Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 2, 2013, 08:31 PM   #1
VideoNewbie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Help! Why Do My Outdoor Pics look Over Exposed? Canon T4I

So i just recently picked up a canon t4i and i just tried to do a photoshoot the other day with a model.

I was reviewing my photos and a lot of them are over exposed....im a photo noob so what exactly should i be correcting or changing in the settings?
VideoNewbie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 09:12 PM   #2
deep diver
macrumors 6502a
 
deep diver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Solon, OH
You need to post some of the pictures so we can see what you are talking about.
deep diver is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 10:12 PM   #3
DirtySocks85
macrumors Demi-God
 
DirtySocks85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wichita, KS
Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoNewbie View Post
So i just recently picked up a canon t4i and i just tried to do a photoshoot the other day with a model.

I was reviewing my photos and a lot of them are over exposed....im a photo noob so what exactly should i be correcting or changing in the settings?
Hard to say without seeing examples or knowing how you're shooting. Are you shooting in Automatic Exposure Mode, Manual Exposure Mode, Aperture Priority, Shutter Priority, Program Mode, etc?

If you're shooting manual and you find that you're overexposing despite your light meter indicating otherwise you might try setting it to a different metering mode that better fits your shooting style.
__________________
13"MacBook Pro (mid 2010) iPhone 5 32GB Black/Slate iPod Classic 80GB
Canon EOS Rebel T3i Nexus 7
JStiles Photography Website JStiles Photography on Facebook
DirtySocks85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 04:57 AM   #4
rossmadden
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Swansea, UK
Was it in bright sunlight? Even at a high aperture (f/22 if you're using the kit lens) it can still be too bright.

Otherwise like Dirtysocks said above, it can be down to a number of things.

If you're aperture is set high (inversely a low number, f/2.8, f/3.5) it'll let a lot of light in. If you want to keep this high so you the model is in focus but the background is out of focus, you could increase you shutter speed. the faster the shutter speed (the time it is open) the less light that can get in.

Also, make sure your iso isn't on auto if you're shooting in Manual, and set it to 100, the lowest setting.

Additionally, you can underexposing it using the the AV button above the Q button on the back of your t4i. Whilst holding this, move the wheel on the top of the camera left, you'll notice the meters going from 3---2---1---0---1---2---3 exposure bar at the bottom of your screen or in your eyepiece. Moving the small rectangle left on this bar will make the images darker, which you can see happen in real time if you shoot in live view. You can see this on my photo below.


Untitled by rosshmadden, on Flickr
rossmadden is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 10:09 PM   #5
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoNewbie View Post
So i just recently picked up a canon t4i and i just tried to do a photoshoot the other day with a model.

I was reviewing my photos and a lot of them are over exposed....im a photo noob so what exactly should i be correcting or changing in the settings?

"Seem" over exposed?? What does the histogram say? The histogram is the final work on exposure.

In a digital file the definition of "over exposed" is that you have clipping in at least one color channel. Even if it looks to light to the eye if there is no clipping it is OK because you can always correct the tone of the photo in post processing

Look at your histograms either in camera or in post processing. The light should drop down before it gets all the way to the right.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 10:14 PM   #6
acearchie
macrumors 68040
 
acearchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisA View Post
Look at your histograms either in camera
Histograms in camera are rendered from the preview JPEG therefore not completely useful if you are shooting raw.
acearchie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 10:55 PM   #7
InTheMist
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Also, it take a bit of understanding of how a camera's meter works.

Mostly, cameras look at the entire scene as just a map of lights and darks. It will try to average everything out to a nice medium grey in its tiny computerized brain. So imagine that your subject is wearing a black T-shirt that takes up a large part of the frame, the meter may see this and think "brighten this scene up".
InTheMist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 12:05 AM   #8
ijohn.8.80
macrumors 65816
 
ijohn.8.80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Adelaide, Oztwaylya.
Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoNewbie View Post
I was reviewing my photos and a lot of them are over exposed....im a photo noob so what exactly should i be correcting or changing in the settings?
I keep wondering if you are on spot metering or partial metering? Or, if you accidentally set your camera to over-expose each shot?
__________________
YouTube is not the resurrection of Dada
ijohn.8.80 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 02:38 AM   #9
Phrasikleia
macrumors 68040
 
Phrasikleia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Over there------->
Quote:
Originally Posted by acearchie View Post
Histograms in camera are rendered from the preview JPEG therefore not completely useful if you are shooting raw.
True, but you can change your JPEG settings to better reflect the raw data and can get the histograms to be quite reliable. Also, to be fair to Chris, he did say "or in post processing."

Nonetheless, it is a good point to emphasize (i.e. the caveat about histograms) because a lot of people don't realize how they work. As far as highlight clipping goes, most cameras will tell you that you are clipping well before you actually are, so if they don't show any clipping, the chances are pretty good that you haven't overexposed.
Phrasikleia is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 04:41 PM   #10
ocabj
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoNewbie View Post
So i just recently picked up a canon t4i and i just tried to do a photoshoot the other day with a model.

I was reviewing my photos and a lot of them are over exposed....im a photo noob so what exactly should i be correcting or changing in the settings?
You either had:

1. Too high an ISO and/or too slow a shutter speed for the aperture you were using.

2. Too high an ISO and/or too large and aperture for the shutter speed you were using.

3. Too large an aperture and/or too slow a shutter speed for the ISO you were using.

If you were using flash, you were also probably using too powerful a flash in combination with one of the above three.
ocabj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 08:58 PM   #11
kevinfulton.ca
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoNewbie View Post
So i just recently picked up a canon t4i and i just tried to do a photoshoot the other day with a model.

I was reviewing my photos and a lot of them are over exposed....im a photo noob so what exactly should i be correcting or changing in the settings?
Chances are you've set your exposure so that you model is exposed correctly. I'm guessing the background is brighter then the model so this would cause it to over expose. There's are a few solutions to keep in my for future shoots.

1) Use an off camera flash for fill on the model to compensate for the bright background.

2) If you don't have a flash use a reflector for fill.

3) If you don't have either pick a different time of day where the light is more ideal.

Or you could compensate on set and fix it in post, but depending how drastically you compensate it could affect IQ.

Hope this helps!
__________________
13" White Macbook, 4 GB RAM, 500GB HD, 22" external monitor, 320 GB Firewire scratch disc, 2 TB partitioned expansion/backup HD; iPad 2, 64 GB, 3G; iPhone 4S, 16 GB.
kevinfulton.ca is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 12:13 PM   #12
salacious
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
I have a samyang 14mm which overexposes like hell compared to my canon 50mm 1.8
salacious is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon EOS Rebel T4i vs. Canon Mark 5D dvoros Digital Photography 26 Feb 21, 2014 10:16 AM
Nikon D5200 or Canon T4i? Chuck-Norris Digital Photography 43 Mar 1, 2013 02:04 AM
Thought on the New Canon T4i I AM THE MAN Digital Photography 13 Aug 1, 2012 10:29 AM
Anyone buy a Canon T4i yet? Madmic23 Digital Photography 10 Jul 20, 2012 09:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC