Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:54 AM   #1
RatHat
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Migrate Assistance

I am soon to receive a new 27" iMac. My old 2010 iMac (which will go to the wife), currently has all my files and folders in it, so I will need to transfer everything across.

As the new iMac does not have a Firewire 800 port, I think I will need to buy a Firewire 800 cable, along with a Firewire 800 / Thunderbolt adaptor so I can run the migration transfer overnight.

Question is though, can I use a standard ethernet cable to link the two machines and migrate all my files, or is there any other way that would be cheaper than buying cables that I can only envisage having to use once?
RatHat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 07:29 AM   #2
Chris Blount
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by RatHat View Post
I am soon to receive a new 27" iMac. My old 2010 iMac (which will go to the wife), currently has all my files and folders in it, so I will need to transfer everything across.

As the new iMac does not have a Firewire 800 port, I think I will need to buy a Firewire 800 cable, along with a Firewire 800 / Thunderbolt adaptor so I can run the migration transfer overnight.

Question is though, can I use a standard ethernet cable to link the two machines and migrate all my files, or is there any other way that would be cheaper than buying cables that I can only envisage having to use once?
Yes, you can use a standard ethernet cable.
Chris Blount is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 07:39 AM   #3
trustever
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
@ Chris Blount: just quickly jump in this conversation, how fast is ethernet at transfering 1 GB of data? Does it make sense to use it over to USB 2.0?

Thanks and Regards
trustever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 09:19 AM   #4
Dr FranknFurter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cambridge UK
You can use ethernet cable or your WiFi network with Migration assistant. If you are only transferring 1GB of data then speed is irrelevant so any method is fine. Alternatively you could just use a USB Stick but then it would not transfer the account info automatically.

I would also recommend if using the Migration Assistant to do it immediately when you first switch the new machine on as it will copy all the user accounts over for you. If you don't do this and manually make new user accounts then the migration does not work so well as it gets confused with the multiple accounts.
__________________
MacBook Air 2012 # Old iPad 3 # iPhone 5 # Apple TV3 # Time Capsule 2TB # 2 x Pods # and finally received my 2012 27" iMac
Dr FranknFurter is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 09:28 AM   #5
RatHat
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I have about 650GB of data to transfer across, so USB and WiFi are not the best options.

I would be very interested to find out what sort of transfer rate an Ethernet cable would give.

Thanks for the heads up on doing this before anything else.
RatHat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 09:35 AM   #6
Chris Blount
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by RatHat View Post
I have about 650GB of data to transfer across, so USB and WiFi are not the best options.

I would be very interested to find out what sort of transfer rate an Ethernet cable would give.

Thanks for the heads up on doing this before anything else.
Ethernet is not extremely fast either but what's the hurry? Start the migration and let it run. It should take about 2-3 hours then you're done!
Chris Blount is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 09:46 AM   #7
RatHat
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Blount View Post
Ethernet is not extremely fast either but what's the hurry? Start the migration and let it run. It should take about 2-3 hours then you're done!
Thanks Chris,

That sounds like the way to go, start it up when I am about to go to bed, and let it go overnight.
RatHat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 09:49 AM   #8
Chris Blount
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by RatHat View Post
Thanks Chris,

That sounds like the way to go, start it up when I am about to go to bed, and let it go overnight.
Yep, should be done by the time you wake up. The last time I transferred about 450GB of data and it took about 2 hours.
Chris Blount is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 10:07 AM   #9
trustever
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Blount View Post
Yep, should be done by the time you wake up. The last time I transferred about 450GB of data and it took about 2 hours.
Did you transfer the 450GB using ethernet or anything else?

I wish I had to transfer 1GB only, I would have not asked at all.. I have some sort of 250GB of datas to move but if you did in 2 hours I can expect them to hurry up in 1 hour... Very good!
trustever is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 08:18 PM   #10
RatHat
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by trustever View Post
Did you transfer the 450GB using ethernet or anything else?

I wish I had to transfer 1GB only, I would have not asked at all.. I have some sort of 250GB of datas to move but if you did in 2 hours I can expect them to hurry up in 1 hour... Very good!
Ended up copying everything to a 1TB external hard drive and transferring that way. When I got the machine, I had several days to do online updates, so installed most of the applications first then added all my own files with the external drive.
RatHat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 04:08 AM   #11
trustever
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
In the end I have mostly done the same, just moved everything to my external HD and then left that feed the new machine... I can't remember how long did it take but I was not worried about as i could access my data from the external HD anytime...
trustever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 04:59 AM   #12
danNYtrack
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Just last week I migrated from my 2011 iMac to the new iMac. I connected the two with ethernet as I did not want to utilize my Time Capsule's backup and wait 20+ hours to use my new iMac. Anyway, for about 300GB (I did some serious deleting the night before the new iMac arrived and dumped well over 150GB) it took just over 1.5 hours. Good Luck!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.JPG
Views:	2
Size:	310.2 KB
ID:	403667  
danNYtrack is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC