Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac Help/Tips

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 26, 2003, 01:38 PM   #1
Nawlins
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Ripping Into .AAC Format

I just ripped a CD onto iTunes for the first time, and all the songs were imported as .mp3 files instead of .aac. Anyone know why this is occuring, and how I can fix it?

Thanks, Alex
Nawlins is offline   0
Old Jul 26, 2003, 01:45 PM   #2
patrick0brien
macrumors 68040
 
patrick0brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The West Loop
Send a message via AIM to patrick0brien Send a message via Yahoo to patrick0brien
-Nawlins

Preferences! Go to Preferences/Importing/"Import Using"

Set it to "AAC Encoder".
__________________
This comment has been edited for Content, Formatted to Fit Your Screen and to Run in the Time Allotted
patrick0brien is offline   0
Old Jul 26, 2003, 01:52 PM   #3
Nawlins
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Hmm, I hope this doesn't sound really dumb - when I clicked on the drop down menu for "Import Using," .AAC was not an option. The three options were MP3, AIFF, or WAV.

I'm confused.

Last edited by Nawlins; Jul 26, 2003 at 01:55 PM.
Nawlins is offline   0
Old Jul 26, 2003, 01:58 PM   #4
Nawlins
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
One other issue - I was importing some Nirvana songs, and the song and album titles were not coming up correctly as they were being imported. It would say "Track 01" instead of "Smells Like Teen Spirit." Nirvana is pretty common, and even though their albums are from the early 90's, I would expect iTunes to recognize the songs.

Any thoughts?
Nawlins is offline   0
Old Jul 26, 2003, 02:24 PM   #5
LimeLite
macrumors 6502a
 
LimeLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Send a message via AIM to LimeLite
Make sure you're using iTunes 4. Anything before that doesn't support AAC files. Once you have iTunes 4, go into the preferences, under the Importing button and choose AAC. As for the track names, it's not iTunes that recognizes it or not, it's the CDDB, a database which is accessed over the internet, meaning that your computer must be connected to the internet for it to pull up track titles and such. Good luck.
LimeLite is offline   0
Old Jul 26, 2003, 02:31 PM   #6
Nawlins
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Thanks for the help - Do new Powerbooks come with iTunes 4, or do I have to download or purchase it?

I won't have internet access on my Mac for at least a few days because it won't work through the cable modem installed on our PC, and it wasn't dialing up properly (we have a 2nd phone line that we rarely use, but I get an error message saying "Server could not be found" when I try to load Internet Explorer by dialing up).

Alex
Nawlins is offline   0
Old Jul 26, 2003, 03:11 PM   #7
P-Worm
macrumors 68020
 
P-Worm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
I'm not sure if they come with it now, but it is a free download at apple.com/itunes.

P-Worm
P-Worm is offline   0
Old Jul 26, 2003, 03:28 PM   #8
pEZ
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Send a message via ICQ to pEZ Send a message via AIM to pEZ
Also make sure you have Quicktime 6.3 - that will allow the AAC encoding.

Make sure you have all updates installed from Software Update, just a good tip.
__________________
Choose life.
pEZ is offline   0
Old Jul 26, 2003, 04:29 PM   #9
patrick0brien
macrumors 68040
 
patrick0brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The West Loop
Send a message via AIM to patrick0brien Send a message via Yahoo to patrick0brien
Quote:
Originally posted by pEZ
Also make sure you have Quicktime 6.3 - that will allow the AAC encoding.
-Nawlins

pEZ stole my thunder

Yes, you need Quicktime 6.3 as the AAC codec resides withing that, not iTunes. iTunes merely borrows it.
__________________
This comment has been edited for Content, Formatted to Fit Your Screen and to Run in the Time Allotted
patrick0brien is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac Help/Tips

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Second internal Advanced Format Drive - Won't Initialize / Format 1Tb 7K1000 OSX 10.9 ShaggyDog MacBook Pro 6 Sep 3, 2014 02:45 PM
Highest possible AAC quality vladobizik Digital Audio 6 May 15, 2014 07:22 PM
AAC to MP3. SinkOrSwim Mac Applications and Mac App Store 10 Aug 3, 2013 11:53 PM
iCloud/Protected AAC vs. Purchased AAC bsake iCloud and Apple Services 1 Jul 16, 2013 08:33 AM
protected AAC instead of matched AAC MacMan988 iCloud and Apple Services 1 Nov 14, 2012 02:22 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC