Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 24, 2013, 12:59 PM   #1
4God
macrumors 68000
 
4God's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: My Mac
Apple Motion to Adobe After Effects

Sorry if this isn't correct place to ask/post this...

I've googled and came up with nothing as far as trying to get a Motion Template converted to After Effects. Anybody have ideas or experience in this?
4God is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2013, 02:55 PM   #2
soulbot
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Mileage may vary...

I should say that my test machine is running Motion 4 and AE CS5.5. If you're on different versions I won't be able to speak to the success of these tactics.

There are a couple of things to try...

Start a new Motion project and drop the template that you're after into the project. Save this out as a Motion project.

In After Effects, import this Motion project as you would any other media. Drop it into your comp or start a new one based on it's parameters by dropping it on the New Composition icon in the project pane.

Hopefully, you're done and this worked. Works for me. The beauty of this is that you can go back to tweak the Motion project by clicking on it in the Project pane or Timeline and going to Edit > Edit Original (⌘+E) This should relaunch the original Motion project again. Tweak it, resave it and edits should bounce back to AE.

If none of this works for you then you could, of course, make the Motion project and render it out, import the QT movie (or whatever) into AE. But this will flatten the inter-operability. The elegant round-tripping will be no more.

Edit: There *used* to be a page on Apple's site way-back-when that documented this.
http://www.apple.com/pro/techniques/motionaftereffects/

Here it is on the Way Back Machine:
http://web.archive.org/web/201010120...naftereffects/

Last edited by soulbot; Jun 24, 2013 at 03:07 PM.
soulbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 04:59 PM   #3
4God
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
4God's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: My Mac
Quote:
Originally Posted by soulbot View Post
I should say that my test machine is running Motion 4 and AE CS5.5. If you're on different versions I won't be able to speak to the success of these tactics.

There are a couple of things to try...

Start a new Motion project and drop the template that you're after into the project. Save this out as a Motion project.

In After Effects, import this Motion project as you would any other media. Drop it into your comp or start a new one based on it's parameters by dropping it on the New Composition icon in the project pane.

Hopefully, you're done and this worked. Works for me. The beauty of this is that you can go back to tweak the Motion project by clicking on it in the Project pane or Timeline and going to Edit > Edit Original (⌘+E) This should relaunch the original Motion project again. Tweak it, resave it and edits should bounce back to AE.

If none of this works for you then you could, of course, make the Motion project and render it out, import the QT movie (or whatever) into AE. But this will flatten the inter-operability. The elegant round-tripping will be no more.

Edit: There *used* to be a page on Apple's site way-back-when that documented this.
http://www.apple.com/pro/techniques/motionaftereffects/

Here it is on the Way Back Machine:
http://web.archive.org/web/201010120...naftereffects/
Thanks for your reply. Dang, it seems to only work in older versions. I'm on Motion 5 and After Effects CC. I get an error message that says "XMLv5 is not compatible."
4God is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 06:06 PM   #4
soulbot
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4God View Post
Thanks for your reply. Dang, it seems to only work in older versions. I'm on Motion 5 and After Effects CC. I get an error message that says "XMLv5 is not compatible."
Yes, XML is the underlying pinion here as a Motion project is truly but a big, complex XML file.

I don't have a way to test this right now as I'm away from my workstation and this is a TOTAL longshot! But I'm wondering if you could "trick" AE into recognizing the XML file? Theoretically, you could open the Motion project (or for safety, a copy) in a text editor like TextWrangler and modify the "XML version" tag in the file. Again, I have no idea if a simple workaround like this could force things to function. You'd need to know what XML version AE CC does accept.
soulbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 02:35 PM   #5
4God
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
4God's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: My Mac
Quote:
Originally Posted by soulbot View Post
Yes, XML is the underlying pinion here as a Motion project is truly but a big, complex XML file.

I don't have a way to test this right now as I'm away from my workstation and this is a TOTAL longshot! But I'm wondering if you could "trick" AE into recognizing the XML file? Theoretically, you could open the Motion project (or for safety, a copy) in a text editor like TextWrangler and modify the "XML version" tag in the file. Again, I have no idea if a simple workaround like this could force things to function. You'd need to know what XML version AE CC does accept.
That was a good idea, anything under 5.0 seems to at least attempt to import. The only thing is that it errors on a few of the .mov files and all the images are just black. So close....
4God is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 03:01 AM   #6
soulbot
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4God View Post
That was a good idea, anything under 5.0 seems to at least attempt to import. The only thing is that it errors on a few of the .mov files and all the images are just black. So close....
Shoot! It's frustrating to feel like you're right around the corner from a breakthrough. Maybe this can't be strong-armed into working like it did before. I hope you find solution.
soulbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 10:49 AM   #7
4God
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
4God's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: My Mac
Quote:
Originally Posted by soulbot View Post
Shoot! It's frustrating to feel like you're right around the corner from a breakthrough. Maybe this can't be strong-armed into working like it did before. I hope you find solution.
It is frustrating to be so close. There has to be a solution. If I manage to get it figured out, I'll post it here. Thanks again for your time.
4God is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Final Cut Pro X + Motion and Logic Pro X or Adobe After Effects + Premiere? LOLZpersonok Digital Video 25 May 13, 2014 12:13 PM
Does Adobe After Effects CC work yet?" zabo OS X Mavericks (10.9) 11 Oct 22, 2013 08:34 AM
Adobe After Effects Designed4Mac OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Oct 21, 2013 07:16 PM
iOS 7 Users Complaining About Motion Sickness Due to Parallax and Zooming Effects MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 211 Sep 26, 2013 07:20 PM
Motion or After Effects for this project.... Reg88 Digital Video 1 Apr 24, 2013 10:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC