Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 27, 2012, 11:59 AM   #1
Maccotto
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Basic 13" Air can work with Lightroom RAW?

Hi all ,in my near electronic shop i found the air 13" basic (i5 sifh 4gb ram ) at 1099€ instead 1270€ .
My mi d tell me to buy it for mobility and avoid to use my fat sony vaio 16.4" or slow netbook with 12" amd c-60 (i think ) .
What you tell about? Can be a good idea o need wait (the MBA isn't necessary)
Maccotto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:50 PM   #2
wolfpuppies3
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia, USA
Mine works fine with RAW images in Lightroom4. I do have 8 GB memory.
__________________
2012 MBA 13, 2 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; 2011 MBA 11, 1.8 Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD; 2010 MB Pro 15, 2.66 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; two iPad 3s and a mini, two iPhones and a bunch of iPods
wolfpuppies3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 01:30 AM   #3
Maccotto
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
So 4 Gb are too low for lightroom?
Maccotto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 01:49 AM   #4
pantelija
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maccotto View Post
So 4 Gb are too low for lightroom?
Actually, I think it would be sufficient.
More RAM will not harm you, but 4 Gigs are ok...
pantelija is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 03:35 AM   #5
Alvesang
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
It depends on your RAW's resolution. A 10 megapixel RAW shouldn't be that big a deal, but if you're handling e.g. a D800 36 megapixel RAW I'd prepare for some lags.
__________________
MBP 13" 2.66 256GB SSD 8GB, MBA 11" 1.7 i5 256GB 8GB, MBA 11" 1.4 128GB 2GB, Mac Mini 2.4 4GB, 24" ACD, iPad 3rd 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB, iPhone 5, iPhone 4 & iPods
Alvesang is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:51 AM   #6
Maccotto
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I at moment use 12mpx reflex but i think to buy in the 2013 a 24mpx camera as D600.
So will i have serious problem?
Maccotto is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC