Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 22, 2013, 07:40 AM   #101
Mr. Zarniwoop
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
There are 32 bit drivers in the 10.7.5 package. The 7950 and 7970 show beautiful clear EFI32 boot screens. But since the 32 bit drivers are BROKEN , there is nowhere to go after those beautiful bootscreens.
MacVidCards, the problem sounds deeper in that users report even with a Chameleon boot and 64-bit kernel there still seem to be some issues with a 7xxx in a 1.1/2.1 (sleep trick, custom kexts). I think most 1.1/2.1 owners still using the machines are jumping over to Chameleon bootloader to continue with Mountain Lion/Mavericks leaving 32-bit kernels behind, although EFI boot screens are still exceptionally useful!

I have read that the Mavericks drivers work without the sleep trick at least with the 7970 on Hackintoshes, so perhaps a flashed 7970 + Chameleon/Mavericks will provide boot screens and normal (QE/CI) OS functionality without further hacks to 1.1/2.1?
Mr. Zarniwoop is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2013, 06:11 PM   #102
erokks
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Zarniwoop View Post
MacVidCards, the problem sounds deeper in that users report even with a Chameleon boot and 64-bit kernel there still seem to be some issues with a 7xxx in a 1.1/2.1 (sleep trick, custom kexts). I think most 1.1/2.1 owners still using the machines are jumping over to Chameleon bootloader to continue with Mountain Lion/Mavericks leaving 32-bit kernels behind, although EFI boot screens are still exceptionally useful!

I have read that the Mavericks drivers work without the sleep trick at least with the 7970 on Hackintoshes, so perhaps a flashed 7970 + Chameleon/Mavericks will provide boot screens and normal (QE/CI) OS functionality without further hacks to 1.1/2.1?
Yes it works.
I have the Mac Pro 2.1 with chameleon and flashed MSI 7950. Running Mavericks.

There is only one problem. I have two monitors.
And it boots perfect when i have only one monitor connected.
But as soon as i plug in the other one, just before i reach the desktop. It reboots.

Do you guys have any suggestions?
erokks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2013, 01:38 AM   #103
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
7950 works perfectly without Chameleon. You need to use tiamo's 32-bit bootloader. http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...8&postcount=69
666sheep is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2013, 03:19 AM   #104
erokks
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
7950 works perfectly without Chameleon. You need to use tiamo's 32-bit bootloader. http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...8&postcount=69
I was hoping to get an answer from you!
Remember you as really helpful and sharp the last time we tried.

Thanks a lot bro!


EDIT: Sweet jesus. I didn't even have to do a fresh install. Just swapped out the boot.efi files and pulled the chameleon drive and BOOM! 7950 works like a charm with two monitors. Once again thank you! This made my day!

Last edited by erokks; Dec 2, 2013 at 02:47 PM. Reason: actually tried the damn hack :D
erokks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2014, 06:09 PM   #105
FireArse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Send a message via MSN to FireArse
Mac Pro 2006 Tiamo EFI Mavericks 7950

Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
7950 works perfectly without Chameleon. You need to use tiamo's 32-bit bootloader. http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...8&postcount=69
Are you saying here that an 'Out the Box' Mac Edition 7950 will work (including boot screen) in a 'Tiamo' EFI 2006 Mac Pro running Mavericks?

Thanks,

FireArse
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1 2.66GHz 13GB RAM flashed 1024MB ATI4870
2012 Mac Book Air 13"
23" Cinema Display
16GB iPhone 4GS

Last edited by FireArse; Jan 1, 2014 at 06:10 PM. Reason: added 'boot screen'
FireArse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2014, 06:23 PM   #106
Finch127
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by FireArse View Post
Are you saying here that an 'Out the Box' Mac Edition 7950 will work (including boot screen) in a 'Tiamo' EFI 2006 Mac Pro running Mavericks?

Thanks,

FireArse
Be very interested to know this also
Finch127 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2014, 01:18 AM   #107
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by FireArse View Post
Are you saying here that an 'Out the Box' Mac Edition 7950 will work (including boot screen) in a 'Tiamo' EFI 2006 Mac Pro running Mavericks?

Thanks,

FireArse
It will, but Sapphire will refuse any support in case of issues, if you tell them that you've installed the card in 1,1, 2,1 or 3,1 (see system requirements on their website).
I used flashed cards, not the Mac Edition one.

Last edited by 666sheep; Jan 2, 2014 at 01:23 AM.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2014, 04:51 AM   #108
Finch127
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
It will, but Sapphire will refuse any support in case of issues, if you tell them that you've installed the card in 1,1, 2,1 or 3,1 (see system requirements on their website).
I used flashed cards, not the Mac Edition one.
Hey,

As far as I can see, the mac pro 1,1 would need to be upgraded to mavericks pre-installation of this card is that correct? Due to the lack of drivers present on 10.7.5 ?

Also, where did you obtain the bios/rom to flash the card ?

Regards,

Paul
Finch127 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2014, 02:11 PM   #109
FireArse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Send a message via MSN to FireArse
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
It will, but Sapphire will refuse any support in case of issues, if you tell them that you've installed the card in 1,1, 2,1 or 3,1 (see system requirements on their website).
I used flashed cards, not the Mac Edition one.
I've just unboxed a Mac Edition 7950 brand new and I don't get boot screen on my 10.9.1 running 2006 Mac Pro...

Any ideas?

I've tried both settings on the UEFI / EFI ROM?

F
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1 2.66GHz 13GB RAM flashed 1024MB ATI4870
2012 Mac Book Air 13"
23" Cinema Display
16GB iPhone 4GS
FireArse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2014, 04:23 AM   #110
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
That's strange. Sapphire one should give a bootscreen regardless of OS. See MVC's original post. All flashed cards (with Sapphire's modified EFI) which I've been testing in my 2,1 with Tiamo's boot.efi worked as they should.
What outputs did you try? Does card work just without bootscreen? You can try to reset PRAM, sometimes NVRAM content needs to be cleared after GPU change.

P.S. Switch should be in EFI position unless you want to boot Win in EFI mode.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2014, 05:38 AM   #111
FireArse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Send a message via MSN to FireArse
Sheep,

I've tried both settings on the ROM switch.

It's only recognised as a 7xxx card in 10.9.1 on MP 2,1

Is there a chance that sapphire upgraded the ROM to 64-bit only?

Where did you get your modified ROM from?

Is there a Sapphire Mac Edition 7950 ROM avaikable which comes from a first revision perhaps? Happy to re-flash if I can get that boot screen..

Your help would be greatly appreciated..

FireArse
FireArse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2014, 05:54 AM   #112
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Do you use Tiamo's boot.efi or Chameleon?
Check your PM.

Edit: OK, something must be wrong here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by FireArse View Post
I've tried both settings on the ROM switch.
It's only recognised as a 7xxx card in 10.9.1 on MP 2,1
EFI isn't recognized if so.

Quote:
Is there a chance that sapphire upgraded the ROM to 64-bit only?
Small one, but can't tell for sure until I'll see the ROM.
There's few more possibilities as well (manufacturer fault): you got a card with dual UEFI ROMs instead of EFI + UEFI or switch does not work.

Last edited by 666sheep; Jan 28, 2014 at 06:12 AM.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2014, 10:36 AM   #113
Roland L
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Is it definitely the Mac Edition and not merely the regular one in a Mac Edition box?

Very keen to discover what's happening here as I was about to buy a Sapphire ME 7950 for my 1,1
Roland L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2014, 01:30 PM   #114
FireArse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Send a message via MSN to FireArse
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roland L View Post
Is it definitely the Mac Edition and not merely the regular one in a Mac Edition box?

Very keen to discover what's happening here as I was about to buy a Sapphire ME 7950 for my 1,1
I am sorry to be the bearer of bad news - this is definitely the real deal from Dabs.com

Matches ALL the online publications on the web - including the toggle switch for ROM and the x2 6-pin connectors to the Main Logic Board for extra power supply.

I am trying to capture the ROM(s) for Sheep666 to analyse. I hope to get this working.

FireArse
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1 2.66GHz 13GB RAM flashed 1024MB ATI4870
2012 Mac Book Air 13"
23" Cinema Display
16GB iPhone 4GS
FireArse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2014, 02:18 PM   #115
Roland L
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Damn. And I note Dabs's price increased from 275 last week to 335 now.

Why is life so unnecessarily difficult for we 1,1 users?!
Roland L is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2014, 04:05 PM   #116
FireArse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Send a message via MSN to FireArse
7950 ROM(s)

For anyone that's interested, I have a set of ROMs from a brand-new 7950 that isn't providing boot screens on a Mac Pro 1,1 running Tiamo 10.9.1

I hope to get this working..

Thanks,

FireArse
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1 2.66GHz 13GB RAM flashed 1024MB ATI4870
2012 Mac Book Air 13"
23" Cinema Display
16GB iPhone 4GS
FireArse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2014, 04:12 PM   #117
Roland L
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
What happens when you boot something other than OS X (e.g. Ubuntu, FreeBSD live CD)? Do you see anything on the screen either during their boot sequences or indeed at their login prompts? I think Ubuntu 13.10 has KMS for the 7950 (though I stand correction on that point) so there might be activity almost immediately.
Roland L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2014, 06:28 AM   #118
FireArse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Send a message via MSN to FireArse
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roland L View Post
What happens when you boot something other than OS X (e.g. Ubuntu, FreeBSD live CD)? Do you see anything on the screen either during their boot sequences or indeed at their login prompts? I think Ubuntu 13.10 has KMS for the 7950 (though I stand correction on that point) so there might be activity almost immediately.
I get a black screen until 10.9.1 log in screen, then its ok (no EFI recognised in System Profiler)

I have secured the ROMs by following the instructions below:

http://www.neowin.net/forum/topic/97...-with-mac-pro/

I get the same behaviour when booting a Win98 CD image (as per above link) to open & run atiflash.exe

I am using the DVI interface with my Apple 23 Cinema Display
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1 2.66GHz 13GB RAM flashed 1024MB ATI4870
2012 Mac Book Air 13"
23" Cinema Display
16GB iPhone 4GS
FireArse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2014, 05:14 PM   #119
FireArse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Send a message via MSN to FireArse
Just a close-out of my issue

turns out both ROMs are the UEFI ROM images. My new 7950 Mac Edition card either has a failed ROM switch OR the manufacturing group put the UEFI ROM on both chips(?)

I think I'll return this one and get what I paid for; a card with an EFI ROM on one of side of the switch.

Many thanks to Blacksheeep for his help on this.

FireArse
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1 2.66GHz 13GB RAM flashed 1024MB ATI4870
2012 Mac Book Air 13"
23" Cinema Display
16GB iPhone 4GS
FireArse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2014, 02:59 AM   #120
Roland L
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Thanks for the update. Hope you're able to sort soon. As a temporary solution I've just found a used 5770.

I note that during Mantle (supported by the 7950) testing the PCI bus's bandwidth doesn't seem to be a problem down to 2.0 8x, ie comparable to what our 1,1 support.

When in UEFI mode does the card show anything during Ubuntu's boot sequence?
Roland L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2014, 05:27 AM   #121
FireArse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Send a message via MSN to FireArse
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roland L View Post
When in UEFI mode does the card show anything during Ubuntu's boot sequence?
I haven't used Ubuntu for a while on the Mac Pro.

I'll tell you what, if you PM me a link to download for an .ISO to burn, I can let you know tomorrow morning before I attempt to flash it to known good ROM?

FireArse
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1 2.66GHz 13GB RAM flashed 1024MB ATI4870
2012 Mac Book Air 13"
23" Cinema Display
16GB iPhone 4GS
FireArse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2014, 08:19 AM   #122
Roland L
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Sorry can't seem to PM on my mobile.

http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/daily-live/current/trusty-desktop-amd64+mac.iso

Hope this boots - 13.10 for Mac64 seems to have vanished.
Roland L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2014, 02:57 PM   #123
FireArse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Send a message via MSN to FireArse
Sapphire 7950 Mac Edition works perfect in Mac Pro 1,1 or 2,1

Many thanks to the following people for helping to make this happen:
  • The mysterious Tiamo for allowing the early Mac Pro run Mavericks as seamless as any version of OS X from 10.3 onwards
  • The SFOTT developer for making the Tiamo fix so easy to apply
  • Blacksheeep for identifying dodgy Sapphire manufacturing & testing (they installed the UEFI ROM on both ROM options). Blacksheep also provided a proper Mac Edition 7950 ROM for me to install
  • http://www.neowin.net/forum/topic/97...-with-mac-pro/ for spelling out exactly how to backup & flash GPU ROMs.
  • There are probably a whole host of people I've not mentioned, netkas? MacVidcards... great work

My Mac Pro 1,1 feels amazing. By far and away the best techie purchase I've made. See attached.

The 7950 is incredibly quieter than the 4870 it's replaced. And thats with the case open next to my feet. Unbelievable.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	7950 on Mac Pro 2,1.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	420.2 KB
ID:	459128  
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1 2.66GHz 13GB RAM flashed 1024MB ATI4870
2012 Mac Book Air 13"
23" Cinema Display
16GB iPhone 4GS
FireArse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2014, 07:52 PM   #124
saqibhasan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by FireArse View Post
Many thanks to the following people for helping to make this happen:
  • The mysterious Tiamo for allowing the early Mac Pro run Mavericks as seamless as any version of OS X from 10.3 onwards
  • The SFOTT developer for making the Tiamo fix so easy to apply
  • Blacksheeep for identifying dodgy Sapphire manufacturing & testing (they installed the UEFI ROM on both ROM options). Blacksheep also provided a proper Mac Edition 7950 ROM for me to install
  • http://www.neowin.net/forum/topic/97...-with-mac-pro/ for spelling out exactly how to backup & flash GPU ROMs.
  • There are probably a whole host of people I've not mentioned, netkas? MacVidcards... great work

My Mac Pro 1,1 feels amazing. By far and away the best techie purchase I've made. See attached.

The 7950 is incredibly quieter than the 4870 it's replaced. And thats with the case open next to my feet. Unbelievable.
this is great - i have the same machine (1,1 - 2006) as you - was it easy enough to do? just swap out card on the 1,1? and all boot screens available? or do i need to work some magic?
saqibhasan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC