Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 18, 2013, 10:08 AM   #26
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
All completely untrue of course. Nice attempt at evangelization tho...

The facts speak for themselves...


2-Drive RAID0. File sizes 2MB to 10MB.





PhotoShop loads in 6 seconds here - and that's with boatloads of plug-ins! FinalCut is about the same. AE is faster. Maya loads in 7sec. LW3D loads in 4s, Houdini loads in 6s as well. Icons and previews appear at the speed of RAM for me. A folder of 1000 RAW images updates as fast as i can roll the scroll wheel. Something like Adobe Bridge is even faster with no apparent updates at all - they just appear. And so on and so forth. Ya just can't BS a BS'er I'm afraid. I know better. I actually use my machine and test these things when considering upgrade configurations.

I do realize that most users have bought the hype tho. Like lambs to the slaughter they follow follow follow. Too bad not many take the time to actually test things for themselves. They might arrive at a different conclusion. I know I did.

Last edited by Tesselator; Feb 18, 2013 at 10:34 AM.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 12:02 PM   #27
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
Me neither. It's just not what I do with a workstation (AKA MacPro).

On the side topic of going optical-less I guess that's nearly upon us now however. CD and DVD sales and rentals (here in Japan anyway) are at about 10% of what they were about 10 years ago. Yet movie and music consumption is up overall by a little over 30% from that same time period <shrug>. I guess DVDs and CDs are going the way of the liquorice pizza.
at 2$ a title ripping keeps me in computer stuff.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 01:17 PM   #28
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Hmm, you do ripping for money? That sounds interesting (and incredibly unique). How does that work? I'm interested in reading about that if you care to share it!

But I think such a thing is so obscure that it doesn't warrant a hardware configuration recommendation in a thread titled: "I have a MacPro 1,1 what kind of upgrades can I make to it?" do you?

I mean, I might wear my MacPro on my head because my job is as a test-dummy for a company measuring the affects of computer vibrations on the human skull but I don't think I'd recommend the fitting solution I came up with to a regular person wondering what kinds of MacPro upgrades are beneficial.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 03:00 PM   #29
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
Hmm, you do ripping for money? That sounds interesting (and incredibly unique). How does that work? I'm interested in reading about that if you care to share it!

But I think such a thing is so obscure that it doesn't warrant a hardware configuration recommendation in a thread titled: "I have a MacPro 1,1 what kind of upgrades can I make to it?" do you?

I mean, I might wear my MacPro on my head because my job is as a test-dummy for a company measuring the affects of computer vibrations on the human skull but I don't think I'd recommend the fitting solution I came up with to a regular person wondering what kinds of MacPro upgrades are beneficial.

Actually it started because was built a server for a gentleman with 3000 titles in his BluRay/DVD collection his intent was to get all of them in the server. I told that I'd start tipping his movies into his HD as the computer progressed. One thing leads to another and now I work through and rip peoples DVD's and BluRays to their HDD in what ever format they need. For while my hackintosh had 4 optical's. No that I can do VHS I digitize those for 6$ a title..

I use a Mac Pro not because I need über power so much thought that helps for transcoding its the fact that it's the only mac that will take more than 2 HDD's in the chassis.

As far as modding the the MP I like many here have a 1,1 flashed with x5355. Though I will be trading down to e5345's to lessen the pull from the wall.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2013-02-18 at 10.06.01 PM.png
Views:	5
Size:	30.5 KB
ID:	397831  

Last edited by GermanyChris; Feb 18, 2013 at 03:06 PM.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:14 PM   #30
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Thanks for that!!!

Very cool! Wow, talk about filling a niche... And it sounds like it could be a fun little business too!

Nice!

I have a collection of over 9,000 Commodore64 original floppies that I sometimes think of ripping over to a DVD so I can understand how you got your start too...


Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
Actually it started because was built a server for a gentleman with 3000 titles in his BluRay/DVD collection his intent was to get all of them in the server. I told that I'd start tipping his movies into his HD as the computer progressed. One thing leads to another and now I work through and rip peoples DVD's and BluRays to their HDD in what ever format they need. For while my hackintosh had 4 optical's. No that I can do VHS I digitize those for 6$ a title..

I use a Mac Pro not because I need über power so much thought that helps for transcoding its the fact that it's the only mac that will take more than 2 HDD's in the chassis.

As far as modding the the MP I like many here have a 1,1 flashed with x5355. Though I will be trading down to e5345's to lessen the pull from the wall.

Last edited by Tesselator; Feb 18, 2013 at 09:19 PM.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:37 AM   #31
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
Thanks for that!!!

Very cool! Wow, talk about filling a niche... And it sounds like it could be a fun little business too!

Nice!

I have a collection of over 9,000 Commodore64 original floppies that I sometimes think of ripping over to a DVD so I can understand how you got your start too...
I remember reading an old thread in here where you talk about your commodore. You seem to know more about them than anyone I really ever run into.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:33 AM   #32
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
I remember reading an old thread in here where you talk about your commodore. You seem to know more about them than anyone I really ever run into.
Yeah, at the time I was a game developer. C=64 was a fun little machine! Profitable too... I made my 1st million from that platform in royalties.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:47 AM   #33
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
Yeah, at the time I was a game developer. C=64 was a fun little machine! Profitable too... I made my 1st million from that platform in royalties.
I've often thought about building a PC in the c64x case for my daughter but I don't know if she'd think it's cool or not.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 11:15 AM   #34
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
I've often thought about building a PC in the c64x case for my daughter but I don't know if she'd think it's cool or not.
Yup, those look totally cool! Go for it bro!
http://www.commodoreusa.net/cusa_c64.aspx

The only thing they're missing is a 1541 connector... :P
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 11:36 AM   #35
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
Yup, those look totally cool! Go for it bro!
http://www.commodoreusa.net/cusa_c64.aspx

The only thing they're missing is a 1541 connector... :P
and to make it pseudo authentic run this

http://aros.sourceforge.net/
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 11:43 AM   #36
ragermac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I have the opportunity to buy a MacPro 1,1 for $350? Is it worth it? It has 1gig of ram and 7300gt.
ragermac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:02 PM   #37
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
and to make it pseudo authentic run this

http://aros.sourceforge.net/
Hehehe, nice!

What OS Mods are those tho? That video looks cool!

http://www.commodoreusa.net//CUSA_OS_Vision.aspx
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:24 PM   #38
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
Hehehe, nice!

What OS Mods are those tho? That video looks cool!

http://www.commodoreusa.net//CUSA_OS_Vision.aspx
Aros is Commodore Amiga ported. The commodore OS is a Distro..I actually have a copy I got attached to a Linux Format magazine I think it had Haiku on it too. There come a point though that all the distros are sorta the same.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragermac View Post
I have the opportunity to buy a MacPro 1,1 for $350? Is it worth it? It has 1gig of ram and 7300gt.
RAM is seriously expensive for these..

I'd pay it but many here are going to tell you no.

Do you have a use for it?
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:51 PM   #39
ragermac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
Aros is Commodore Amiga ported. The commodore OS is a Distro..I actually have a copy I got attached to a Linux Format magazine I think it had Haiku on it too. There come a point though that all the distros are sorta the same.

----------



RAM is seriously expensive for these..

I'd pay it but many here are going to tell you no.

Do you have a use for it?
I wanted to use it for some video editing and some graphic design work that I bring home. I am an Art Director so mainly CS5 or 6 if it can handle it. And maybe a few games here and there.
ragermac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 02:21 PM   #40
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragermac View Post
I wanted to use it for some video editing and some graphic design work that I bring home. I am an Art Director so mainly CS5 or 6 if it can handle it. And maybe a few games here and there.
The Geekbench will be in the 5000's..

If thats faster than what you have now then go for it..

It can be upgraded but your starting from scratch.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 03:25 PM   #41
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragermac View Post
I have the opportunity to buy a MacPro 1,1 for $350? Is it worth it? It has 1gig of ram and 7300gt.
Not a perfect deal for this config. Another poster here got similar machine but with 8GB RAM for $400. Comparable ones go on eBay for max $500. RAM is pricey for these and you'd need do upgrade GPU too to get decent performance in CS5/6 (7300 is no go with CS6). CS5/6 likes RAM, so 16GB would be sweet spot for it.

So:
– $350 for MP
– ~$200 for 16GB RAM
– ~$100-200 for decent GPU
makes it $650-750.
My advice: look for much better 1,1 (2,1) config for ~$400 or try to find 4,1 single CPU for ~$650 (doable if you're in the US). RAM for 4,1 is much cheaper than for 1,1 -3,1 and even basic graphics card for this model will perform quite well with CS5/6.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC