Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 16, 2013, 12:16 PM   #26
hobbsy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodri05 View Post
Hi, I'm new to the world of Apple, so i started out by buying my friend's old Macbook pro. it's a 13 inch 2010 edition and the 1st thing i want to do is upgrade the the hdd to a ssd and the ram from 4 to 8/16gb. Can someone help me by listing some good compatiable SSDs and ram sticks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuly View Post
Nope, 16GB 1333MHz CL9 works, too.
I have the 13" MBP 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo (mid 2010) - which I think is going to be the same model as rodri05 mentions - and the max RAM on this machine according to Crucial is 8GB not 16GB.

You can use the system scanner tool on Crucial.com to double check.
hobbsy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 01:49 PM   #27
riverpoet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I have OCZ Agility 4 in 2007 Alu iMac (SATA2 obviously). Pretty good result. Write speed actually faster than my 2012 Air!

And OCZ Vertex 4 in Late 2011 Macbook Pro, which is SATA3, also does well, look at write speed...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DiskSpeedTest.png
Views:	70
Size:	740.4 KB
ID:	397343   Click image for larger version

Name:	DiskSpeedTest-macbook13-vertex4.png
Views:	53
Size:	741.7 KB
ID:	397344  

Last edited by riverpoet; Feb 16, 2013 at 02:51 PM.
riverpoet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 03:54 PM   #28
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbsy View Post
I have the 13" MBP 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo (mid 2010) - which I think is going to be the same model as rodri05 mentions - and the max RAM on this machine according to Crucial is 8GB not 16GB.

You can use the system scanner tool on Crucial.com to double check.
It's 16GB, even though Apple and Crucial say 8GB.
Quote:
*Originally, both the official and actual maximum RAM was 8 GB. However, as confirmed by site sponsor OWC, if running OS X 10.7.5 or higher, updated with the latest EFI, and equipped with proper specification memory modules, this model can support up to 16 GB of RAM.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2013, 12:50 AM   #29
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Nevermind.

Last edited by Giuly; Apr 16, 2013 at 12:59 AM.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2013, 09:07 AM   #30
4ourMor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
hi there!
i'm searching an SSD (in a caddy or optibay) for my 2010 13" macbook pro.
I wish to improve my workflow with Adobe Premiere Pro And Logic Pro..

Now i have a 750gb Scorpio Black and 8gb of crucial's Ram

have to choose between this models:
1) Crucial M500 240gb
2) Samsung 840 basic 250gb

Samsung is cheaper...so if there isn't difference with the Crucial (i have Sata II on my mbp) i'll go for it.

thank you
4ourMor is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD/HD issue on 15" MacBook Pro (Mid 2010) 454545 Mac Basics and Help 4 Apr 30, 2014 01:44 PM
Best Sata II SSD for Macbook pro Mid 2010 13" [SATA II]?(Quick question, semi urgent) Gianmarco MacBook Pro 22 Aug 18, 2013 01:19 PM
SSD for My Mid 2010 Macbook Pro funman95 MacBook Pro 2 Aug 3, 2012 02:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC