Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 7, 2012, 10:46 PM   #1
Prof.
macrumors 601
 
Prof.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago
Verizon iPhone 4S Requires SIM Card

I was at the Apple store today getting my iPhone swapped out due to a 'crunchy' home button, and much to my surprise, the Verizon iPhone 4S requires a SIM card - it can't function without one. Traditionally, 3G CDMA phones don't need a SIM, but apparently the iP4S needs one... Am I the only one who didn't know this? haha
__________________
Patiently waiting for my 64 GB iPhone 6 Plus.

Last edited by Prof.; Jul 8, 2012 at 10:33 AM. Reason: Fixed typo
Prof. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2012, 10:50 PM   #2
KJmoon117
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. View Post
I was at the Apple store today getting my iPhone swapped out due to a 'crunchy' home button, and much to my surprise, the Verizon iPhone 4S require a SIM card - it can't function without one. Traditionally, 3G CDMA phones don't need a SIM, but apparently the iP4S needs one... Am I the only one who didn't know this? haha
I was not.. aware of that.

I never carry a SIM card in my 4S and it works fine with Verizon's network. Only time I ever put in a SIM card is when I go overseas, and even then I don't use a Verizon SIM.
KJmoon117 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2012, 10:51 PM   #3
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. View Post
I was at the Apple store today getting my iPhone swapped out due to a 'crunchy' home button, and much to my surprise, the Verizon iPhone 4S require a SIM card - it can't function without one. Traditionally, 3G CDMA phones don't need a SIM, but apparently the iP4S needs one... Am I the only one who didn't know this? haha
You have proof? Have you tried using it without the SIM module?
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2012, 11:05 PM   #4
Prof.
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Prof.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago
Unfortunately, i do not have proof. However, when he took the SIM Card out of my iPhone, the iPhone said no sim and there was no service. I even said to the guy, "Wait... the Verizon iPhone has a SIM card? I thought Verizon phones don't need them..." His response, "Yeah, all Verizon 4S's have a SIM card"
__________________
Patiently waiting for my 64 GB iPhone 6 Plus.
Prof. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2012, 11:06 PM   #5
reclusive46
macrumors 6502a
 
reclusive46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
It is a sim card for international roaming
reclusive46 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2012, 11:06 PM   #6
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. View Post
Unfortunately, i do not have proof. However, when he took the SIM Card out of my iPhone, the iPhone said no sim and there was no service.
This sounds interesting... what was the SIM branding?
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2012, 11:08 PM   #7
Prof.
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Prof.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago
Branding...?
__________________
Patiently waiting for my 64 GB iPhone 6 Plus.
Prof. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2012, 11:10 PM   #8
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. View Post
Branding...?
Does it say Verizon, etc... color scheme... etc
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2012, 11:12 PM   #9
KJmoon117
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. View Post
Unfortunately, i do not have proof. However, when he took the SIM Card out of my iPhone, the iPhone said no sim and there was no service. I even said to the guy, "Wait... the Verizon iPhone has a SIM card? I thought Verizon phones don't need them..." His response, "Yeah, all Verizon 4S's have a SIM card"
Then just toggle the Airport mode on and off. It should pick up a Verizon CDMA signal without the SIM card.
KJmoon117 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2012, 11:14 PM   #10
Prof.
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Prof.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
Does it say Verizon, etc... color scheme... etc
I only saw it briefly, it looked to be the underside with the gold connectors. The sim card itself looked to be white.
__________________
Patiently waiting for my 64 GB iPhone 6 Plus.
Prof. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2012, 11:16 PM   #11
Zaft
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NYC
Thats weird because my sprint iphone 4S works without a sim card and its CDMA also.
Zaft is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2012, 11:18 PM   #12
Mac.World
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: In front of uranus
Quote:
Originally Posted by reclusive46 View Post
It is a sim card for international roaming
^^^ This. And the sim should be identical to this:

photo taken from member hbah427
Mac.World is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2012, 01:02 AM   #13
ace198
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
My Verizon iPhone 4S works fine with and without the micro sim card. Not sure if you would need the sim inside when activating.
__________________
iPhone 5 16 GB
iPod Nano 4th Generation
Macbook 1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
ace198 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2012, 01:37 AM   #14
Diseal3
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Used to say vodaphone for international roaming.
Diseal3 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2012, 08:14 AM   #15
macMD
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New York
So will a 4G LTE Verizon iPhone use a larger SIM slot with a single SIM for both world use and 4G US use?
macMD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2012, 08:49 AM   #16
JerseyDoug
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Learned something today.. Thanks.

Took the sim out of my purchased from Verizon 4s and phone works normally. Good to know. My daughter is going to Europe in 2 weeks and I am betting she is going to loose the verizon sim when she replaces it with a local one. (based on previous experience.) so her phone will still work when she returns home, regardless.
JerseyDoug is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2012, 09:05 AM   #17
KJmoon117
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerseyDoug View Post
Learned something today.. Thanks.

Took the sim out of my purchased from Verizon 4s and phone works normally. Good to know. My daughter is going to Europe in 2 weeks and I am betting she is going to loose the verizon sim when she replaces it with a local one. (based on previous experience.) so her phone will still work when she returns home, regardless.
Call Verizon to have them unlock the SIM slot though.

The Verizon 4G LTE iPhone will probably end up using a microSIM. Probably...
KJmoon117 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2012, 10:06 AM   #18
Jimbo47
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
My sim card accidentally got locked as I was fiddling around with the settings. Rather than calling vzw to get the code to unlock it, I simply took it out, and my phone worked again. So now if I put in the sim card, I lose service.
Jimbo47 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2012, 10:56 AM   #19
Reaper0bot0
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
It does not require a SIM card for domestic use.

Period.
Reaper0bot0 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2012, 01:41 PM   #20
JerseyDoug
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJmoon117 View Post
Call Verizon to have them unlock the SIM slot though.
[/I]
Already did. Thanks.
JerseyDoug is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 08:44 PM   #21
Anthonymenafro
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Can you use a verizon iPhone 4S sim card in a verizon 4G LTE phone?
Anthonymenafro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 10:35 PM   #22
cutienoua
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthonymenafro View Post
Can you use a verizon iPhone 4S sim card in a verizon 4G LTE phone?

that sim is for international roaming. why you want that,since you get a new sim for free?
cutienoua is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 11:23 PM   #23
AppleFanatic10
macrumors 68000
 
AppleFanatic10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles but missing San Diego </3
Send a message via AIM to AppleFanatic10 Send a message via Skype™ to AppleFanatic10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthonymenafro View Post
Can you use a verizon iPhone 4S sim card in a verizon 4G LTE phone?
Had a friend who tried to use their Verizon 4S sim with their Verizon iPhone 5 & it wouldn't activate... & they did this at the apple store so I'm not sure if they just had a bad sim or if you can't use the same sim for two phones.
__________________
White Unibody MacBook, 2.4GHz, 500GB HD, 8GB RAM, OS X 10.9.4, iPad Mini,S3,Compaq Presario CQ60 15.6", 2.16 GHz, 2GB RAM, 250GB HD, W7 Ultimate (dead)
RIP Grandma 5/10/1930 - 9/24/2012
AppleFanatic10 is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New SIM Card for Verizon iPhone 5s Costino1 iPhone 2 Oct 12, 2013 05:33 PM
Verizon iPhone 5S Question...SIM Card Texxy iPhone 7 Sep 26, 2013 05:32 PM
Do I need a SIM card to activate Verizon iPhone 5? Vell843 iPhone 2 Sep 30, 2012 08:25 PM
Verizon iPhone 5 No Sim Card B.Chang iPhone 2 Sep 25, 2012 10:32 AM
Verizon iphone and sim card jayes iPhone 1 Sep 22, 2012 01:25 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC