Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 27, 2013, 11:55 AM   #1
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
TheVerge says ATT iPhone 5 won't work on T-Mobiles LTE

too many people are saying it will but apparently Apple and T-mobile say it won't...

"Though Apple's spec sheet for the current AT&T iPhone 5 says that it has support for T-Mobile compatible LTE (Band 4, AWS), the official stance given to The Verge by both Apple and T-Mobile is that LTE is not supported with the current iPhone 5. While the iPhone 5 sings on AT&T's LTE network, it won't even connect to T-Mobile's. "

link to the article: http://www.theverge.com/2013/3/26/41...er-think-twice
apollo1444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 12:16 PM   #2
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
For LTE to work, Apple requires official, signed carrier bundles and disables LTE for any "non approved" carrier. These are files that tell the phone what settings (IE mms settings etc) and what switches to turn on (IE enable the LTE radio etc) for each SIM that is inserted. As there is no file for the moment for T-Mobile at the moment, LTE is non functioning.

A software update should push a proper carrier bundle to the current phone and enable LTE for t-mobile. If they refuse for some reason, jailbreaking and creating your own carrier bundle is an option and currently works.

This should not be confused with AWS 3G, which at the time will require the new phone.
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 01:29 PM   #3
bozzykid
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Dan Seifert from The Verge has no clue what he is talking about. It is even pointed on so in the comments. Once Apple pushes the updated carrier bundle, the AT&T/unlocked iPhone 5 will work just fine on T-mobile's LTE.
bozzykid is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 01:44 PM   #4
turbineseaplane
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle, Boise, Maui
Send a message via AIM to turbineseaplane Send a message via Yahoo to turbineseaplane Send a message via Skype™ to turbineseaplane
@bozzy:
The phone will work fine on LTE & Edge & refarmed 3G (not much of this yet)...

But the AWS capable iPhone 5 that TMo is getting (and will become the standard GSM model in the wild moving forward) is the key here.

AWS is really needed to get good, fast, coverage on TMo in most all of the country.

The standard Unlocked GSM iPhone 5 that's out right now will not do this and the AWS capability can not be added by software update or carrier update (that's a fact right from Apple)
turbineseaplane is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 02:42 PM   #5
Prime85
macrumors 6502a
 
Prime85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
If they refuse for some reason, jailbreaking and creating your own carrier bundle is an option and currently works.
I did this yesterday and i now have the LTE switch in settings. Now i just have to wait for SFL to get LTE.
Prime85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 02:51 PM   #6
aneftp
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Read this article. Apple is a bunch of crooks. The "new A1428" and "old A1428" iPhone 5 models are the exact same phone hardware wise.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6860/a...or-tmobile-usa
Look at FCC report at end of article.

Apple has just chosen to "enabled the 1700 wcdma band" to support tmobile 1700/2100 AWS 3G/fake 4g.

This chip is not new. It's just Apple choosing to be Apple to not push the firmware to the "old A1428"

Just like the Nexus 4 has a hidden Band 4 LTE chip. Google and LG decided not to pass it through the FCC.

But we all know people who use band 4 of the Nexus 4 in some few AT&T LTE markets.
__________________
(late 2012) 27 in Mac 3.2 Intel Core i5 24GB RAM 1TB fusion, mid 2013 Macbook Air 256GB SSD 8GB RAM
64GB iPhone 6 plus, 64GB iPad Air 2
aneftp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 03:33 PM   #7
apollo1444
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prime85 View Post
I did this yesterday and i now have the LTE switch in settings. Now i just have to wait for SFL to get LTE.
bad choice, I did that with an unsupported carrier it worked fine it picked up LTE but the signal was erratic, sent calls to voicemail, didn't reconnect back to LTE after a call etc etc.. after a few weeks apple released the approved original update for LTE in my country, I unistalled commcenterpatch and the hacked file and installed the original and it behaved the same way, also I recommend switching off the LTE switch because it might cause 3G timeout issues, it happened to me when i did the hack

After a restore the phone picked up original file and never had any issue at all on LTE it connects back and reconnects back instantly switching to 3G for calls/coverage etc.

which sucks because a fresh restore will make you lose your jailbreak,
apollo1444 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 03:46 PM   #8
hello12
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prime85 View Post
I did this yesterday and i now have the LTE switch in settings. Now i just have to wait for SFL to get LTE.
PLEASE tell me how you did this? I have iphone 5, factory unlocked on T-Mobile and I don't see the LTE switch? - LTE was released where I live....
hello12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 03:54 PM   #9
Prime85
macrumors 6502a
 
Prime85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello12 View Post
PLEASE tell me how you did this? I have iphone 5, factory unlocked on T-Mobile and I don't see the LTE switch? - LTE was released where I live....
I got the directions from this post.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=17057567

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by apollo1444 View Post
bad choice, I did that with an unsupported carrier it worked fine it picked up LTE but the signal was erratic, sent calls to voicemail, didn't reconnect back to LTE after a call etc etc.. after a few weeks apple released the approved original update for LTE in my country, I unistalled commcenterpatch and the hacked file and installed the original and it behaved the same way, also I recommend switching off the LTE switch because it might cause 3G timeout issues, it happened to me when i did the hack

After a restore the phone picked up original file and never had any issue at all on LTE it connects back and reconnects back instantly switching to 3G for calls/coverage etc.

which sucks because a fresh restore will make you lose your jailbreak,
So far my signal has not given me any issues and seems to be working perfectly. I will keep my eye on it though, thank you.
__________________
iPhone 5 (White 64GB) ; MBP 2.2Ghz i7 Quad-core,16GB RAM, 512GB Samsung SSD; TV 3
Prime85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 04:20 PM   #10
AutoUnion39
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
AT&T runs LTE on two bands, 700 and 1700/2100 (AWS). T-Mobile runs their LTE on AWS also. It should work, but Apple just needs to push out an update. Only thing that won't work would be AWS HSPA+. You will get HSPA+ PCS on TMobile with the AT&T model
AutoUnion39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 02:07 AM   #11
E2EK1EL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutoUnion39 View Post
AT&T runs LTE on two bands, 700 and 1700/2100 (AWS). T-Mobile runs their LTE on AWS also. It should work, but Apple just needs to push out an update. Only thing that won't work would be AWS HSPA+. You will get HSPA+ PCS on TMobile with the AT&T model
AT&T LTE is 700 MHz

Rogers, Fido, Telus, Kodoo, Bell and Virgin Mobile Canada runs on AWS LTE 1700/2100 MHz
E2EK1EL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 02:18 AM   #12
apollo1444
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by E2EK1EL View Post
AT&T LTE is 700 MHz

Rogers, Fido, Telus, Kodoo, Bell and Virgin Mobile Canada runs on AWS LTE 1700/2100 MHz
AT&T uses AWS 1700/2100 in some markets and in others they use 700 MHz for LTE
apollo1444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 02:47 AM   #13
E2EK1EL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by apollo1444 View Post
AT&T uses AWS 1700/2100 in some markets and in others they use 700 MHz for LTE
Interesting, I assume Puerto Rico is one of AT&T's AWS LTE. In which states does AT&T uses AWS LTE?

Maybe that explains some users speedtest results are like Rogers in Canada, while others can't seem to pass 20 Mbps
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	378550_10151246061428908_1406254949_n.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	84.6 KB
ID:	404970   Click image for larger version

Name:	578137_10151503670438908_731887895_n.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	67.2 KB
ID:	404971  
E2EK1EL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 09:23 AM   #14
AutoUnion39
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by E2EK1EL View Post
AT&T LTE is 700 MHz
Nope, they have (or will have) AWS LTE to supplement their 700mhz LTE network.
AutoUnion39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad Mini: Will a 1st gen iPad Mini for ATT work on Verizon LTE? east85 iPad 4 Feb 25, 2014 03:58 PM
ATT LTE just started to work in Minneapolis rishi27 iPhone 5 Nov 17, 2012 04:30 PM
LTE/4g data connection ever just not work for some of you (att)? Siciliano611 iPhone 2 Oct 6, 2012 11:28 PM
Why Won't LTE Work? ghsNick iPhone 9 Sep 21, 2012 07:10 PM
How does LTE work on ATT? Is it extra? 55test55 iPhone 2 Sep 13, 2012 11:40 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC