Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 26, 2011, 12:50 AM   #1
Acronyc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Missing Underscan Slider

Last week I found a great deal on a 2009 mini in really good condition so I picked it up to use as an HTPC. After adding 4GB of RAM, a reformat, clean install of SL and then Lion itís running like a champ. The only problem Iím having is solving an overscan/underscan issue. When I have it plugged in to my 32Ē 720p TV through Mini DP -> HDMI, if I have the overscan option selected the edges get cut off, but if I donít have it selected the entire image is very small. I have messed around with the options on my TV and the Mini and no matter what I do, I canít get it to display at the right resolution. I tried SwitchResX as well, but I could never get it to work right. The Mini looks great when connected via Mini DP -> VGA, but that defeats the purpose of what I want to use it for, as I canít play any of my HD iTunes content due to HDCP.

I think the problem is that my Mini is missing the underscan slider in the display preferences. When I connected my 2010 11Ē MBA to my TV I had the same problem as my Mini, but the MBA has a nifty little underscan slider that can solve the problem of the cut off edges. This slider is not on my Mini, however, and Iíve hooked it up to two other monitors and it never shows up even though itís there on my MBA. After a little bit of searching online I found that this slider seems to have been new to SL and solved a lot of the overscan issues, but it is completely missing from my system. Does anyone have any idea as to why the underscan slider is missing? Is there a way to enable it? Or is my only option SwitchResX? Thanks in advance for any help!
Acronyc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2011, 02:20 PM   #2
Detrius
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Asheville, NC
Generally if something like that is missing, it's because the hardware doesn't support it.

For example: the "detect displays" button. It was added a long time ago, but when it was added, it was only supported by newer graphics cards, and it was missing on older machines.
__________________
ACMT, ACTC, ACSA
C# w/.NET 4, Entity Framework, and T4; JavaScript; Bash; Awk; C++ w/wxWidgets and Boost; ANTLR(C), flex/bison; Objective-C; C
Detrius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 09:47 PM   #3
organik
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Had the underscan, ML update and now I don't. Any ideas?
organik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 10:10 PM   #4
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by organik View Post
Had the underscan, ML update and now I don't. Any ideas?
go to your backup and run the older version of osx. the last time I gave this as an answer the poster must have said f u to me more then 100 different ways. ( he had no back up and perceived my answer as that of a wise guy.)

My answer is not nasty or sarcastic. My answer is hopeful that you have a back up. if you don't there are other ways to fix it. but they will be slow. every way I have to fix it involves going to the older version of os one way or another. you can google mac under scan program and see what you get.

Last edited by philipma1957; Jan 5, 2013 at 10:16 PM.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 09:05 AM   #5
Darby67
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: the corner of Fire and Brimstone
Quote:
Originally Posted by organik View Post
Had the underscan, ML update and now I don't. Any ideas?
Are you connected to a TV via HDMI or a computer monitor? What brand and type? There are settings in many TVs that may need to be changed.
__________________
15" 2.3 GHz QC i7 MBP
2.6 GHz QC i7 Mini
2.0 GHz QC i7 Mini

Last edited by Darby67; Jan 6, 2013 at 09:13 AM.
Darby67 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:54 PM   #6
sno1man
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I have the opposite issue- but have a workaround

Before you go to what would be a lot of work to restore from back up, try this first.

I have the opposite problem as you with my 2012 mini. When my dell monitor is plugged in, the mini sees it as a TV instead of a monitor and shows the under scan slider.

This creates issues with maximum and minimum white levels among other issues.

The workaround I found is annoying but effective. In my case, I simply make sure that the mini is fully booted BEFORE I plug the monitor in to it. When I do that, it sees the display properly. The giveaway was that when it's failing, the displays control panel reports it as a generic display, but when I do this it properly identifies the brand and model.

My guess is that the "handshaking" that occurs doesn't work right if the monitor is already plugged in and powered on when the mini boots.

One additional step that was needed to keep from having to do this again if the system goes to sleep was to set the energy saver control panel to "never" on system sleep.

Hopefully Apple will fix this with an update. I reported the issue and they were able to replicate it.

Hope that helps
sno1man is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Anyone else keep missing the brightness slider in Auxo? TheSacredSoul Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 13 Feb 25, 2013 08:55 PM
Windows bootcamp underscan ee13lbp Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 5 Jan 3, 2013 01:27 PM
after mountain L missing audio slider in fcpX bruce47 Digital Video 0 Nov 28, 2012 06:49 AM
Turn off Slider Missing RSNL iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Oct 8, 2012 10:09 AM
Airplay Mountain Lion Underscan eshroom Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Jun 18, 2012 03:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC