Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 22, 2014, 05:37 PM   #976
ah-
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by asten View Post
Dear Professionals,

First of all thank you for the excellent work and informative posts in this forum/thread; using your information, i was able to come quite far in my efi booting endeavour, but i am not completely there yet. Now i ask you to help me out and/or clarify things for me;
...
Have you tried deleting the Intel driver? That should hopefully be enough.

And congratuations psyq321, that's really cool stuff! I don't have access to my laptop until Monday to test it out, but that sounds very good!

Do you know if it's maybe possible to execute code early on resume so the Intel unloading isn't necessary anymore?

And yeah the Broadcom Wifi might really be related to apple_set_os, maybe it's really necessary to just patch out the GPU disabling and leave the rest as it is.
ah- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2014, 03:41 AM   #977
psyq321
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
@V-l-a-d-i-m-i-r,

So far so good - I have not got any BSOD while using Iris Pro only.

However, the battery life extension is not spectacular - I get approx. 30 mins more when using Intel-only. Basically, the power draw is reduced to ~17-18W compared to 18W-20W on NVIDIA.

But this is still >a lot< and I suspect that lack of selective USB suspend of Apple USB peripherals (SD Card reader, keyboard, trackpad and sensors) is contributing to this. Unfortunately, I do not think we can do anything about this other than rewriting the drivers from the scratch and guessing how to enable USB selective suspend which is not something trivial I'd say.

In addition, I have a strong reason to suspect that Bluetooth and WiFi radios are constantly ON on Windows, even when not used. The reason I suspect this is the following: I managed to make WiFi card disappear from Windows Device manager while playing with the gmux registers. I do not know what I did exactly yet, and if the disappearance was a side effect of something else, but it can be that radios are also controlled in a similar way. One of these days I'll disassemble Apple drivers and see what exactly are they doing.

@ah-,

I added code in my proof of concept driver which asks Windows kernel to inform it when system power state changes. Upon resume, I try to re-enable Intel GPU and switch GMUX to it.

Unfortunately, this did not work (screen was still black). At first I thought I am not doing something right but then I connected over SSH and noticed that even executing the switch manually from the console did not power on the display.

The only way that reliably powers the display on after system resume was to disable Intel driver (which enables Microsoft VGA) and then re-enable it.

I suppose it has something to do with EDID readout and Intel driver behavior... I'll see if this can be fixed.
psyq321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2014, 06:36 AM   #978
asten
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Black Screen upon Boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by ah- View Post
Have you tried deleting the Intel driver? That should hopefully be enough.
Greetings and Thank you for your answer!
As i have disabled the internal (vendor id 8086) graphcis card i had hoped this would be enough - its not even properly recognized on my system (microsoft basic display adapter) - but i will try to uninstall via software panel and try again; is there anything else I should try or do?
In other words - is putting the install.wim from windows on the partiton, configuring efi boot and then setting the correct registers for the dedicated graphics card all that needs to be done? I read somewhere something about having to load the graphics card firmware etc? Is this neccessary?

Thank you for your help!

- Christian
asten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2014, 09:56 AM   #979
asten
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Black Screen still Persists

Greetings!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ah- View Post
Have you tried deleting the Intel driver? That should hopefully be enough.
@ah-: I tried deleting the integrated gfx card driver; i have no %windir%\System32\drivers\igdkmd64.sys file on my windows hdd; i tried deleting the basicdisplay.sys file in the smae directory but it did not work as well; please note that my system actually boots and is usable as long as i do not set the VGAE Register and set the register on my PCI Bridge (ie
  • mm 01000004 7 -PCI
  • mm 0001003E 8 -PCI
.
Only if i do set those commands in my efi shell do i get the black screen; i have installed the latest Nvidia display drivers (but no intel drivers).
I want to be able to use 3d acceleration so i want my nvidia card to be fully recognized.
Is there anything else i have missed or has anyone any more suggestions for me? Please help me if you can, i do not know what else to try..

Thank you!

- Christian

Last edited by asten; Jan 24, 2014 at 08:07 AM. Reason: typo
asten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2014, 07:36 PM   #980
tramtam
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by asten View Post
Greetings!



@ah-: I tried deleting the integrated gfx card driver; i have no %windir%\System32\drivers\igdkmd64.sys file on my windows hdd; i tried deleting the basicdisplay.sys file in the smae directory but it did not work as well; please note that my system actually boots and is usable as long as i do not set the VGAE Register and set the register on my PCI Bridge (ie
  • mm 01000004 7 -PCI
  • mm 0001003E 8 -PCI
.
Only if i do set those commands in my efi shell do i get the black screen; i have installed the latest Nvidia display drivers (but no intel drivers).
I want to be able to use 3d acceleration so i want my nvidia card to be fully recognized.
Is there anything else i have missed or has anyone any more suggestions for me? Please help me if you can, i do not know what else to try..

Thank you!

- Christian
Hi Christian

I'm in the exact same boat as you are (MBP 6,2, trying to get nVidia card working in 8.1 and getting the same results with registers, ie black screen). Please, in case you manage to get this working post a reply here. Will do the same if i succeed.

Cheers
Serge
tramtam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2014, 05:20 AM   #981
psyq321
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
@ah-, @V-l-a-d-i-m-i-r,

I updated the proof-of-concept gmux switch driver a bit, adding detection of the Intel Iris graphics.

Basically, now the driver will not do anything unless it detects that the Intel Iris GPU was not hidden by the EFI. The advantage of this is that the driver can be kept on all the time, and it would only do the gmux switch if apple_set_os was called in the GRUB.

For "normal" Windows boot (where EFI hides Iris GPU) it will just stay resident and not do anything (I will change this in the future to refuse to load completely, not wasting any memory).

Download: http://www.dimkovic.com/distrib/Gmux...tWinDriver.zip

Now, some more interesting findings: I managed to get the idle power consumption on my Haswell 15" rMBP to 13.3W in Windows (!). So far, this is the lowest idle power draw I can do and Windows estimates approx. 6:30h of total battery life.

Now, to do this I had accidentaly disabled Intel Iris driver and only left Windows VGA driver. As soon as you enable Intel Iris driver, idle load goes up to approx 15W.

This is really fishy and I'd say it means Intel Iris GPU driver is not configuring power management properly, possibly due to slightly custom setup of the Apple notebook. I will investigate this further by probing what is it doing with the iGPU frequencies and other power management capabilities.
psyq321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2014, 05:44 PM   #982
Quackers
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Manchester, UK
Basically, now the driver will not do anything unless it detects that the Intel Iris GPU was not hidden by the EFI

I know I'm on a different Mac (rMBP 10,1) but EFI doesn't hide the Intel chip on mine. Does it on yours?
In fact that's part of the problem - I wish it did (like Bootcamp does for Windows).
__________________
15" MacBook Pro retina 10,1: iphone 4S
Quackers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2014, 10:55 PM   #983
Quackers
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Manchester, UK
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/MacBookPro11-1/Saucy

In the above help.ubuntu page for rMBP 11,1 what exactly does this line mean, please?

"Make sure /dev/sda1 is mounted as /boot/efi (an EFI boot partition)."

Is it so mounted automatically? I'm not clear on that. I haven't used this method to install Ubuntu before, I've used refined previously.

Thanks

EDIT In answer to my own question yes it did happen automatically :-)

Also a mid 2012 rMBP (10,1) can be added to the list for successful installs using the above page :-)
Thanks!
__________________
15" MacBook Pro retina 10,1: iphone 4S

Last edited by Quackers; Jan 31, 2014 at 01:34 AM.
Quackers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2014, 02:39 AM   #984
Quackers
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Manchester, UK
Damn, spoke too soon
Ubuntu boots fine through grub and OSX also boots fine after including the MacOS as the 5th item in the boot menu.
Sadly it seems to have broken my EFI Windows 8.1 install as far as booting goes
I see there's now an extra Boot folder in the EFI partition with boox64.efi in it (plus the Microsoft/Boot folder and the grub folder). I don't think I had that folder before

At the efibootmgr command I did
sudo efibootmgr -o 0,80,1
as windows was 0001 in the print out. Did I mess it up?

Windows won't even boot now from the Alt + boot menu, though it's listed there. Windows wants repairing, it says.

Any pointers would be good. Thanks.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro retina 10,1: iphone 4S
Quackers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2014, 05:20 AM   #985
CocaCoca
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
@ah-, @psyq321: Dear EFI Masters! Could you PLEASE share the patched grub binary for rMBP11,3. I'm very far from development, but I'm kinda expert in ThrottleStop (http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...ttlestop-6-00/). We can try to tune Iris Pro power management from ThrottleStop TPL window.
CocaCoca is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2014, 12:44 PM   #986
Quackers
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Manchester, UK
Well they're all booting again
OSX and Windows 8.1 boot from the Alt + boot menu and Ubuntu and Windows boot directly from grub. I'll work on OSX booting from grub.

I found out what happened but not how

Everything was working and I booted back into Ubuntu and ran its updates. When I restarted Windows wouldn't boot and it said it needed repairing.
After mooching around I could find nothing wrong and fired up gdisk which promptly told me I had a hybrid MBR
Where did that come from?
I know it's a long shot but it can only have come from the Ubuntu updates. I hadn't done anything else in between.

Anyway I created a new protective MBR in gdisk and everything booted again.
Most peculiar.
C'est la vie
__________________
15" MacBook Pro retina 10,1: iphone 4S
Quackers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2014, 01:16 PM   #987
ah-
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CocaCoca View Post
@ah-, @psyq321: Dear EFI Masters! Could you PLEASE share the patched grub binary for rMBP11,3. I'm very far from development, but I'm kinda expert in ThrottleStop (http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...ttlestop-6-00/). We can try to tune Iris Pro power management from ThrottleStop TPL window.
I uploaded my grub folder here: http://andreas.heider.io/gmux/2013/g...set-os.tar.bz2

sudo mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /efi

Then move the folder to /efi/EFI/grub and edit the grub.cfg.

I hope this helps, the ThrottleStop thing sounds interesting.
ah- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2014, 10:11 AM   #988
lcastillo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Dear all,

Thank you everybody for your fantastic job! You are masters in EFI Hacking topic .

I was wondering if it possible to use the featured driver by psyq321 in a 1st generation Macbook Pro Retina 15" (2.3 Ghz, HD4000, Nvidia 650M) and if you could be so kind to post a step by step guide assuming the step 0 starts with refind installed.
I offer my mbpr for testing each release of the driver if you want.

Thank you much in advanced and sorry for my English.
Best regards from Spain,
Luis.
lcastillo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2014, 05:54 PM   #989
peer.gynt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ah- View Post
> It works perfectly fine in Linux. But in Windows most of the screen turns black soon
> after the boot, with only the mouse cursor and a blinking Wifi icon visible, no matter
> whether I boot with the Nvidia GPU or the Intel GPU (via the GfxCardStatus trick).
Hmm, I see the same happen in Linux: I can activate the IGD, and deactivate the DIS, but the screen turns and remains black. I can actually start X and it seems to run fine -- just can't see a thing on the black screen :P

Did you apply any additional settings (or do you happen to have a pointer to a more appropriate forum to ask about Linux on an 11,3 MBP)? Thanks!
peer.gynt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2014, 01:36 AM   #990
ah-
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by peer.gynt View Post
Hmm, I see the same happen in Linux: I can activate the IGD, and deactivate the DIS, but the screen turns and remains black. I can actually start X and it seems to run fine -- just can't see a thing on the black screen :P

Did you apply any additional settings (or do you happen to have a pointer to a more appropriate forum to ask about Linux on an 11,3 MBP)? Thanks!
Yeah, sadly the display detection with switcheroo is broken on linux, see these threads:

https://lkml.org/lkml/2014/1/7/343
https://lkml.org/lkml/2014/1/7/91

I'm not sure wether there's a working patch yet, you might have more luck with disabling the DIS in grub.
ah- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2014, 03:41 AM   #991
Shelltoe
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lcastillo View Post
Dear all,

Thank you everybody for your fantastic job! You are masters in EFI Hacking topic .

I was wondering if it possible to use the featured driver by psyq321 in a 1st generation Macbook Pro Retina 15" (2.3 Ghz, HD4000, Nvidia 650M) and if you could be so kind to post a step by step guide assuming the step 0 starts with refind installed.
I offer my mbpr for testing each release of the driver if you want.

Thank you much in advanced and sorry for my English.
Best regards from Spain,
Luis.
You can Boot into windows using your HD4000 without the driver. But we're stuck with Basic Display Drivers.

Im Using this efi-shell startup.nsh for a year now:
PHP Code:
echo Switch select
mm 7C2 1 
;IO :1
stall 100000
mm 7D4 1 
;IO :28

echo Switch display 
mm 7C2 1 
;IO :2
stall 100000
mm 7D4 1 
;IO :10

echo Switch DDC
mm 7C2 1 
;IO :2
stall 100000
mm 7D4 1 
;IO :40

echo Power down discrete graphics
mm 7C2 1 
;IO :1
stall 100000
mm 7D4 1 
;IO :50

mm 7C2 1 
;IO :0
stall 100000
mm 7D4 1 
;IO :50

echo Boot Windows
fs0
:\EFI\Boot\bootx64.efi 
Shelltoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2014, 10:38 AM   #992
e1475599
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Hi all,

I have Macbook Pro 15" ME294 and I'm trying to install Windows 7 in EFI mode without additional utilities aka rEFIt.

Have anyone here succeeded in this?

I removed hybrid MBR leaving protective MBR.
I tried to copy Windows 7 iso on MBR formatted flash drive - holding Option on boot I see orange icon with Windows title but clicking it it boots in BIOS mode. And it does not allow installing to GPT disk.
I tried to copy Windows 7 iso on GPT formatted flash drive - holding Option on boot I see orange icon with EFI Boot title but clicking it does nothing, Macbook gets stuck on this boot selection screen.

I'm not that concerned about everything to work yet (sound problems, dual video problems listed in this thread), I just want to launch this effing Windows 7 installer in EFI mode. And I cannot.

Does anyone have a working recipe?
e1475599 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
64-bit Win7 on iMac 9,1 Bad Paper Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Sep 23, 2011 11:22 PM
HFS+/Win7 x64 boot camp - internal ok, externals "not initialized" ScuseMe Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 14 Jan 3, 2011 08:18 PM
Built in Mic under Win7 x64 Bootcamp? CaesarLeon MacBook Pro 1 Aug 4, 2010 05:50 PM
Can't find Boot Camp after installing Win7 x64! TechnologyHurts Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 7 Jan 4, 2010 11:14 PM
Forcing Macbook Air to boot x86_64 kernel in 10.6.2 via EFI modifications LinMac MacBook Air 4 Nov 17, 2009 06:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC