Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2013, 06:51 PM   #51
joewillmott
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: England
I can't see the line thing being fixed anytime soon. Had it on an old 2009 MBP running Lion, had it on my rMBP running ML and got it on my MBA running ML with Safari 6. There's no way Apple don't know about it, I am guessing they all use these devices in their offices and they browse the web so will have seen it long before any of us... but it still exists so they clearly don't care.

Although it's a small bug, you'd think after a good year+ they would've fixed it!

It's not in a lot of sites, but it has existed for a long time. It used to really annoy me, but not so much anymore.
__________________
13" MBA i5/8GB/128GB || iPad rMini || iPhone 5 || iPod Touch 4G

I make apps and games and stuff: JoeWillmott.com
joewillmott is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 09:23 PM   #52
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by joewillmott View Post
I can't see the line thing being fixed anytime soon. Had it on an old 2009 MBP running Lion, had it on my rMBP running ML and got it on my MBA running ML with Safari 6. There's no way Apple don't know about it, I am guessing they all use these devices in their offices and they browse the web so will have seen it long before any of us... but it still exists so they clearly don't care. Although it's a small bug, you'd think after a good year+ they would've fixed it!
Please report the bug:
http://www.apple.com/feedback/safari.html
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 08:43 PM   #53
SlCKB0Y
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Retrofire View Post
OP, try this instead:
https://bugreport.apple.com
SlCKB0Y is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 02:04 PM   #54
maryfumster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddomike View Post
same problem here... I just bought my new 11 inch Macbook Air..
It's frustrating!
Did you call at Apple?
maryfumster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 11:20 AM   #55
apb87
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I have the issue in Safari with the integrated card running also on a 2010 15" MBP. I also have an issue with how the 'crosshair' displays when I do cmd+shift+4 and move the crosshair around. Anyone else experiencing it? It works just fine when the nVidia card is in use.
__________________
2010 MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz Core i7, 8 GB RAM, 15" Hi-res anti-glare; 32 GB iPhone 4S
apb87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 11:28 AM   #56
MyNameIsDave
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blighty
Its a rendering issue with Webkit. It can easily be "fixed" by adjusting the CSS of the web site you're visiting.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...dius-in-safari
MyNameIsDave is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 10:32 PM   #57
zeeklancer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I just want to point out that the weird white line on macrumors happens for me on my rMBP 15 inch ONLY when I load the page am I am on the integrated graphics.

If I launch a program that forces the dedicated graphics such as iPhoto and then refresh the page the line problem does not happen.

EDIT: apparently I did not read the first page.

Last edited by zeeklancer; Feb 9, 2013 at 10:39 PM.
zeeklancer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 05:03 PM   #58
maryfumster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyNameIsDave View Post
Its a rendering issue with Webkit. It can easily be "fixed" by adjusting the CSS of the web site you're visiting.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...dius-in-safari
This is clearly Safari issue, because all other browsers with WebKit engine render same pages fine. Your proposal is interesting, but not useful. How I can adjust CSS of all web-sites? Besides, I don't want to. I just want that Apple pay attention on this problem.
maryfumster is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 03:41 AM   #59
MyNameIsDave
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blighty
Quote:
Originally Posted by maryfumster View Post
This is clearly Safari issue, because all other browsers with WebKit engine render same pages fine. Your proposal is interesting, but not useful. How I can adjust CSS of all web-sites? Besides, I don't want to. I just want that Apple pay attention on this problem.
You can't adjust the websites, its up to the site owner to do that.

What other webkit browsers are you testing against?
MyNameIsDave is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 09:52 AM   #60
maryfumster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyNameIsDave View Post
You can't adjust the websites, its up to the site owner to do that.

What other webkit browsers are you testing against?
All website owners should fix Safari bug?
I don't like this idea. Just because it's Safari team should care about that. 4 month (or even more) nobody at Apple pay attention on that. It's crazy!

Chrome render fine, Stainless render fine, Omniweb too.
Safari 6.0.2 (8536.26.17) and Webkit nightly builds has this glitch on Intel Graphics 4000.

Same Safari on the same ML on my iMac doesn't have it.
maryfumster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 09:45 AM   #61
andrewlphilpott
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyNameIsDave View Post
You can't adjust the websites, its up to the site owner to do that.
This is definitely not even something that can be fixed by the website owner (unless they go back to early 2000s methods of styling). It is a problem that *only* exists in Safari and it seems to be related to the graphics card. There’s nothing website owners can do about it.

Trust me, it’s even more annoying for web designers than it is for users. Until Apple does something about it, though, we either have to live with it or switch browsers.
andrewlphilpott is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 06:59 AM   #62
GuidoH
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Just bought a new MacBook Air 13", which has the same problems. Had a rMBP for a week, which I returned for some reasons including this one.

Not pleased with this, since I'm a web developer. Can't have that **** again. Don't know if I'll keep it.
GuidoH is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 05:12 PM   #63
iWeekend
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
thanks for the stackoverflow link. appreciated.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7
Late 2013 13" rMBP
iPad 5
iWeekend is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 09:02 PM   #64
erio
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Wow, looks like 10.8.3 fixed the problem! I'm happy
erio is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 04:22 AM   #65
ThE.MeSsEnGeR
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Zgharta, Lebanon
Quote:
Originally Posted by erio View Post
Wow, looks like 10.8.3 fixed the problem! I'm happy
It did!!!

Apple is not doomed anymore
__________________
13" MacBook Air. iPad 3. iPhone 5C.
ThE.MeSsEnGeR is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 02:37 PM   #66
vpro
macrumors 6502a
 
vpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
problem NOT fixed

actually worse glitching ever.. my machines running lion are all fine and dandy, my 10.8.3 ones though are very glitchy when on youtube especially, glitching at the bottom of the screen, flickers and jitters more frequently than even before.

if it was a graphics card issue - would that mean more than just saffari would be glitching out? would all my other apps run a bit glitchy cos everything is graphics based interface?????????????


thanks.
__________________
15" 2.8Ghz 16GB, 1TB|17" 2.5Ghz 16GB, 520GB SSD+980GB RAID|Mac Pro 3.0GHz 32GB, 1TB
vpro is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weird graphical glitch on Start up? Goobis OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Oct 27, 2013 08:27 PM
Weird button glitch on safari :( ionickiwi Mac Basics and Help 0 Feb 5, 2013 04:43 AM
Cursor Graphical Glitch in ML Jipster23 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jan 6, 2013 07:41 AM
Graphical glitch while booting since ML? nbrink91 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Jul 31, 2012 06:55 PM
'Numbers' graphical glitch under GM TibookAktive OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Jul 21, 2012 07:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC