Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 25, 2013, 03:06 PM   #1
timcs
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Macbook Pro and Borderlands 2 [SOLVED]

Hi

I have a Macbook Pro A1286 9,1 with a switching video card going to a 650M Nvidia Geforce GT 512MB . The Mac is currently running with a 500GB drive and 4GB.

As I have been enjoying Borderlands 1 & 2 on the Xbox , it is one game I would like to try out on this Machine and as the price has dropped recently my concerns on buying the game are due to some of the posts against Borderlands 2 where users state that the game crashes on the New Models due to the new Apple Graphics Card drivers.

However when I looked at the supporting graphics cards listed on a support page at 2k (the game developer) they state that it does support the graphics card in my machine.

Has anyone played Borderlands 2 successfully on this model or one of the models from when these MacBooks were released?

Also I read that a wired Xbox 360 controller can work with this game, does this also mean that a wireless controller with the plug in charge cable can also work?

Thanks

TimCS

Last edited by timcs; Jun 28, 2013 at 07:58 AM.
timcs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 05:33 PM   #2
pinholestars
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I haven't tried it on my MBP, but it works great on my 2012 iMac. (Not entirely relevant, I know )

This deal is on right now:

http://www.macgamestore.com/product/...orderlands-2/?

$10....not too steep for an experiment, right?
pinholestars is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 06:33 PM   #3
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Plug in charge cable does not transmit data, so that won't work.

I have a GTX660 which is same family as the GT650M, BL2 runs just fine.
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro 4.3GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.2
cluthz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 08:07 PM   #4
saturnotaku
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
The 512 MB of vRAM in you MBP will constrain you a bit, but the game should run OK as long as you turn some of the settings down.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15 (Late 2011)
Core i7 2860QM | 16 GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6770M | 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD | Antiglare Display | OS X + Win 7
iPhone 4S (Verizon 64 GB)
saturnotaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 02:30 AM   #5
timcs
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinholestars View Post
I haven't tried it on my MBP, but it works great on my 2012 iMac. (Not entirely relevant, I know )

This deal is on right now:

http://www.macgamestore.com/product/...orderlands-2/?

$10....not too steep for an experiment, right?
Thanks for your reply, yes in the UK its 20.99 on the App Store , I have got a gift card to cover that , probably sort this out soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cluthz View Post
Plug in charge cable does not transmit data, so that won't work.

I have a GTX660 which is same family as the GT650M, BL2 runs just fine.
Good to know about the controller - didn't want to buy another if it would have worked

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku View Post
The 512 MB of vRAM in you MBP will constrain you a bit, but the game should run OK as long as you turn some of the settings down.
Yes, I suspected 512mb would not give me a lot but I know it would be ok to run a game.

Thanks

TimCS
timcs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 03:22 AM   #6
dan1eln1el5en
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
I run it on a mac mini 2011, with the 3000HD intel thing.
settings on medium/low on 1920x1200 and runs well
dan1eln1el5en is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 04:10 AM   #7
timcs
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan1eln1el5en View Post
I run it on a mac mini 2011, with the 3000HD intel thing.
settings on medium/low on 1920x1200 and runs well
I wonder if my old MacBook would run it as well hmmm,.
timcs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 10:10 AM   #8
Aspyr-Blair
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin Tx
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by timcs View Post
Yes, I suspected 512mb would not give me a lot but I know it would be ok to run a game.
Borderlands 2 is extremely well optimized and will actually run quite well on your 650M. My workstation at the office is almost the exact same setup, and it runs like a top
Aspyr-Blair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 06:10 AM   #9
timcs
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspyr-Blair View Post
Borderlands 2 is extremely well optimized and will actually run quite well on your 650M. My workstation at the office is almost the exact same setup, and it runs like a top
Got it now thanks , just been trying out the resolution changes but stayed on the intro screen - that seems to handle them all but that is not the same obviously as playing the game

On the question of the controller. Here in the UK a company known as Game have a wired XBox controller and a wired Xbox Windows Controller.

Which is the right one for Borderlands on the Mac?

Thanks

TimCS
timcs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 08:24 AM   #10
saturnotaku
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by timcs View Post
On the question of the controller. Here in the UK a company known as Game have a wired XBox controller and a wired Xbox Windows Controller.
They're identical. Buy whatever is cheaper.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15 (Late 2011)
Core i7 2860QM | 16 GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6770M | 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD | Antiglare Display | OS X + Win 7
iPhone 4S (Verizon 64 GB)
saturnotaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 08:53 AM   #11
timcs
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku View Post
They're identical. Buy whatever is cheaper.
Thanks for that Saturnotaku

Thanks

TimCS
timcs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 07:57 AM   #12
timcs
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Got game and controller now - Controller works fine at the menu - not started the game yet as I will play on this once I have more time

Thanks to everyone who has helped here on this

TimCS
timcs is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creaking case problem SOLVED!! (MacBook Pro and MacBook Air) - with VIDEO! Nik MacBook Pro 21 Feb 10, 2014 07:10 PM
OS X: MacBook Pro Retina LAN gaming (Borderlands 2) codythekid Mac and PC Games 10 Jan 10, 2013 04:36 AM
Borderlands/Borderlands 2 on iMac 2011 21.5? BigMac182 iMac 1 Oct 16, 2012 09:28 AM
Macbook Pro 2012 Mid - problem with HD & SSD - solved kidstretch MacBook Pro 3 Sep 6, 2012 11:48 AM
MacBook Pro Retina USB 3.0 Issue solved? alexduff MacBook Pro 0 Jul 22, 2012 06:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC