Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 6, 2012, 12:00 PM   #1
connor.e
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Exclamation No Bootcamp on new iMacs?

There have been a few people who've mentioned this problem over the past few weeks, however, we simply haven't gotten to the bottom of it.

Currently, Bootcamp does not work on HDD's over 2 TB. Why is this? If I'm to order a new iMac with a 3TB 7200 RPM HDD, should I expect Bootcamp to fail? This has had me a little worried. Does anyone know if this a problem that Apple can fix in a software update? I don't want to make the mistake of ordering a 1 TB drive to run bootcamp, when a 3TB would soon support it...

Any input would be most welcome! Thanks for your time!
connor.e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 01:11 PM   #2
81Steven
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I want to know the same thing here...
81Steven is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 01:17 PM   #3
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Yes, you should expect it to fail. Apple's support note says "at this time" it won't work on large drives. Who knows if they'll ever fix it; the problem is rooted in the ancient technology that underpins the Wintel architecture. (There isn't enough address space in a standard BIOS to find the boot record in a >2TB drive, and Bootcamp does some BIOS emulation.)

If you have that much stuff and want Windows to work, I would suggest either:
- Get the 1TB drive and use an external for the rest
- See if an emulator like Parallels is suitable for your use case.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 5  Apple TV 2  iPad 2 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 02:08 PM   #4
81Steven
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I hope they'll fix soon, but how to know if they inted fix? .
They should change bios emulation in to efi and permit windows to partition gpt instead of mbr...


1tb and external drive si viable
But is it possibile to Bootcamp win7 or win8 from external?
81Steven is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 02:12 PM   #5
diagnostics247
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Currently, as far as I know, Windows machines need a mobo with a UEFI BIOS to read HDDs over 3TB. I don't know how Apple handles it's BIOS as I don't even own an iMac yet (saving!)

But here is a good article regarding the topic: http://www.pcworld.com/article/23508...rd_drives.html

TL;DR The Problem: Legacy Addressing

"This situation could have been avoided if the entire computer industry had future-proofed after enduring the 137GB (28-bit) limit problems that cropped up around the turn of the millennium. In truth, most vendors did--with the notable exception of Microsoft. The company chose not to implement support for anything larger than 2.2TB drives in any of its 32-bit consumer operating systems--including Windows 7. Microsoft even omitted support from 64-bit XP. If you were looking for a reason to move to 64-bit Windows 7, here it is--courtesy of a not so subtle (or particularly gracious) invitation from the industry giant.

Fortunately, you can find drivers and utilities that allow you to use a 3TB drive as auxiliary storage with any flavor of Windows, XP or later. I say "auxiliary" because you can boot Windows from a 3TB drive only if it's 64-bit Vista or 64-bit Windows 7--and then, only if you have a PC with an EFI/UEFI BIOS. EFI is Intel's Extensible Firmware Interface, and UEFI (United EFI) is the nonproprietary version based on the 1.10 EFI spec. EFI assumes the hardware and operating system interfacing chores from the BIOS after startup. The technology has been around since--you guessed it--the turn of the millennium, when the 137GB problems surfaced. Unfortunately, with no mainstream OS support from Microsoft (which is actually on the UEFI board of directors), most motherboard vendors saw no reason to implement UEFI before now."
diagnostics247 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing bootcamp on nMP using iMacs as display evilpaddy Mac Pro 6 May 25, 2014 11:12 AM
Black screen after installing bootcamp drivers onto bootcamp partition. ADangerousTaco Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Mar 15, 2014 02:39 PM
Changed info.plist in Bootcamp 5.1.0 now Bootcamp won't start ecy5maa Mac Basics and Help 0 Oct 25, 2013 11:37 PM
Are video cards from 20" 2007 iMacs campatible with 24" 2008 iMacs gbuyer iMac 2 Jun 1, 2013 02:51 PM
How to read files from MacOS Bootcamp win partition done with bootcamp on PC? help :( navigates Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Mar 10, 2013 07:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC