Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 11, 2012, 07:49 AM   #1
ArsenyP
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Setting up backup raid for the mac mini server

Hey!

I need help setting up a backup for our server in our office. I have very little knowledge in that area, so i am hoping there are a couple of members here who will be kind enough to help me through the process.

Our server is running of a Mac Mini Server (2 GHz Intel Core i7) it is connected to a Promise Raid Hardrive via thunderbolt.

Along with that we have:
DrayTek Vigor 2920 Dual WAN Security Router
HP ProCurve (1810G-24 Switch)
APC Smart-UPS device
and two modems both connected to DrayTek


I have to connect a Netgear ReadyNAS as backup RAID to the server.
It used to be connected to AirPort Extreme over Lan in another room but my boss said we should move it to the server room.

Thanks.

Regards,

arsenyp



PS: Could anyone suggest any reference material or maybe educational films, that would help me get more informed on the subject. I am a quick learner and have basic IT knowledge but unfortunately i just don't know where to start. Thanks again!
ArsenyP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 09:04 AM   #2
aarond12
macrumors 6502a
 
aarond12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArsenyP View Post
I have to connect a Netgear ReadyNAS as backup RAID to the server. It used to be connected to AirPort Extreme over Lan in another room but my boss said we should move it to the server room.
You might be making this too difficult. If the NAS was already connected to the network via Airport Extreme, then all you have to do is connect the NAS to your switch directly.

old:
NAS --> Airport Extreme --> Wifi --> LAN

new:
NAS --> LAN

...or am I misunderstanding your request?
__________________
Voted "Most likely to start his own cult" by my high school class.
aarond12 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 09:58 AM   #3
ArsenyP
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Thanks for a quick reply.

Should I connect NAS to the HP ProCurve directly? If so how do I know which slot should i be using?


As far as I understand the internet cable (red) goes to the switch. The switch is connected to the mac mini directly over a white LAN cable. An there is another cable which connects to DrayTek over GigaLAN.
DrayTek has two yellow wires (one for each WAN). WAN1 is connected to a cable modem. WAN2 is connected to black Siemens modem to LAN4 (on the back over the connection the label says 'Home TV'). I hope this might clear things up a little.


I am also not sure how I can check if NAS is actually going to backup the data from the server (Promise Pegasus R4). Do i need to assign it a new IP-address
That's is the part that I am confused about.


Thanks again so much!
ArsenyP is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Mini server with external RAID storage - a good file server solution? teme Digital Video 1 Mar 5, 2014 10:34 AM
Setting up VPN server on Mac mini comatory OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Jan 17, 2014 12:24 PM
Mac Mini as media server and wireless RAID backup? Astroboy907 Mac mini 7 Oct 28, 2013 10:38 PM
Setting up Mac mini as server AndrewForeva Mac mini 4 Oct 25, 2013 10:21 AM
Setting up backup raid for the mac mini server ArsenyP Mac Basics and Help 0 Dec 11, 2012 08:44 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC