Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 22, 2013, 09:03 PM   #1
woshiysc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Shenzhen,China
680MX for application?

hi,guys.It's there any difference between New iMac with 680MX GPU compare to Lower-level GPUs in everyday applications like Aperture or final cut pro X?
I really don't find any difference between 675MX and 680MX in New iMac.


It's there any application use GPU acceleration make 680MX more speed?
woshiysc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 09:45 PM   #2
Dr FranknFurter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cambridge UK
Lots of threads on here about the merits of the GPU's so just have a look around. In a nutshell the GPU will have little no effect on programs such as Photoshop. The main difference is in games where the difference is very big, the 680MX is a beast considering its in an AIO, especially one thats only 5mm thick, 5mm!!!
__________________
MacBook Air 2012 # Old iPad 3 # iPhone 5 # Apple TV3 # Time Capsule 2TB # 2 x Pods # and finally received my 2012 27" iMac
Dr FranknFurter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 11:07 PM   #3
ImaWizard
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Besides gaming, you may notice a difference in performance in After Effects and/or Premiere if you happen to use either. The preview render engine that Adobe utilizes relies on your GPU and OpenCL in particular.
ImaWizard is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 11:42 PM   #4
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImaWizard View Post
Besides gaming, you may notice a difference in performance in After Effects and/or Premiere if you happen to use either. The preview render engine that Adobe utilizes relies on your GPU and OpenCL in particular.
Premiere and After Effects use CUDA. The rest use OpenCL. In all cases they're used for specific features, but mercury playback on premiere isn't OpenCL based, meaning you need an NVidia card.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 12:17 AM   #5
woshiysc
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Shenzhen,China
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
Premiere and After Effects use CUDA. The rest use OpenCL. In all cases they're used for specific features, but mercury playback on premiere isn't OpenCL based, meaning you need an NVidia card.
What about Final cut pro X,I use it seldom.
woshiysc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 12:24 AM   #6
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by woshiysc View Post
What about Final cut pro X,I use it seldom.
It uses OpenCL for something. I'm not sure of the exact uses. Look them on the Apple site. I don't really use FCPX, but I remember the threads regarding what gpus would and wouldn't work after one of its updates.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 12:49 AM   #7
woshiysc
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Shenzhen,China
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
It uses OpenCL for something. I'm not sure of the exact uses. Look them on the Apple site. I don't really use FCPX, but I remember the threads regarding what gpus would and wouldn't work after one of its updates.
Thanks,Thekev
I just wonder which normal application can make difference among GPUs.
woshiysc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 01:05 AM   #8
woshiysc
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Shenzhen,China
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
It uses OpenCL for something. I'm not sure of the exact uses. Look them on the Apple site. I don't really use FCPX, but I remember the threads regarding what gpus would and wouldn't work after one of its updates.
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4664
I found this article,680MX is not in the support list
woshiysc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 04:04 AM   #9
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by woshiysc View Post
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4664
I found this article,680MX is not in the support list
It's possible that it will be added with the next update or that it works in spite of not being on the list. I don't recall what functions leverage it in that application.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 02:45 AM   #10
phobos
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I would be interested to know as well.
I've also ordered a 27 inch with that card and I'm trying to figure out if it'll boost some programs or not. I'm not expecting much since it's a mobile card but whatever speed boost I get it would definitely be welcome!
I'm also interested to know it it'll work with the octane renderer. (http://render.otoy.com)
It should work since it's a CUDA card but even NVIDIA's newest mac drivers don't seem to support the card! (http://www.nvidia.com/object/cuda-mac-driver.html)

So I don't really understand what's going on with this configuration!

If anyone has that configuration and uses any pro apps it would definitely help to share some info!
phobos is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Tags
680mx 675mx

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
680MX Benchmarks please tacokisses iMac 1127 Nov 17, 2013 08:22 PM
OS-neutral: i5 and 680MX Chargrave Mac and PC Games 11 Mar 15, 2013 04:14 PM
680mx + WoW jetjaguar iMac 6 Dec 30, 2012 10:36 AM
Benchmarks for 27 i5 with 680MX? AndiS. iMac 31 Dec 25, 2012 03:26 PM
680MX performance Jay9495 iMac 8 Dec 3, 2012 08:46 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC