Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 13, 2012, 10:27 AM   #1
Saileshbreaker
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Do i need a new sim card for 4G?

Hi, i recently bought an iPhone 5 while i was on holidays in UK, the phone is GSM model A1429 and is factory unlocked. I am now back to my country and we have 2 carriers with LTE service, the iPhone 5 supports both carrier's LTE network, however my iPhone only has a 3G toggle switch, not the LTE one. Any help?
Saileshbreaker is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 10:34 AM   #2
mohsy90
macrumors 65816
 
mohsy90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saileshbreaker View Post
Hi, i recently bought an iPhone 5 while i was on holidays in UK, the phone is GSM model A1429 and is factory unlocked. I am now back to my country and we have 2 carriers with LTE service, the iPhone 5 supports both carrier's LTE network, however my iPhone only has a 3G toggle switch, not the LTE one. Any help?
http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/

According to Apple support page for LTE, the A1429 GSM model supports EE LTE network in UK. Is this the network you have?
__________________
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realize it doesn't say anything it's too late to stop reading it.
mohsy90 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 10:49 AM   #3
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saileshbreaker View Post
Hi, i recently bought an iPhone 5 while i was on holidays in UK, the phone is GSM model A1429 and is factory unlocked. I am now back to my country and we have 2 carriers with LTE service, the iPhone 5 supports both carrier's LTE network, however my iPhone only has a 3G toggle switch, not the LTE one. Any help?
You will need a SIM that supports LTE.

Whether or not your existing SIM does is down to how old it is and how long your carrier has been issuing LTE SIMs for.

Some carriers don't issue LTE SIMs unless people specifically need one.
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:42 AM   #4
Saileshbreaker
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I already have a 4G capable sim-card from my carrier but still only a 3G toggle switch is present not LTE.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mohsy90 View Post
http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/

According to Apple support page for LTE, the A1429 GSM model supports EE LTE network in UK. Is this the network you have?
I'm not in the UK. The country i am right now LTE bands is 1800mhz & 2100mhz, so the model A1429 should work without any problem
Saileshbreaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:49 AM   #5
BFizzzle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saileshbreaker View Post
I already have a 4G capable sim-card from my carrier but still only a 3G toggle switch is present not LTE.

----------


I'm not in the UK. The country i am right now LTE bands is 1800mhz & 2100mhz, so the model A1429 should work without any problem
did you update the APN to that carrier? not sure what else it could be
BFizzzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 12:05 PM   #6
Saileshbreaker
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
The Iphone 5 is not officially launched here. The apple supported carrier is Orange but still no LTE option despite it being the official iPhone carrier
Saileshbreaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 01:41 PM   #7
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
I'd call your carrier to see if they can help you.
They might need to enable LTE on your account.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 09:23 PM   #8
Saileshbreaker
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
My carrier over here does not put any restriction on the use of data services (3G/LTE) , you can buy a prepay sim card and use 3G/LTE straight away, the activation is done just by sending a text to the carrier, i have contacted my carrier and they informed me that LTE is already enabled on my account
Saileshbreaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 09:49 PM   #9
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
I dont know what else you can do.
You told them you have an unlocked iphone 5 and not getting any LTE?
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:17 AM   #10
vbtwo31984
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
In the US, I could not use my iPhone 4 SIM with an LTE phone to get LTE. I would only get 3G service and got an SMS from AT&T to call them to switch to an LTE plan. After calling them, they said I should go to a store and get a new SIM card from them, so the SIM card does matter.
vbtwo31984 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Bought a 3rd Gen iPad, with no SIM card included. Can I add any company's SIM? HappyDude20 iPad 5 Dec 6, 2013 03:09 AM
Setting up iPhone 5 without a SIM card...or Help me find a nano-SIM! turbodelta iPhone 5 Dec 7, 2012 04:52 PM
sim card/activation problem/extra sim card ??? tcoche iPhone 0 Sep 22, 2012 06:38 PM
Selling iphone 4S Sim card is needed? iphone5 comes SIM card? chrisfromalbany iPhone 4 Sep 17, 2012 01:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC