Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 23, 2012, 01:14 AM   #1
Hexley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Late 2011 13" MBP with SSD in Optical Bay

I am swapping out my superdrive with a SATA cradle + SSD.

Now, I know that all the SATA ports are 6Gbps so is this configuration permissible?

I am concerned that my 1TB WD Blue WD10TPVT is 12.5mm tall and will not fit the SATA cradle in the optical bay.

Anyhow, thanks!
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 02:28 AM   #2
yusukeaoki
macrumors 68030
 
yusukeaoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
put your SSD into the main bay so you get SATAIII speed.

Is the 1TB HDD 3.5in or 2.5in?
Optibay only supports laptop sized HDD/SSD (2.5in) and not desktop size HDDs(3.5in).

EDIT:

I just googled it and yes, it is a 2.5in so it fits.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.2GHz i7-2720QM, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD+1TB HDD@5400rpm
11" MacBook Air (Mid 2013), 1.7GHz i7-4650U, 8GB RAM, 512GB Flash
HTC J One (White) 32GB
yusukeaoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 02:55 AM   #3
bluespaceoddity
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by yusukeaoki View Post
put your SSD into the main bay so you get SATAIII speed.

Is the 1TB HDD 3.5in or 2.5in?
Optibay only supports laptop sized HDD/SSD (2.5in) and not desktop size HDDs(3.5in).

EDIT:

I just googled it and yes, it is a 2.5in so it fits.
OP is asking about the height of the drive being an obstacle though, which will depend on the thickness of the specific "cradle" used to mount the 12.5 tall WD HDD he mentioned after moving it into the optical bay.

As far as I know the late 2011 MBP get Sata III in the Optical Bay as well though so there doesn't appear to be an obstacle to leaving the WD HDD in place in the HD spot and sticking the SSD in the location of the removed optical drive.

Please correct if wrong.
bluespaceoddity is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 02:57 AM   #4
Nails1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I'm guessing it won't fit since it's 12.5mm. It most likely needs to be 9.5mm to fit in the caddy.
Nails1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 10:16 AM   #5
Hexley
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nails1 View Post
I'm guessing it won't fit since it's 12.5mm. It most likely needs to be 9.5mm to fit in the caddy.
I read online that there are two optical bay caddy sizes.

So anyone tried this setup yet?
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:13 AM   #6
Hexley
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Anyone?
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC