Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 11, 2013, 05:59 PM   #1
kyomagi
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
issues with used ipad from ebay

two really weird things are happening with the ipad i bought with 5.1.1 that i am jailbreaking.

First issue is start up, it takes FOREVER

Just timed it at 1:55 seconds

Second thing is, when i hold the power button to turn it off, this happens

http://postimage.org/image/h1m346vkr/

wtf is wrong with this thing?
kyomagi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:05 PM   #2
Night Spring
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Is it jailbroken now? Looks like it thinks it's an iPhone, which happened with some JB iPads.
Night Spring is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:10 PM   #3
kyomagi
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Night Spring View Post
Is it jailbroken now? Looks like it thinks it's an iPhone, which happened with some JB iPads.
well i dont see cydia, but under settings it has cydelete. which means it was jailbroken at one point
kyomagi is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:12 PM   #4
dojoman
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Hard reset it to wipe it clean. Previously owner probably messed things up with JB.
dojoman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:13 PM   #5
kyomagi
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dojoman View Post
Hard reset it to wipe it clean. Previously owner probably messed things up with JB.
how do i hard reset it?
kyomagi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:14 PM   #6
kodeman53
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
I suggest you ask this question in the Jailbreaks and IOS Hacks forum.
kodeman53 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:15 PM   #7
kyomagi
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kodeman53 View Post
I suggest you ask this question in the Jailbreaks and IOS Hacks forum.
i did not know it was jailbroken when i asked
kyomagi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:16 PM   #8
kodeman53
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyomagi View Post
i did not know it was jailbroken when i asked
Hello, you are trying to jailbreak it now.
kodeman53 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:19 PM   #9
kyomagi
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kodeman53 View Post
Hello, you are trying to jailbreak it now.
no, im trying to hard reset and restore without having to upgrade the IOS
kyomagi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:22 PM   #10
kodeman53
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyomagi View Post
no, im trying to hard reset and restore without having to upgrade the IOS
You're SOL.
kodeman53 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:26 PM   #11
kyomagi
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kodeman53 View Post
You're SOL.
no need to be rude.

I actually found a way to reinstall Cydia and i saved my blobs

on a side note, anyone got an idea what the deal is with the long load time

Last edited by kyomagi; Jan 11, 2013 at 06:36 PM.
kyomagi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 07:30 PM   #12
Night Spring
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyomagi View Post
on a side note, anyone got an idea what the deal is with the long load time
Probably a side effect of being jailbroken. Only way to know for sure is if you restore it to stock.
Night Spring is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 07:50 PM   #13
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyomagi View Post
no need to be rude.

I actually found a way to reinstall Cydia and i saved my blobs

on a side note, anyone got an idea what the deal is with the long load time
Saving the blobs now won't help you, if I recall correctly. That's something you need to do before the new version of iOS is released.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 07:55 PM   #14
viperGTS
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
If you have the 5.1.1 blobs right now, just re restore with redsn0w.
viperGTS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 05:04 AM   #15
kodeman53
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyomagi View Post
no need to be rude.
SOL is rude?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyomagi View Post
on a side note, anyone got an idea what the deal is with the long load time
1. Why are you powering off and on so much?
2. Glad the mods moved this thread to the correct forum.
kodeman53 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 05:51 AM   #16
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
A jailbroken iPad 2 should reboot in about 35-45 seconds (on mine that includes the time to reload LockInfo).
An original iPad will take longer due to slower processor.

If you feel that is an excessive time, you need to restore to clean firmware to fix the issue.
__________________
Two iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 07:23 AM   #17
kyomagi
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
there lies the problem. I went and first wiped the ipad and when it started to reboot...bam stuck on the apple logo. it can enter DFU mode, but it wont even update to ios6, it gives a general error. after fighting with the guy for selling me a bad ipad, i had to get ebay involved, and im shipping it out today. Also picking up a 64gb ipad 3 jailbroken with some high end case for $500 today.
kyomagi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 07:59 AM   #18
kodeman53
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyomagi View Post
there lies the problem. I went and first wiped the ipad
You caused your own problem. This should never be done with a jailbroken device. Odds are, there was never anything wrong with the first iPad.

Before you do anything with your iPad3, ask here first or better yet, search and read here first.

Last edited by kodeman53; Jan 12, 2013 at 08:07 AM.
kodeman53 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 08:06 AM   #19
kyomagi
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kodeman53 View Post
You caused your own problem. This should never be done with a jailbroken device. Odds are, there was never anything wrong with the first iPad.
so wait, erasing all settings is a bad thing? So the boot time being super long and there being other issues had all been made by erasing the settings?
kyomagi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 08:20 AM   #20
kodeman53
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyomagi View Post
so wait, erasing all settings is a bad thing? So the boot time being super long and there being other issues had all been made by erasing the settings?
Did you try searching this forum for 'erase'? Seventh thread listed.
kodeman53 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 08:22 AM   #21
dextr3k
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
You cannot use Erase all Settings on a jailbroken device. Thats JB 101.

Also, the first iPad was limited to 5.1.1, it never got ios 6. So you dont need blobs to restore it. You never mentioned which iPad it was?
dextr3k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 09:23 AM   #22
TriJetHero
macrumors 601
 
TriJetHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: World
@OP

Try restarting it in save-mode, turn it off and hold volume-up while restarting.

After that restart it again normal.
__________________
iPhone 5 iOS 7.1.2 Pangu
iPad 4 3G iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 2 WIFI iOS 7.1.2 Pangu
Mac Book Pro 15" mid 2010
TriJetHero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 11:11 AM   #23
Carlanga
macrumors 601
 
Carlanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyomagi View Post
so wait, erasing all settings is a bad thing? So the boot time being super long and there being other issues had all been made by erasing the settings?
Yes its bad on a jb device.
You messed it up NOT the seller then
__________________
☻ "A dream you dream alone is only a dream...
... A dream you dream together is reality." ☻
Carlanga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 11:24 AM   #24
kyomagi
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlanga View Post
Yes its bad on a jb device.
You messed it up NOT the seller then
TBH The seller was not honest about a few other things on the ipad, there were dents and dings and scratches that he said did not exist. But neither here nor there, the thing would not start any longer, so i returned it to him for a refund. He already said hes going to take it to apple for a new one.


but lucky me, i went to the store today to get a ipad 3 for $330 new with 1 year warranty, and wouldent you know, it had 5.1.1 on it.

so freaking lucky
kyomagi is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad Mini: iPad on eBay? sophiamendezzz1 iPad 17 May 30, 2014 02:10 PM
All iPads: Sold iPad on ebay...but cchunk iPad 6 Nov 2, 2013 09:46 AM
All iPads: How to sell your Ipad on ebay Lamarak iPad 9 Oct 27, 2013 12:19 PM
eBay and all it's issues (discuss what eBay needs to change) Orange Furball Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 6 Aug 16, 2013 09:02 PM
Sold my iPad 3 on eBay. :( jbachandouris iPad 45 Oct 16, 2012 05:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC