Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 24, 2013, 11:36 AM   #26
StampyJr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brooklyn, NY
This lifelong Mac user thinks it stinks

I've been using Macs since 1984-seriously (I still have the original in my storage). And iPhoto sucks. It's clunky, crash-prone and painfully slow. The fact that it makes duplicates of the photos is very annoying and now that I've gone through a few Macs with iPhoto, I have many duplicates and it's become a monster. There should be a duplication eliminator function (is there one? I know there's 3rd party apps but I don't trust them). And it touts the fact that you can edit the photo while still hanging on to the original--but where's the original? At the very least, the iPhoto source files should be easily navigable by a human being. And for all of its "sophistication", why do I need to make ANOTHER copy of it to another folder just to upload it? Since I upload photos all of the time for my work, for eBay, Craigslist, etc. there should be a simple way of avoiding this.
StampyJr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 11:54 AM   #27
Mr. McMac
macrumors 68020
 
Mr. McMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Long Island, New York
I cant stand iPhoto. Personally love the PC version of ACDSee Pro. The Mac version blows. Needles to say I do all my minor photo editing on my PC
__________________
Mid 2011 Mac Mini, 2.3 GHz, 8GB of RAM, 500 GB HD, 2 TB external HD, 40" Samsung Display, 4th gen iPod Shuffle
Custom built Windows 7 PC, Asus ChromeBox, 2nd gen Nexus 7, (2) Roku 3's
Mr. McMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 11:56 AM   #28
windowstomac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
there should be a simple way of avoiding this
There is, it's called using Picasa...
__________________
Blogging about my Mac Life at Windows to Mac - please come and visit
MBP 13" 2012 i7, 8GB RAM, 750GB Samsung Evo SSD ; iPhone 4S; iPad Mini 32GB; Apple TV Mk. 3.
windowstomac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 09:48 AM   #29
Cuthbert J Twil
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Iphoto comes up short . . .

My Mac is older (04-05 Power Mac G5) and one of the worst things I've found with (my version of) iphoto is that it does not have as much information per picture as a photo imported via Photoshop (for instance).

For example, I wanted to make some blow-ups (16" x 20"). I copied the pix I wanted from iphoto to a disk. I took them to the print maker and he said they were too short (not enough data - maybe pixels per inch) to make blow-ups.
This is true of all iphoto pix (at least in my version of iphoto).

So for me, all iphoto was good for was looking at my pix in iphoto. In order to get enough data to make the blow-ups I had to buy "photoshop". I don't even bother with iphoto any longer.

Oh yeah, if you want to see what I'm talking about, load a photo via iphoto and load the same photo via photoshop. Now make an 8x10 using the respective formats. The clarity you'll get from photoshop blows away the iphoto.
Cuthbert J Twil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 10:09 AM   #30
nilk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Florida, U.S.
I haven't liked the last few major versions of iPhoto. It was not handling my 100+ GB library very well. I was using it up until recently when I switched to Aperture. Aperture is much better and worth the $64 (I buy App Store gift cards at 20% off). The library format is the same with Aperture, though. You can actually use the same library for both iPhoto and Aperture (only modifications can't be shared).

I don't have a problem getting photos out of Aperture. I just drag them out to wherever I need it.

I don't know about thumbnails, but I know it does binary diffs for whatever changes you make, so it uses a minimal amount of space for the modifications you make. If you were managing things yourself, you probably wouldn't be able to pull this off easily.

With Aperture (but not iPhoto), you can store your originals on a separate drive(s) and it only keeps the thumbnails in the main library, so you have an "offline mode".

I haven't used Adobe Lightroom, which is Adobe's competitor to Aperture, so I can't compare.
__________________
Mac Pro 2,1 w/ Xeon E5345's & ATI 5770 / Early '09 17" MBP / Early '08 15" MBP / 2012 15" rMBP / iPhone 4S 64GB
nilk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 10:14 AM   #31
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuthbert J Twil View Post
My Mac is older (04-05 Power Mac G5) and one of the worst things I've found with (my version of) iphoto is that it does not have as much information per picture as a photo imported via Photoshop (for instance).

For example, I wanted to make some blow-ups (16" x 20"). I copied the pix I wanted from iphoto to a disk. I took them to the print maker and he said they were too short (not enough data - maybe pixels per inch) to make blow-ups.
This is true of all iphoto pix (at least in my version of iphoto).

So for me, all iphoto was good for was looking at my pix in iphoto. In order to get enough data to make the blow-ups I had to buy "photoshop". I don't even bother with iphoto any longer.

Oh yeah, if you want to see what I'm talking about, load a photo via iphoto and load the same photo via photoshop. Now make an 8x10 using the respective formats. The clarity you'll get from photoshop blows away the iphoto.
This is not true. The resolution of iPhoto is exactly what you import. Possibly you had exported at a lower resolution... but it is "all in there".

With other packages... you can enhance the picture better than iPhoto... but the basic resolution is there in iPhoto.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 10:42 AM   #32
palmharbor
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Not intuitive

iphoto open...you see pictures at bottom of screen all kinds
of options but the MOST obvious one many people would want.."delete" or "send to trash" not included. If I were the manager of the Geek (s) who designed this, I would give him his last check and the address of Microsoft.
palmharbor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 11:43 AM   #33
lcseds
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NC, USA
thread........date.......check
__________________
Late 2013 13" i5 rMBP, 128GB iPad Air, 64GB iPhone 5, 2012 mac Mini, Apple TV, Pissed wife.
lcseds is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.5 enclosure that does not suck adam9c1 Buying Tips and Advice 11 Apr 18, 2014 11:14 AM
My life suck. chrismarle Community Discussion 31 Feb 18, 2013 12:59 PM
Safari 6 suck for anyone else? drewyboy Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Oct 17, 2012 09:17 PM
How much does Sprint suck? Hellishness iPhone 0 Sep 22, 2012 12:44 AM
All remotes suck coneman5259 Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Jun 22, 2012 03:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC