Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2013, 01:52 PM   #1
jpa66
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
iMac G5 bad capacitors or bad power supply?

I have a G5 iMac (I know, it's really old ) that I need to transfer files from to my new Mac Mini. The problem is that it won't start up. It's had this problem in the past, and all I had to do was open the back up and restart it as per Apple's G5 instructions.

The first LED light stays on, but the second one flickers then shuts off. Lights 3 and 4 do not come on. This has led me to believe that it's a problem with the power supply. However, I noticed that at least two capacitors are definitely bad, and I was wondering if replacing those ( and maybe replacing any more after a thorough check ) would solve my problem.

Or is the power supply the likely culprit?

Thanks,
JP

Last edited by jpa66; Jan 7, 2013 at 01:53 PM. Reason: typo
jpa66 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:17 PM   #2
Nyy8
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New England
You might want to send your thread over to

http://forums.macrumors.com/forumdisplay.php?f=145

This is the PPC (PowerPC) forum of mac rumors and are much more knowledge about these types of computers.
__________________
iPad 2 16GB, iPhone 5S Space Grey 16GB,
iMac 21.5 inch, 2.5 GHz Core i5, 4GB RAM, 500GB HD
Nyy8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 07:01 PM   #3
jpa66
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Will do. Thanks.
jpa66 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 08:29 PM   #4
chrfr
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
It's almost certainly easiest to just take the drive out and put it in a cheap USB enclosure if you just want to transfer files.
Capacitors went bad in the power supplies on those, so it may be both bad caps on the board and in the power supply.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:05 PM   #5
jpa66
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Thanks.

I got a similar reply on the PPC forum, and replied to it. I'd do this fix if were easy enough, but I'm not too savvy when it comes to mucking around with computers, and I don't want to screw anything up.
jpa66 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC