Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 6, 2012, 04:35 PM   #1
gdeusthewhizkid
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY|NJ
is it still worth it to get a mac pro?

hey guys,

Im a music producer on my spare time. I already own a mac mini and a macbook pro. I use logic express 9 on macbook pro and logic 8 on mac mini. I have a ton of virtual instruments I use and it seems to choke up my systems. Thinking of upgrading to a mac pro refurbished. One of my photographer buddies swears by the new mac mini for his photo studio. What would you guys suggest. I was thinking of staying portable with macbook air or new macbook pro..
__________________
2.66 Dual Core Mac Pro 1,1
13" 2.26 Ghz c2d MBP
16 gig iPhone 4s
2x TVs | 64 gig iPad3 |Canon 5d mark2 with various lenses
gdeusthewhizkid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 04:38 PM   #2
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
It depends on which one you get. There are a lot of times when the new Mac Mini would outrun one of the older ones. However, good luck with expandability with the Mini.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 04:38 PM   #3
beto2k7
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ::1
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdeusthewhizkid View Post
hey guys,

Im a music producer on my spare time. I already own a mac mini and a macbook pro. I use logic express 9 on macbook pro and logic 8 on mac mini. I have a ton of virtual instruments I use and it seems to choke up my systems. Thinking of upgrading to a mac pro refurbished. One of my photographer buddies swears by the new mac mini for his photo studio. What would you guys suggest. I was thinking of staying portable with macbook air or new macbook pro..
Someone will correct me if Im wrong but afaik. Photography = disk intensive, Audio = processor intensive. So the point your friend makes is basically invalid for your needs. If you can get your hands on a 2009 Mac Pro and upgrade it to Hex processores by flashing the firmware.

My 2 cents.
__________________
2010 Mac Pro | 2 x 2.40 GHz| 24Gb RAM | 3x2TB RAID0 | GTX 570 | 27" ALCD |
iPad 2 16Gb wifi+3G |
iPhone 4S 32Gb Unlocked |
beto2k7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 04:40 PM   #4
Jake0604
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vulcan
Yes a Mac Pro is still worth it
__________________
2010 Mac Pro, Quad-Core, 16GB RAM, GTX 680
Jake0604 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 04:54 PM   #5
phoenixsan
macrumors 65816
 
phoenixsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
In my knowledge....

a big array of instruments requiere big datasets, hence, lots of RAM. And if you want the capacity to customize a computer with multiple setups, the Pro can be for you. But I conceded, outdated....

Regarding to RAM, by example, my Pro can go up to 64 GB (Apple supported) and 128 GB (unsupported). Low end Pros as the Quad Core can go up to 32 GB (Apple) and 48 GB (non Apple), with the Hexa Core up to the same quantities.

If needed, no point in waiting for the hypothetical "Mac Pro 2013"


__________________
Mac Pro 2012 3.06 Westmere version, 12 Core 64 GB RAM, 4 TB , iPhone 5 (black), Moto G 8 GB (black)
phoenixsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 05:10 PM   #6
mokeiko
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I agree, the MacPro is still worth it.

mokeiko
mokeiko is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 06:39 AM   #7
Lesser Evets
macrumors 68030
 
Lesser Evets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
It depends on which one you get. There are a lot of times when the new Mac Mini would outrun one of the older ones. However, good luck with expandability with the Mini.
"Older Ones" = Mac Pro 1,1?

If that's what you meant, you are dead wrong. I have a new mini here next to my 1,1 (mod CPU) and I can say there is NOTHING the mini does as fast as the Mac Pro 1,1.

Minis aren't bad, but they are single processor cheapies. Those devices jam and wait as you do anything. The Pro will let you work far more smooth than a mini ever could.

Unless you have little money, get the Pro. However, the Pros might upgrade to something akin to a new generation of computers in about 6-12 months.
__________________
2x1.86 BSEL Pro 1,1; 5770; 16GB RAM
Lesser Evets is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 07:13 AM   #8
24Frames
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
You would be much better off getting a 15-Inch MacBook Pro. Make sure that it has a 2nd or 3rd Generation Intel Quad-Core i7 and fit it with at least 8GB, but preferably 16GB of RAM and you have a great system.

If hard drive speed ever becomes an issue you can add an external USB 3.0 or TB drive.

I am running Logic Pro 9 and Ableton Suite 8 on a 17-Inch MBP (early 2011) and it runs fine and I use at least 100 plug-ins per song of those maybe 16-24 are CPU intensive Virtual Instruments.

The Mac Pro is a waste of money for what you want to do.


Postscript: if you ask in this forum most people will tell you to buy a Mac Pro!
24Frames is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 01:50 PM   #9
mokeiko
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Postscript: If you ask in this forum most people with MacBook Pros will tell you to buy a MacBook Pro!
mokeiko is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 07:37 PM   #10
Lesser Evets
macrumors 68030
 
Lesser Evets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by 24Frames View Post
Postscript: if you ask in this forum most people will tell you to buy a Mac Pro!
Had to end it with an ass troll.

Mac Pro > MacBook Pro. Sure, you can run Logic Pro on any Mac. It will work. It will work better on a Mac Pro, no competition.

Unless you want USB3 and TB. In that case, use another Mac or wait up to a year to get the upgrade. If he doesn't have the cash or needs mobility, he shouldn't get a Pro.
__________________
2x1.86 BSEL Pro 1,1; 5770; 16GB RAM
Lesser Evets is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 07:55 PM   #11
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by beto2k7 View Post
Someone will correct me if Im wrong but afaik. Photography = disk intensive, Audio = processor intensive. So the point your friend makes is basically invalid for your needs. If you can get your hands on a 2009 Mac Pro and upgrade it to Hex processores by flashing the firmware.

My 2 cents.
That's basically correct, although I'd check the price of a refurbished hex prior to flashing a used machine. It's $2500 for a refurbished unit now. The cpu is $600. If the difference was only a few hundred, I'd just purchase the refurb unit rather than one with unknown history.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 08:34 PM   #12
mokeiko
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Sorry, delete my post. Made a reply to wrong user. My age is showing.


mokeiko
mokeiko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 12:04 PM   #13
benwiggy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
If you can afford the current MacPros, then sure, why not. However, new (redesigned?) MacPros are rumoured next year, and the 2012 MacMinis, MBPs and iMacs have impressive benchmarks that match or better some recent MacPros. (Except the 8 and 12-core, but they are very expensive.)

Use Activity Monitor to see whether it is the CPU or the RAM -- or even the disk -- which is causing the choking in Logic. I've got 16Gb and a Fusion drive in my new 2.6Ghz i7 mini, and Logic 8 absolutely screams.
benwiggy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:56 PM   #14
gdeusthewhizkid
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY|NJ
I saw this for refurbished unit for $700. what do you guys think?

Mac Pro 2.66GHz Two Dual-Core 2GB 250GB Super Drive Intel Xeon 2007

should i pull the plug and get this...
__________________
2.66 Dual Core Mac Pro 1,1
13" 2.26 Ghz c2d MBP
16 gig iPhone 4s
2x TVs | 64 gig iPad3 |Canon 5d mark2 with various lenses
gdeusthewhizkid is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 04:37 PM   #15
nilk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Florida, U.S.
That sounds like it's a Mac Pro 1,1 (which came out in 2006, but continued to sell in 2007). Note that this machine is not supported by Mountain Lion. You can hack Mountain Lion to run, but who knows if the next version of OS X will work. Also, what video card is important. If it is a nVidia GeForce 7300 GT you will more than likely want to upgrade it, because it will be a drag even if you don't do anything graphically heavy (I had that card, and I upgraded to the unsupported $250 ATI 5770 and it made a huge difference). The OS X drivers for the 7300GT don't even support OpenGL which was part of the problem. You will probably also want to upgrade the CPUs to get the most out of it (would be a different story if this was the 2 x quad 3.0GHz CPUs). Also, how much RAM? If it has something minuscule like 1 or 2GB, you'll want to spend money on RAM, and it's not that cheap for this machine.

So, to me it's sounding like it's more trouble than it's worth. I have a Mac Pro 1,1 that is running strong, but I've done some unsupported upgrades and hacks to keep it going. About to do a CPU upgrade.
__________________
Mac Pro 2,1 w/ Xeon E5345's & ATI 5770 / Early '09 17" MBP / Early '08 15" MBP / 2012 15" rMBP / iPhone 4S 64GB
nilk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 04:53 PM   #16
Jake0604
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vulcan
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdeusthewhizkid View Post
I saw this for refurbished unit for $700. what do you guys think?

Mac Pro 2.66GHz Two Dual-Core 2GB 250GB Super Drive Intel Xeon 2007

should i pull the plug and get this...
I have seen 2008 8-core Mac pro's go on ebay for only a couple hundred more than that, so no I don't think you should get this.
__________________
2010 Mac Pro, Quad-Core, 16GB RAM, GTX 680
Jake0604 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Is the Mac Pro worth it for me? egy195 Buying Tips and Advice 26 Jun 21, 2014 06:44 AM
Win7 Pro on Mac Pro - worth it? emt377 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Jun 9, 2014 02:53 PM
How much is my Mac Pro worth? 92jlee Mac Pro 3 Dec 27, 2012 07:06 AM
Used Mac Pro - Worth It? jcschlic Mac Pro 9 Dec 24, 2012 09:08 PM
Price Advice: How much is this Mac Pro worth? polyethyleneguy Buying Tips and Advice 7 Aug 10, 2012 05:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC