Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 1, 2013, 01:33 PM   #1
MoodyM
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Got a sound bar - have a few questions

I bought an Apple TV 3rd gen for my bedroom, and the sound from my 24" LED TV was rubbish, so I bought a basic sound bar (Philips HTL2100/12). My TV's only audio output is 3.5mm headphones or SPDIF coax.

The sound bar takes coax AND optical inputs. So my questions are:

1) Would I best to use Apple TV > sound bar via optical, or TV > sound bar via coax? (I should add I ONLY use an Apple TV, no other devices will connect to the TV at all)

2) What settings in the Apple TV Video/Audio menu should I set? Dolby Digital on/off/auto? My content (streamed from MBP's iTunes) is a mixture of HD movies/TV shows with 5.1 AC3 audio and SD TV shows with 2 channel audio.

Details of the sound bar here:

http://www.philips.co.uk/c/home-cine...tl2100_12/prd/

Thanks!
MoodyM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 02:49 PM   #2
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoodyM View Post
I should add I ONLY use an Apple TV, no other devices will connect to the TV at all
Not even broadcast TV? then ATV -> soundbar fine.

Quote:
2) What settings in the Apple TV Video/Audio menu should I set? Dolby Digital on/off/auto? My content (streamed from MBP's iTunes) is a mixture of HD movies/TV shows with 5.1 AC3 audio and SD TV shows with 2 channel audio.
Auto.
__________________
Solution: FREE, Explanation: Is gonna cost ya.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 03:02 PM   #3
ZeRoLiMiT
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
I have a LG Sound bar 2.1 and its amazing! I have it via OPTICAL! sounds and works GREAT!
__________________
Dad: 13' Macbook Pro, iPhone 6+, iPad Air, Apple TV3,
Mom:13' Macbook Air , iPhone 6+,iPad Mini
Daughter:iPad Mini
ZeRoLiMiT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 03:03 PM   #4
MoodyM
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbobb View Post
Not even broadcast TV?
Nope, no aerial. I have satellite TV in all the rooms I need it in. I don't need broadcast TV in the bedroom, just a way to stream my movies.



Quote:
Auto.

Ok. Although I have noticed that music streamed from MBP is LOUD and TV Shows/Movies are very quiet...
MoodyM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 04:14 PM   #5
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoodyM View Post
Ok. Although I have noticed that music streamed from MBP is LOUD and TV Shows/Movies are very quiet...
Try ON see if better.

TRY IT PEOPLE. Won't blow up. Promise!
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 08:25 AM   #6
satcomer
macrumors 601
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoodyM View Post
Nope, no aerial. I have satellite TV in all the rooms I need it in. I don't need broadcast TV in the bedroom, just a way to stream my movies.

Ok. Although I have noticed that music streamed from MBP is LOUD and TV Shows/Movies are very quiet...
If I were you then I would check if your TV has an optical port out. Then just get an optical cable from MonoPrice. You will get the best sound this way.
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 10:45 AM   #7
MoodyM
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
My TV only has coax out
MoodyM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 01:35 PM   #8
Che Castro
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoodyM View Post
My TV only has coax out
Go coax from TV to soundbar




Edit : or if you have optical cable go from Apple TV to soundbar
Don't matter which way you go


I would go Apple TV to soundbar if you only have atv

Last edited by Che Castro; Sep 2, 2013 at 01:42 PM.
Che Castro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 06:06 PM   #9
hagr182
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I have both setups, ATV to Soundbar on the studio and TV to Soundbar (which also has another ATV) on my folk´s. Same bars and tv, same sound as far as I can hear.
hagr182 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2013, 12:22 PM   #10
lexvo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoodyM View Post
2) What settings in the Apple TV Video/Audio menu should I set? Dolby Digital on/off/auto? My content (streamed from MBP's iTunes) is a mixture of HD movies/TV shows with 5.1 AC3 audio and SD TV shows with 2 channel audio.
From what I've read, if you want 5.1 audio then set Dolby Digital to ON.
__________________
27" iMac i5 - iPod 80GB - iPhone 5s 64GB - iPad3 - ATV3 - Airport Extreme - Airport Express
lexvo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple TV with sound bar no clicks vra24 Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Sep 7, 2014 11:43 PM
Dell E2014H and Sound Bar AC511 Dezlboy Mac mini 9 Jun 11, 2014 07:13 AM
apple tv + sound bar = sloooow. why? karilynn Apple TV and Home Theater 2 May 13, 2014 11:16 AM
squeaking sound from space bar shauge91 MacBook Air 0 Sep 7, 2012 02:28 PM
Apple TV & Sound Bar Moccasin Apple TV and Home Theater 6 Jul 25, 2012 04:40 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC