Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 21, 2013, 08:23 PM   #26
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SingularityG View Post
My experience with the game under OS X are not good.

In terms of framerate, in bootcamp I get steady 35+ on high-highest settings, while the Mac version suffers greatly. It seems to get better with time, but I am still getting maybe half of fps than in Windows. The single player is playable, but I cannot imagine multiplayer being fun under these conditions.

Another thing is, Max Payne 3 loads up resources behind the scene, during cutscenes. Portions of those that are "in-game" are just skipped completely as the OS X struggles to do load files and render visuals simultaneously.

Also, when I tried to change Shadows from Medium (very ugly blocky dark layers) to High, I got an error message telling me that my files are corrupted and I need to reinstall the game.

Then I got another error message when trying to change Shader quality.

I think I just let it sit on my hard-drive for a while and continue with the addiction to the Windows version, until maybe an update comes along.

See ya in game!
Yikes. I just read a post from somebody in another thread that the game was running quite nicely for them at high settings and high resolution on their iMac, I forget which model/year now but my own has a more powerful GPU so hopefully I'll be fine. I guess we shall see.

What hardware are you running on?

----------

Oh, they also mentioned a friend with a Mac Pro that uses an Nvidia card was having terrible performance issues so he wondered if there was any problem with Nvidia and the port.
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 02:15 AM   #27
imacken
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
From posts on other sites, it does seem to be a cider port by Transgaming.
Can anyone tell me why it takes a year to release a simple Cider version?
__________________
iMac i7 3.4GHz 27" 17" MBP iPad Air 32Gb Wi-Fi iPhone 5 32Gb Apple TV 2
Time Capsule 1Tb Airport Express
imacken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 02:42 AM   #28
antonis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
It looks like it has a good performance wih ATI gpus while performing very poorly on nvidia ones.
antonis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 01:23 PM   #29
masterofbuckets
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
Can anyone tell me why it takes a year to release a simple Cider version?
Maybe because the game is 35 GB in size ?
masterofbuckets is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2013, 03:27 AM   #30
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by masterofbuckets View Post
Maybe because the game is 35 GB in size ?
The majority of that would be graphics, audio, etc, stuff that doesn't need porting or wrapping.
__________________
michaelanthonyralph.com/wordpress - Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro - 2.4GHz quad - 16GB RAM - Radeon 6770M 1024MB - 1TB - 10.9.4
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 06:54 AM   #31
TheGreatWumpus
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vermont
 
Send a message via AIM to TheGreatWumpus Send a message via Yahoo to TheGreatWumpus Send a message via Skype™ to TheGreatWumpus
Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
From posts on other sites, it does seem to be a cider port by Transgaming.
Can anyone tell me why it takes a year to release a simple Cider version?
Probably because they only recently decided to do it. I highly doubt it took Transgaming a year.

Be sure to join The Mac Gamer Crew in Max Payne 3 Multiplayer! http://socialclub.rockstargames.com/...mac_gamer_crew
__________________
Mac Mumble Server! Join the fun! Address: macgamecast.mumbleserverhost.com Port: 32438
27" iMac, Core i5 Quad 2.8Ghz, 8GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD5750 1GB, 1TB Hard Drive
TheGreatWumpus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 07:19 AM   #32
imacken
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGreatWumpus View Post
Probably because they only recently decided to do it. I highly doubt it took Transgaming a year.
I guess that was my point, why has it taken a year to do a simple Cider port? i wasn't suggesting that it was a year of work!
__________________
iMac i7 3.4GHz 27" 17" MBP iPad Air 32Gb Wi-Fi iPhone 5 32Gb Apple TV 2
Time Capsule 1Tb Airport Express
imacken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 09:28 AM   #33
iLuvMyMacToo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Australia
At $41.99 for a downloadable version Maybe I'll get the hard copy.
iLuvMyMacToo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 09:54 AM   #34
edddeduck
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLuvMyMacToo View Post
At $41.99 for a downloadable version Maybe I'll get the hard copy.
Made me think of this

HACK THE PLANET!

Edwin
edddeduck is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 12:48 PM   #35
whooleytoo
macrumors 603
 
whooleytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cork, Ireland.
Send a message via AIM to whooleytoo
What happens if any bug fixes are required? A 30+GB download each time?
__________________
Mac <- Macintosh <- McIntosh apples <- John McIntosh <- McIntosh surname <- "Mac an toshach" <- "Son of the Chief"
whooleytoo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 02:17 PM   #36
monokitty
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by whooleytoo View Post
What happens if any bug fixes are required? A 30+GB download each time?
This is why Steam copies are some times better.
monokitty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 04:30 PM   #37
edddeduck
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by whooleytoo View Post
What happens if any bug fixes are required? A 30+GB download each time?
If you wait a few days after the patch usually Apple's servers have calculated the delta update. I find if you update straight away you will often get the entire thing. Weird but the last few Feral patches that how it worked.

Download first day the patch is launched and you have a full download, do it a week later and it's now a small delta!

Edwin
edddeduck is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 05:30 AM   #38
whooleytoo
macrumors 603
 
whooleytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cork, Ireland.
Send a message via AIM to whooleytoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by edddeduck View Post
If you wait a few days after the patch usually Apple's servers have calculated the delta update. I find if you update straight away you will often get the entire thing. Weird but the last few Feral patches that how it worked.

Download first day the patch is launched and you have a full download, do it a week later and it's now a small delta!

Edwin
Cheers! I didn't know the MAS did delta updates. Makes more sense.
__________________
Mac <- Macintosh <- McIntosh apples <- John McIntosh <- McIntosh surname <- "Mac an toshach" <- "Son of the Chief"
whooleytoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 05:34 AM   #39
imacken
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by edddeduck View Post
If you wait a few days after the patch usually Apple's servers have calculated the delta update. I find if you update straight away you will often get the entire thing. Weird but the last few Feral patches that how it worked.
Download first day the patch is launched and you have a full download, do it a week later and it's now a small delta!
Edwin
Edwin. I have never seen a delta update on MAS. That's why I buy most of my stuff on Steam or developers sites like Feral!
Just a side question, why would the Apple servers have to calculate the delta? Surely the devs can just supply the delta.
__________________
iMac i7 3.4GHz 27" 17" MBP iPad Air 32Gb Wi-Fi iPhone 5 32Gb Apple TV 2
Time Capsule 1Tb Airport Express
imacken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 06:05 AM   #40
edddeduck
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
Edwin. I have never seen a delta update on MAS.
If you have updated your OS or any Apple software like iPhoto you will have used a delta update. If you update as soon as you see the Red circle you are much less likely to see it.

I have seen Delta updates on everything from XCOM to BBEdit. However I have not worked out why or when they appear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
That's why I buy most of my stuff on Steam or developers sites like Feral!
Just a side question, why would the Apple servers have to calculate the delta? Surely the devs can just supply the delta.
No we can't, for MAS releases you (the developer) have to provide a mpkg to Apple they then test, rebuild and resign the installers etc before they are made live on the MAS store.

I believe they then run a diff between the previous and current builds and make a delta updater. However this is all guesswork as MAS is a black hole system.

You don't get to find out how the sausage is made, you just provide the initial ingredients and wait for the final packaged product to spit out the other end

Edwin
edddeduck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 06:13 AM   #41
imacken
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Thanks Edwin.
Yes, I've seen deltas for Apple updates, but never any 3rd party apps.
Must just be me!
__________________
iMac i7 3.4GHz 27" 17" MBP iPad Air 32Gb Wi-Fi iPhone 5 32Gb Apple TV 2
Time Capsule 1Tb Airport Express
imacken is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Max Payne 3 2013 Macbook hovscorpion12 Mac and PC Games 2 Mar 25, 2014 01:24 PM
Max Payne 3 retina owensky MacBook Pro 1 Jun 22, 2013 09:43 PM
Max Payne 3 on MacBook Air dancerinred Mac and PC Games 10 Aug 9, 2012 11:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC