Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 20, 2013, 02:53 PM   #1
mkrt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Upgrades to Mac Pro 3,1

Hello, I currently have a Mac Pro, early 2008.

Processor 2 x 3.2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory 32 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Graphics ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256 MB

I do a lot of programming and data analysis with my pro. I also do a decent amount in Illustrator and Photoshop. I run 2 monitors. It is not handling it all very well. I am am looking to do some upgrades to the Pro. I know for sure that the video card needs updating. Memory should be fine. What upgrades do you recommend?

Or.. do you even recommend throwing money into it? I know the early 2008 model is the last model mountain lion supports. The next OS may not even support it. Would I be better off spending the money on a new iMac?
mkrt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 02:57 PM   #2
lucasfer899
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: London
Tough one, got loads of CPU power, plenty of RAM, even though it's not particularly fast RAM, however the GPU is seriously lacking. Any sort of upgrade to Radeon 5870 or high would be a difference of night and day to the card you're using.
But then again, that money could be sent to a new iMac...
I'd wait to see what the new Pros have in store. Or slam a decent GPU in there.
__________________
2x iPhone4, 2xiPhone5, Galaxy S3, Galaxy S4(sold), HTC One.
HTC One = best phone I ever owned.
lucasfer899 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 03:36 PM   #3
violst
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
That Mac Pro is still very capable as you can see in my siq we have the same system. You have a excellent amount of ram, But an SSD as your boot drive will help to snap things up, launching apps and boot times becomes lighting fast.

I agree with lucasfer899 a newer GPU will help. A mac edition of the 7950 was just released and that may drive down the prices of the older 5770 and 5870's which would be a good upgrade for you.

You're not going to see that much of a speed bump from your mac pro to the new iMac so if you need a new system I would hold out for the new mac pro like I am, when ever that will happen.
__________________
2013 nMP 8-core 3.0, 64GB Ram, 256GB SSD, 6TB Raid, 8TB NAS backup, D500's
2012 15" cMBP core i7 2.7, 16GB Ram, 500GB SSD, 1TB HDD, GT 650M 1GB
violst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 06:38 PM   #4
kevink2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
For my, less demanding usage, a SSD sure improved my overall performance. I had years ago upgraded to 14GB, so am not looking there due to cost.

Now I only have 1 program that seems slow, Quicken for Windows. I don't know whether it is just inherently slow, or if it is the 20 years worth of data in the file
kevink2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 07:54 AM   #5
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Yep! If me I would add a Rocket RAID card which will make all your drive bays SATA III 6GT/s, and then I'd start adding SSDs and or some Seagate Barracuda (3TB ST3000DM001 3-Platter, or 1TB ST1000DM003 1-Platter) drives to it. It's bootable and supports individual, jbod, RAID 0, 1, 5, and 10 if I remember right.

That and a buttload of RAM should really improve things. With that 32GB you already have you can capitalize on the speed of your system caches by turning off Apple's silly dynamic pager too BTW.

To do so open the terminal and type:
sudo launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.dynamic_pager.plist
followed by a reboot. You can turn it on again if you like by entering:
sudo launchctl load -wF /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.dynamic_pager.plist
Your coding sessions should fly with this turned off.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 01:58 PM   #6
mkrt
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Thanks everyone for your responses!

If I go the SSD route, any suggestions on which ones you prefer? kevink2, which did you go with?
mkrt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 04:29 PM   #7
comatory
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrt View Post
Thanks everyone for your responses!

If I go the SSD route, any suggestions on which ones you prefer? kevink2, which did you go with?
Samsung 840 or Intel 520. Crucial M4 is supposed to be good too. I would avoid Vertex brand.
comatory is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 04:24 AM   #8
kevink2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
My first one was an OWC 240GB model. The next two have been Crucial M4's, a 256GB on the Mac, and a 512GB on my MBP.
kevink2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 07:02 AM   #9
AlexMaximus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boondocks
Something Real good....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrt View Post
Thanks everyone for your responses!

If I go the SSD route, any suggestions on which ones you prefer? kevink2, which did you go with?
If you want something Real good, have a look here:

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/P...Accelsior/RAID

And here:

http://www.sonnettech.com/product/tempossdpro.html
__________________
MacBook Pro 17' i7 2010, Samsung Evo 1TB,
27' ACD; TC, iPad 3, iPhone 4s, iPod touch 1.gen, NAS: 214play (2x4TB),
AlexMaximus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2013, 10:17 AM   #10
mkrt
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Ok, two more questions....

If I upgrade this pro, would you:

Upgrade to two new gpus (since I have 2 in there now) and add an SSD

or only upgrade to one new gpu and add a OWC Mercury Accelsior_E2 PCI Express Solid State Drive in the other 16 PCIe 2.0 slot.

I do run 2 monitors, if that affects your answer at all.

Also, for the gpu, someone offered to give me their nvidia quadro 4000 for mac. Is that a better option than the ATI Radeon HD 5870?

Thanks!!
mkrt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2013, 11:09 AM   #11
violst
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
The quadro 4000 is a very good GPU It will help to excelerate any applications that take advantage of CUDA cores, like AE and Premier pro to name a few. It will handle some tasks better then the 5870 and the 5870 will beat it in other tasks. The Quadro has 2 gigs of Vram the 5870 has 1 and the Quadro is a more expensive GPU.

Its a no brainer if someone is going to give you a Quadro 4000 that is the winner and you have a very generous friend. I wish someone would give me a Quadro 4000.

Good luck
__________________
2013 nMP 8-core 3.0, 64GB Ram, 256GB SSD, 6TB Raid, 8TB NAS backup, D500's
2012 15" cMBP core i7 2.7, 16GB Ram, 500GB SSD, 1TB HDD, GT 650M 1GB
violst is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro 3,1 Upgrades subv3 Mac Pro 20 Jul 24, 2014 01:35 PM
How to prioritize upgrades for Mac Pro 3,1? BigYellow Mac Pro 7 Mar 31, 2013 01:30 PM
Which Mac Pro allows the most upgrades like processors blacka4 Mac Pro 20 Jan 15, 2013 07:53 PM
Upgrades for a 1,1 Mac Pro? VelvetBlue Mac Pro 9 Aug 9, 2012 03:59 PM
2008 Mac Pro UPGRADES!! musycsmk Mac Pro 39 Jul 24, 2012 02:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC