Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 21, 2013, 10:05 PM   #51
ECJ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Olive Branch, MS
Congrats. Glad it worked out.
__________________
Late 2009 27" Aluminum iMac i7; Mid 2013 13" Macbook Air i7; 64GB WiFi/LTE iPad Air; 32GB Gold iPhone 5s
ECJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 03:13 AM   #52
SaSaSushi
macrumors 68030
 
SaSaSushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Takamatsu, Japan
Thank you very much to those in here who initially confirmed that the Late-2009 i-Series iMacs can address 32GB of RAM. Those reports have made the rounds of Mac blogs here in Japan as well.

For those in Japan with Late-2009 iMacs, I can confirm that CFD Elixir (Nanya) W3N1333Q-8G work fine. The lowest price online is currently about $84 (¥8400) for two 8GB DIMMs but I found some refurbished for $70 (¥6980) a piece on Yahoo Auctions.

Indeed, it works perfectly:



__________________
27" Late 2013 iMac i7 GTX780M 32GB/1TB Fusion
32GB iPhone 5s | 32GB iPad 3 LTE
16GB iPad 2 3G | Canon EOS 450D
SaSaSushi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 01:23 AM   #53
ajmerphull
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
32GB RAM in my iMac - IT WORKS!

I purchased four modules from Amazon at 40 each

8GB Module - DDR3 1333MHz
Part Number: KTA-MB1333/8G

I fitted them last night and checked the system and it was ALL OK!

TBH, watching the System Memory usage in the Activity Monitor, the _kernel used to consume around 400MB with most of the applications (chrome with several tabs, iTunes, Picasa, Dreamweaver, iMovie) consuming around the 500MB mark and the pretty little pie chart indicator used to mainly be yellow with a dash of red, blue and (if i was lucky) green but now the _kernel consumes around 1GB and the pie chart is mainly green with a dash of yellow. So i am guessing/hoping less swapping will occur and this will speed up some application performance. I did not take any notice of the page ins and page outs but lets see if i notice any great performance difference!

I do know Amazon are selling more of these modules with an increased price of around 47 each. Now to get rid of my four 2GB Hynix modules...
ajmerphull is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2013, 10:19 AM   #54
puffmoike
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
A note of warning / a question regarding stability

Following the advice in this thread I bought four sticks of the Kingston RAM recommended and tested by davidnui: KVR1333D3S9/8G

Coming from 8GB, the new RAM has made Lightroom's develop module much more responsive, and now I can easily have a few Adobe apps open with large files at the same time as I'm developing a website on a remote server.

However, whilst I haven't had any stability issues when I'm using the computer, I am finding that the computer frequently refuses to awake from sleep.

Please note that I'm not necessarily claiming that the frequent failures to wake from sleep are caused by the new RAM, but there certainly appears to be a correlation which I think it's worth telling other potential upgraders about, and which I'm keen to get to the bottom of.

Is this something that could likely be traced back to the new RAM? If so is it worth trying to run just two 8GB sticks (thus sticking to Apple's published maximum)?

Any other suggestions on trying to determine what might be the cause?
puffmoike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2013, 10:26 AM   #55
ECJ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Olive Branch, MS
Quote:
Originally Posted by puffmoike View Post
Following the advice in this thread I bought four sticks of the Kingston RAM recommended and tested by davidnui: KVR1333D3S9/8G

Coming from 8GB, the new RAM has made Lightroom's develop module much more responsive, and now I can easily have a few Adobe apps open with large files at the same time as I'm developing a website on a remote server.

However, whilst I haven't had any stability issues when I'm using the computer, I am finding that the computer frequently refuses to awake from sleep.

Please note that I'm not necessarily claiming that the frequent failures to wake from sleep are caused by the new RAM, but there certainly appears to be a correlation which I think it's worth telling other potential upgraders about, and which I'm keen to get to the bottom of.

Is this something that could likely be traced back to the new RAM? If so is it worth trying to run just two 8GB sticks (thus sticking to Apple's published maximum)?

Any other suggestions on trying to determine what might be the cause?
Sorry you are having this issue. Have you tried running a memory test to verify that the new memory is good? I haven't had this issue, but I had kernel panics. Then I ran the memory tests to find out that my first batch of memory was bad. Once I swapped with good memory, the issue went away.
__________________
Late 2009 27" Aluminum iMac i7; Mid 2013 13" Macbook Air i7; 64GB WiFi/LTE iPad Air; 32GB Gold iPhone 5s
ECJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2013, 06:13 AM   #56
puffmoike
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ECJ View Post
Have you tried running a memory test to verify that the new memory is good?
I hadn't, so thanks for the suggestion.

I just ran Rember, which other forum members had talked about in this thread, and all tests were passed.

I started it whilst I had other apps running though, so only 22GB of my 32GB were available. So I'll run it again overnight after having booted up 'clean' and see how it goes then.

UPDATE: Ran Rember again on a Guest account after booting up in Safe mode, and it was able to access over 30,000MB of memory. Passed all tests.

Of course since I first posted about my computer's occasional failure to wake from sleep it hasn't happened since.

Last edited by puffmoike; May 14, 2013 at 06:24 PM. Reason: Added further test results
puffmoike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2013, 03:37 PM   #57
Travisimo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nukenow View Post
Hello everyone! My first post here, im getting nervous here!

I have a Late 2009 iMac myself and I have been wondering the same thing for the longest time, saved up some cash, and splurged for two 8GB memory sticks. Originally I had 2GB sticks in all four memory slots (8GB total). I took two of the 2GB sticks out and replaced them with the two 8GB sticks and... CHANGEO PRESTO!! 8+8+2+2= 20GB!!! It worked! Computer started up in under 18 seconds as usual and no errors have taken place! No reason I could replace the other two slots with 8GB if I already broke the 16GB barrier that everyone is skeptical of, 20GB is plenty for now, but only thing is my *GB sticks are 1333Mhz and my other two 2GB sticks are 1066mhz. With that being said the computer runs at 1066mhz not 1333mhz, selecting the lower of the two. But I believe if all four slots are replaced with 1333mhz it will run at 1333mhz. Alas, 20Gb of Ram will do me just fine for now! Hope this helps!

I bought it on ebay right here, SUPER CHEAP! Only $89.99 for two 8GB's!!!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/250961364716...84.m1439.l2649

Image
I have a late 2009 27" iMac i5 and I purchased this same memory upgrade. However, I did not have as much luck as you did. :-(

My iMac has 4 slots, all of which were filled by Apple for a total of 8GB of memory (4x2GB). I was hoping that I could do the same as you and just replace two of the Apple chips with the two 8GB chips from the upgrade. However, for some reason, my iMac does not like having both types of RAM chips mixed.

For example, if I install the two 2GB chips on top banks and two 8GB chips on bottom banks, it only recognizes 4GB total memory. So I thought maybe I had my banks improperly paired. So I installed the two 8GB chips on the same side and the two 2GB chips on the other side. No go.

No matter how I matched them up, the most my iMac would recognize was 10GB. Strangely, it would recognize of the 8GB chips and one of the 2GB chips.

The only thing I could do is completely remove the Apple chips and put the two 8GB chips side by side. Now my iMac recognizes a total of 16GB of memory. SO at least my iMac is recognizing the new chips, but it looks like I can't mix and match them like you did.

Just to make sure, how did you arrange the chips in your iMac? When laying my iMac down (screen facing down), I have a total of 4 slots (2 on each side).

Now I'm wondering if I order another set of 8GB chips if I can get a total of 32GB or if I should just stick with 16GB? Is there a difference between the i5 and i7, was thinking maybe that had something to do with it?
Travisimo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 11:03 PM   #58
ECJ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Olive Branch, MS
I'm pretty sure you shouldn't mix different ram. Your stock Apple ram is a different speed, so pairing it with 1333 is causing the issues. I would stick with the 16gb, and order the same ram as you did previously.
__________________
Late 2009 27" Aluminum iMac i7; Mid 2013 13" Macbook Air i7; 64GB WiFi/LTE iPad Air; 32GB Gold iPhone 5s
ECJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2013, 07:18 AM   #59
Travisimo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ECJ View Post
I'm pretty sure you shouldn't mix different ram. Your stock Apple ram is a different speed, so pairing it with 1333 is causing the issues. I would stick with the 16gb, and order the same ram as you did previously.
Well, I initially thought that as well, but there were several reports in here from those who successfully mixed the ram without issue... so I thought it was worth a try. At any rate, I've been running the 16GB without issue since I removed the stock ram. I think it should be plenty and will probably just stick with that.

With 8GB, my iMac was often slowing down when running Lightroom and iMovie/Final Cut, but now things are running smoothly.
Travisimo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2013, 10:25 PM   #60
JDW
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Japan
I have a Nov. 2009 27" i7 iMac. After reading all three pages of this thread, it would appear that 1333MHz 8GB RAM sticks will function properly and reliably in the long term on my machine. But to be sure of this, I would like to know if the specs of this OWC RAM (currently $150 for 2 sticks of 8GB) are truly compatible with my 2009 iMac?

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other.../1333DDR3S16P/

Thank you!
JDW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2013, 08:43 PM   #61
ECJ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Olive Branch, MS
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDW View Post
I have a Nov. 2009 27" i7 iMac. After reading all three pages of this thread, it would appear that 1333MHz 8GB RAM sticks will function properly and reliably in the long term on my machine. But to be sure of this, I would like to know if the specs of this OWC RAM (currently $150 for 2 sticks of 8GB) are truly compatible with my 2009 iMac?

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other.../1333DDR3S16P/

Thank you!
It looks like it will work perfectly. Also they sell quality ram, and have a good return policy. Let us know how it works out.
__________________
Late 2009 27" Aluminum iMac i7; Mid 2013 13" Macbook Air i7; 64GB WiFi/LTE iPad Air; 32GB Gold iPhone 5s
ECJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2013, 09:38 PM   #62
ccapman670
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Orleans / Baton Rouge
Anyone know of a cheaper place to get 1333 8GB sticks? OWC ends up being $75 a stick, I found a few on eBay a lot cheaper that are Crucial/Patriot but not sure I trust the eBay route.
__________________
2010 15" Macbook Pro, 2.66GHz i7, 500GB HD, 8GB RAM; 2008 20" iMac 2.4GHz; 2009 27" iMac i5, 12GB RAM, 1TB HD; 2013 13" Macbook Air; 16GB Black iPhone 5
ccapman670 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2013, 09:45 PM   #63
ECJ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Olive Branch, MS
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccapman670 View Post
Anyone know of a cheaper place to get 1333 8GB sticks? OWC ends up being $75 a stick, I found a few on eBay a lot cheaper that are Crucial/Patriot but not sure I trust the eBay route.
I bought these. They are $59 each stick. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148468
__________________
Late 2009 27" Aluminum iMac i7; Mid 2013 13" Macbook Air i7; 64GB WiFi/LTE iPad Air; 32GB Gold iPhone 5s
ECJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2013, 10:06 PM   #64
ccapman670
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Orleans / Baton Rouge
Quote:
Originally Posted by ECJ View Post
I bought these. They are $59 each stick. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148468
Thanks for the link, I may go with that especially if it worked in your late 2009 iMac. That would end up being $240 for 32Gb vs $300.

I found a good deal on this, $40 per 8GB stick. it's Patriot Memory.
PC3-10600 (1333MHz) CL9 DDR3 SODIMM Patriot Mac Series Laptop RAM
All that matches up with the specs on the one you listed and OWC, so it should work right? There's not anything else I'm missing? Do you have any experience with Patriot?

Thanks so much for all the input!
__________________
2010 15" Macbook Pro, 2.66GHz i7, 500GB HD, 8GB RAM; 2008 20" iMac 2.4GHz; 2009 27" iMac i5, 12GB RAM, 1TB HD; 2013 13" Macbook Air; 16GB Black iPhone 5
ccapman670 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2013, 01:22 AM   #65
JDW
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by ECJ View Post
It looks like it will work perfectly. Also they sell quality ram, and have a good return policy. Let us know how it works out.
Well, I don't live in the US (where OWC is located), which is why I posted here, so I could get feedback from people who have used that exact memory in a late 2009 iMac i7. Despite the great OWC return policy, the fact is I must pay international shipping (to Japan) both ways. I'm only going to buy if I have a near guarantee a give set of SIMMs are going to work.

As to the subsequent posts placed after my post about cheaper prices on EBAY, I am obviously game for a cheaper price, but I need to know that RAM is definitely going to work in a late 2009 27" i7 iMac before I buy it. You guys in the US have it easy because return shipping is cheap. But we Americans living outside the US have to be more cautious.

So if there's anyone with experience using those RAM SIMMs in a late 2009 iMac, I would love to hear from you.

Thanks.
JDW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2013, 06:32 PM   #66
SaSaSushi
macrumors 68030
 
SaSaSushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Takamatsu, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDW View Post
Despite the great OWC return policy, the fact is I must pay international shipping (to Japan) both ways.

So if there's anyone with experience using those RAM SIMMs in a late 2009 iMac, I would love to hear from you.

Thanks.
See my post above (#52), this CFD Elixir RAM works perfectly. I bought mine refurbished on Yahoo Auctions and have had zero problems. The retail price has risen slightly in the last few weeks.

I recommend buying from Amazon Japan if you're worried about returns. Refunds and exchanges are quite easy with them. That said, again, this RAM works on the Late 2009 i7 iMac.
__________________
27" Late 2013 iMac i7 GTX780M 32GB/1TB Fusion
32GB iPhone 5s | 32GB iPad 3 LTE
16GB iPad 2 3G | Canon EOS 450D
SaSaSushi is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2013, 07:26 AM   #67
JDW
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaSaSushi View Post
See my post above (#52), this CFD Elixir RAM works perfectly.
You are the man! I purchased the 16GB kit (the one specified in your link) from Amazon Japan. It worked out to be about US$100 equivalent, and shipping was free. The 16GB kit arrived today. Prior to installing it I ran GeekBench. I then ran GeekBench again after the 1333MHz 16GB RAM was installed. The additional RAM speed boosted my overall score over 10000. Have a look:

8GB RAM @ 1067MHz
http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/2020903

16GB RAM @ 1333MHz
http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/2020945

Thanks again!
JDW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2013, 09:17 AM   #68
Midgetinabikini
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Just to be extra sure before buying

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

two of these for 32G will work on iMac 27, late 2009 core I7 2.8G (iMac11,1)
Midgetinabikini is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Tags
32gb, 32gb ram, 8gb ram, 8gb sodimm, late 2009

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD upgrade advice for late 2009 27" iMac discofuel iMac 46 Nov 30, 2011 09:55 PM
No brightness adjust with 360/PS3/MBP after 10.6.8/Lion update to late 2009 27" iMac? WilliamG iMac 40 Oct 12, 2011 06:54 PM
Memory upgrade - Late 2009 27" iMac i5 DrDoug iMac 5 Sep 6, 2011 09:03 PM
Late 2009 27" iMac - Mark on display 7031 iMac 0 Jul 20, 2011 04:42 PM
SATAII or I on late 2009 27" iMac superdrive slot? Jiten iMac 6 Apr 4, 2011 08:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC