Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 13, 2012, 11:39 AM   #1
mitoman212
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quadro Card Mac Pro

Does the Quadro 600 work in the Mac pro?

I'm looking for a GPU that supports 10 bit output. I'd be using the 10 bit feature in windows since I have come to the understanding that it is not supported by OS X.

However I would like to be able to use the card to run both OS.

This would be used in a Mac Pro 1.1 and mostly to run CS6 for photography work.

Thanks guys!
mitoman212 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 12:02 PM   #2
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
You definitely wouldn't have boot screens. As you mentioned, Apple doesn't support this. NVidia got it running on 1 or 2 cards during Leopard, but it has been broken since SL. Even under Windows, not all applications will write to it in 10 bit per channel mode. The card/driver would need to be supported under the applications you wish to run. It will probably be fine under bootcamp. As for Apple, my earliest prediction for such support is 2014-2015. When thunderbolt fully supports Displayport 1.2 protocols, you may see such support from Apple. Until then any extra graphics power will go toward rendering a shinier desktop.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 07:08 PM   #3
mitoman212
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
You definitely wouldn't have boot screens. As you mentioned, Apple doesn't support this. NVidia got it running on 1 or 2 cards during Leopard, but it has been broken since SL. Even under Windows, not all applications will write to it in 10 bit per channel mode. The card/driver would need to be supported under the applications you wish to run. It will probably be fine under bootcamp. As for Apple, my earliest prediction for such support is 2014-2015. When thunderbolt fully supports Displayport 1.2 protocols, you may see such support from Apple. Until then any extra graphics power will go toward rendering a shinier desktop.
I don't mind not having boot screens, I just want to know if this card would run osx at all.
mitoman212 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 07:40 PM   #4
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitoman212 View Post
I don't mind not having boot screens, I just want to know if this card would run osx at all.
Oh you should ask macvidcards on here. He is more likely to know than anyone else. I recall many of them were working without boot screens, but I haven't tested them personally and I'm not sure with the 600 out of the box.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 10:00 PM   #5
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
We talking Quadro 6000 or GTX 600 series? I'm not too sure there is a Quadro 600 series. If it is quadro anything you are paying top dollar for the drivers more so than the HW and for OS X they don't exist in a final state. Macvidcards, again, keeps up with all these fast changing landscapes.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 11:14 PM   #6
strausd
macrumors 68030
 
strausd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
We talking Quadro 6000 or GTX 600 series? I'm not too sure there is a Quadro 600 series. If it is quadro anything you are paying top dollar for the drivers more so than the HW and for OS X they don't exist in a final state. Macvidcards, again, keeps up with all these fast changing landscapes.
Quadro 600 is their entry level workstation card. Totally separate from their consumer 600 series and their Quadro 6000, which is their top of the line workstation card.

It provides absolutely great Maya performance for the money, on Windows at least. Haven't tried on OS X.
strausd is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 12:18 AM   #7
mitoman212
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by strausd View Post
Quadro 600 is their entry level workstation card. Totally separate from their consumer 600 series and their Quadro 6000, which is their top of the line workstation card.

It provides absolutely great Maya performance for the money, on Windows at least. Haven't tried on OS X.
Yes this is the card that I am talking about. I want to be able to use it in OS X and boot into windows for 10 bit support.

I know the Geforce cards work but I am under the impression that the quadro cards use a different drivers.

If there is a firepro card that can do this I am interested.
mitoman212 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 01:40 AM   #8
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitoman212 View Post
I know the Geforce cards work but I am under the impression that the quadro cards use a different drivers.

If there is a firepro card that can do this I am interested.
Some people got Quadro 600 running in Hacks and IIRC in MPs too -> do some research and you'll find apropriate threads. They used "magic" drivers from Nvidia. FirePro cards are no go in OS X.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 12:52 PM   #9
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by strausd View Post
Quadro 600 is their entry level workstation card. Totally separate from their consumer 600 series and their Quadro 6000, which is their top of the line workstation card.

It provides absolutely great Maya performance for the money, on Windows at least. Haven't tried on OS X.
Thanks for the info. Obviously have not looked at lower space for a while
I had no idea they cared for Quadro in consumer space.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 02:00 PM   #10
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
As much as people would like to believe that Quadro cards get their own private SPECIAL drivers, they don't. At least not in OSX.

They work with the same hum drum drivers that all of the other Nvidia cards use. The drivers are now designed in a "wild card" fashion, i.e. they try to make them work with ALL Nvidia cards from recent years.

I don't personally know of anyone running a 600 but the 6000s work pretty well.

So, more than likely just installing the "magic drivers" in Lion or simply runnning ML will make this card work. As far as 10 bit output, remember what I said about "no special drivers". So I doubt it will work, but be the trail blazer and post what happens, please.
MacVidCards is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 08:01 PM   #11
strausd
macrumors 68030
 
strausd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitoman212 View Post
Yes this is the card that I am talking about. I want to be able to use it in OS X and boot into windows for 10 bit support.

I know the Geforce cards work but I am under the impression that the quadro cards use a different drivers.

If there is a firepro card that can do this I am interested.
It is a bit more complicated than just different drivers. Workstation cards are certified for specific applications. And that leads to applications being highly optimized for those applications. People who say it is just drivers only say that because they want to feel better about their consumer card purchase and they don't understand how professional GPUs work.

If you buy a $700 consumer card and a $700 workstation card for certified applications, in no instance will the consumer card even come close in performance. In Maya, a $150 workstation card will yield better performance than even a $700 consumer card.

And just a quick note, when I am talking about workstation cards I am talking about them when being used under Windows. OS X has awful third party GPU support, whether they are consumer cards or workstation cards.

Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
Thanks for the info. Obviously have not looked at lower space for a while
I had no idea they cared for Quadro in consumer space.
Both AMD and NVIDIA have low-end workstation cards. The Firepro equivalent to the Quadro 600 is the V4900 I believe. No CUDA obviously, but it does perform a little better in Maya than the Quadro.
strausd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 10:29 PM   #12
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by strausd View Post
It is a bit more complicated than just different drivers. Workstation cards are certified for specific applications. And that leads to applications being highly optimized for those applications. People who say it is just drivers only say that because they want to feel better about their consumer card purchase and they don't understand how professional GPUs work.

If you buy a $700 consumer card and a $700 workstation card for certified applications, in no instance will the consumer card even come close in performance. In Maya, a $150 workstation card will yield better performance than even a $700 consumer card.

And just a quick note, when I am talking about workstation cards I am talking about them when being used under Windows. OS X has awful third party GPU support, whether they are consumer cards or workstation cards.



Both AMD and NVIDIA have low-end workstation cards. The Firepro equivalent to the Quadro 600 is the V4900 I believe. No CUDA obviously, but it does perform a little better in Maya than the Quadro.
Great Windows advice that would be better received in a Windows forum. Sadly, this has nothing (ZERO) to do with what the OP opened this thread about.

The OP asked about OSX, so I stand by my first sentence.

"As much as people would like to believe that Quadro cards get their own private SPECIAL drivers, they don't. At least not in OSX."
MacVidCards is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 01:38 AM   #13
strausd
macrumors 68030
 
strausd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Great Windows advice that would be better received in a Windows forum. Sadly, this has nothing (ZERO) to do with what the OP opened this thread about.

The OP asked about OSX, so I stand by my first sentence.

"As much as people would like to believe that Quadro cards get their own private SPECIAL drivers, they don't. At least not in OSX."
Sorry, didn't know that adding additional detail was a mortal sin in MacRumors land.
strausd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 06:48 PM   #14
benherron
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I have a quadro 600 working on my Mac Pro 1,1 as of 10.7.5. Mac side works fine so far, yet to try bootcamp on 10.7.5 but was working ok before.
(Small issue of driver clashing with the og 7300gt but I won't be needing that now so not an issue anymore. )

Used mine for animation rendering in my final year project at uni and was very reliable (if not the quickest GPU with Cuda - reliability was more important), used 24/7 for 3 weeks and didn't miss a beat. So happy I can now use it on the mac side, saves me buying a ati to boot on both sides.
benherron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2013, 06:43 AM   #15
hjuser
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
would be interested to know how you got it to work.
I have a PNY quadro 600 and they dont supply a mac version of the driver. I couldnt find any on nvidia site too.



Quote:
Originally Posted by benherron View Post
I have a quadro 600 working on my Mac Pro 1,1 as of 10.7.5. Mac side works fine so far, yet to try bootcamp on 10.7.5 but was working ok before.
(Small issue of driver clashing with the og 7300gt but I won't be needing that now so not an issue anymore. )

Used mine for animation rendering in my final year project at uni and was very reliable (if not the quickest GPU with Cuda - reliability was more important), used 24/7 for 3 weeks and didn't miss a beat. So happy I can now use it on the mac side, saves me buying a ati to boot on both sides.
hjuser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2013, 06:46 AM   #16
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
There is a little fix for boot screens but only for Mac cards..cards that have not been flashed or are not supported won't show an EFI screen at all.

refind is the tweak:


http://www.rodsbooks.com/refind/installing.html

We've used it on our Hex MP and it works fine.
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quadro 4000 For Mac Freeze when trying to enter BootCamp (Mac Pro 4.1 - OS X 10.6.8) BrioBriss Mac Pro 12 Feb 9, 2013 03:56 AM
What's the difference between: NVIDIA Quadro 4000 VS Quadro FX 4800 BrioBriss Mac Pro 2 Jan 22, 2013 04:12 AM
NVIDIA Announces Quadro K5000 Professional GPU for Mac Pro MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 90 Oct 4, 2012 07:51 AM
Nvidia Quadro K5000 announced for Mac Pro Cindori Mac Pro 46 Sep 9, 2012 11:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC