles as I intended relatively quickly. The only problem I now have is my first title, which is a 'cutout' with the main clip playing behind, visible through the letters, should appear right at the beginning. However, the first frame of the video is just the first frame of the clip, then the title comes in on the second frame.

Anyone know how to correct this? I'm pulling my hair out as I need to sort this in the next day or so for a deadline.

David
orangezorki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 11:41 PM   #2
Zwhaler
macrumors 603
 
Zwhaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Move the start of the title back one frame? I think i've encountered this before, you'll have to compensate by starting the title one frame earlier so that on frame 2 of the title the visuals appear where they are supposed to on.
Zwhaler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 02:46 PM   #3
orangezorki
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Thanks for the reply,

I couldn't work out how to move the title earlier, as it wouldn't let me stretch it before the beginning of the first video clip. In the end, dragging the beginning of the clip forward worked, but it seems like a bit of a kludge.

David
orangezorki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 12:40 AM   #4
Zwhaler
macrumors 603
 
Zwhaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
This should be a non issue, but if you really are encountering this glitch then you'll have to insert a black generator for the first frame to enable you to put the title back one frame before the start of the first video clip, OR if your video clip at the beginning of your project has a start point that is before the point where it starts in the video then simply go one frame behind where you wanted to start to put the generator over that. If the clip in your project starts exactly at frame one and you can't trim the beginning to reveal any more frames then you'll have to use a black generator like I said.
Zwhaler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 02:10 PM   #5
orangezorki
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zwhaler View Post
This should be a non issue, but if you really are encountering this glitch then you'll have to insert a black generator for the first frame to enable you to put the title back one frame before the start of the first video clip, OR if your video clip at the beginning of your project has a start point that is before the point where it starts in the video then simply go one frame behind where you wanted to start to put the generator over that. If the clip in your project starts exactly at frame one and you can't trim the beginning to reveal any more frames then you'll have to use a black generator like I said.
Thanks for the reply - and thank you again for treating a complete FCPX newbie with some respect - one of the reasons why I keep coming back to these forums.

I'll have a look into the black frame generator you mentioned, sure to be useful in other future situations as well. Do you think this is a bug, as the title doesn't actually start at the first frame it is set to? I don't want to submit a bug report if I'm just being dense.

I have to say that, as a newcomer to the program, it seems like an excellent app and I don't quite understand what the fuss was about when it was first released.

David
orangezorki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 06:15 PM   #6
Unami
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Austria
@black frame generator - just use a gap (position your cursor at the first frame and hit cmd-w ) and make it only one frame long.

you can also avoid rendering that one frame if you just render out a range selection (go to the "real" first frame of your video, hit "i" then to the last frame, hit "o" - now if you go to "share" it only renders the selected range).

but often it's rather a good thing to have some black frames at the beginning or at the end of your video (e.g. some video players don't really start/end with the first/last frame, so transitions that start/end on your first/last frame get cut of in playback)
Unami is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC