Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 23, 2005, 01:27 AM   #1
triotary
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Question upgrading to Panther from jaguar

me computer is QS733 with OS 10.2.8

so me thinking of upgrading to Panther.

will it works if me use the original installation DVDs that came from me friend's G5?
triotary is offline   0
Old Mar 23, 2005, 01:30 AM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Nah sorry. First of all, unless your friend uninstalls Panther then it would be illegal. Secondly, each DVD/CD for the OS that comes with a new computer is specifically designed for that computer. That is, it leaves out and adds in bits. Sorry.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0
Old Mar 23, 2005, 07:55 AM   #3
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by triotary
me computer is QS733 with OS 10.2.8

so me thinking of upgrading to Panther.

will it works if me use the original installation DVDs that came from me friend's G5?
Will it work? Unknown.
Is it legal? No! The software that ships as part of a computer is licensed only for that computer. The license is not transferable.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0
Old Mar 23, 2005, 08:03 AM   #4
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
it will work enough for you to think it's OK at first, but the flakiness caused by installing a G5-specific code set on a G4 will make it almost unusable for extended periods, and some stuff just won't work.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0
Old Mar 24, 2005, 07:45 PM   #5
triotary
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
okok cool~

so if I buy myself a licencsed copy of panther, it will definitely work fine on my QS733, but can I use it again to upgrade my girlfriend's QS867?
triotary is offline   0
Old Mar 24, 2005, 08:14 PM   #6
triotary
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
btw~ I saw those emac's 3 cds panther installation disks selling on ebay~ are they usable and safe?
triotary is offline   0
Old Mar 24, 2005, 09:07 PM   #7
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
Quote:
Originally Posted by triotary
btw~ I saw those emac's 3 cds panther installation disks selling on ebay~ are they usable and safe?
It's safe to install on an eMac.
bousozoku is offline   0
Old Mar 24, 2005, 09:19 PM   #8
Plymouthbreezer
macrumors 601
 
Plymouthbreezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by triotary
okok cool~

so if I buy myself a licencsed copy of panther, it will definitely work fine on my QS733, but can I use it again to upgrade my girlfriend's QS867?
Just wait for Tiger at this point...

If you buy the single user copy of Panther it's ment for one computer and one only... But it will work on more then one (sussh though, it's not legal).
__________________
I'm about four skyscrapers behind.
Plymouthbreezer is offline   0
Old Mar 24, 2005, 10:18 PM   #9
triotary
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
I heard the progression from OS10.3 to OS10.4 is not as significant than OS10.2 to OS10.3. well, that is based on press releases and speculations and such.
triotary is offline   0
Old Mar 24, 2005, 10:23 PM   #10
dotdotdot
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by triotary
I heard the progression from OS10.3 to OS10.4 is not as significant than OS10.2 to OS10.3. well, that is based on press releases and speculations and such.
Thats odd, considering OSX 10.4 has been called the biggest Apple upgrade ever...

Its like they made a new filing system and new resources... an entirely new OS...

10.0 -> 10.1 < 10.1 -> 10.2

10.2 -> 10.3 < 10.3 -> 10.4
dotdotdot is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram amount needed to Upgrading to Tiger from Panther More409 MacBook 4 May 11, 2009 05:14 AM
Upgraded to Panther from Mac 9.2 Internet will not work fotodigi OS X 3 Feb 8, 2007 04:05 AM
Installing OS 9 on Panther from Jaguar disks upperblue79 Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion 4 Sep 9, 2004 05:43 PM
reformat hd when going to panther from jaguar? pounce Mac Applications and Mac App Store 7 Aug 1, 2004 07:34 PM
Does upgrade to Panther mean I'll have to reinstall everything? amin Mac Applications and Mac App Store 8 Sep 21, 2003 11:22 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC