Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 18, 2014, 06:53 AM   #601
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korican100 View Post
you upgraded the cpu in your 4,1 to the w3580 without upgrading the 5,1 firmware? Forgive me if I am incorrect, but if you flash the firmware to 5,1 you'd probably be getting faster speeds? right
From what I understand, I'll only get faster speeds if my ram is actually 1333MHz. It's not. And even if it were, it's marginal and just about negligible gains (just like using triple channel instead of double channel on my Mac Pro). If, on the other hand, the firmware update increases performance in other ways, I'm all ears.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flowrider View Post
May I ask why you are using such an old version of Geekbench?
When I tried the update tool in geekbench, it gave no results. I just tried using the newer version, but it requires purchase for 64 bit version. Don't really care enough about geekbench to spend money on it.

In any case, the point is in using the same version for both CPUs...

Loa
Loa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2014, 12:18 PM   #602
flowrider
macrumors 68000
 
flowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loa View Post
From what I understand, I'll only get faster speeds if my ram is actually 1333MHz. It's not. And even if it were, it's marginal and just about negligible gains (just like using triple channel instead of double channel on my Mac Pro). If, on the other hand, the firmware update increases performance in other ways, I'm all ears.

Loa
Quote:
Originally Posted by flowrider View Post
It may be marginally faster with the 5,1 firmware. The 4,1 firmware will run the installed RAM at 1066 MHz. The W3580 used will run the installed RAM at 1333 MHz if allowed by the computer. The 5,1 firmware will recognize this and if the installed RAM is recognized as 1333 MHz RAM, it will run at the faster speed.

Lou
As I said - Nope!

Lou
flowrider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2014, 12:37 PM   #603
Korican100
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
so the only reason for the firmware update is to run the ram at 1333 speeds? Which are completely negligible gains?

That doesn't even seem worth it.
__________________
MacPro5,1 (via upgrade): 3.46 GHZ Hex Core.GPU:GTX 680 Mac Ed. RAM:24GB.
Korican100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2014, 01:06 PM   #604
omvs
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korican100 View Post
so the only reason for the firmware update is to run the ram at 1333 speeds? Which are completely negligible gains?
Also 32nm (hex) processor support. If that will ever be a possibility you might want to just upgrade the firmware now -- if you accidentally swap the processors before hand, you'll need to swap back, upgrade, then swap again.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 2xHex 3.06Ghz, 24GB RAM, 1.7TB Fusion, GTX 680 (4GB)
2012 15" rMBP 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
omvs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2014, 01:12 PM   #605
Studio K
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korican100 View Post
you upgraded the cpu in your 4,1 to the w3580 without upgrading the 5,1 firmware? Forgive me if I am incorrect, but if you flash the firmware to 5,1 you'd probably be getting faster speeds? right
The main reason to upgrade to 5,1 firmware is so that you can install a 6-core Westmere CPU.

If you are simply upgrading to a faster quad-core, then there is nothing to gain by flashing the firmware. Everything will still work with the 5,1 firmware, but there will not be any speed gain (other than faster RAM speed if you happen to: a) have 1333 Mhz Ram already installed &
b) if you have a CPU that supports Ram of that speed (W3580 does).

Quote:
If, on the other hand, the firmware update increases performance in other ways, I'm all ears.
I don't believe that it does.
Studio K is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2014, 03:04 PM   #606
Korican100
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
so to install 3.46 hex W3690 in a 2009, I need to make sure its flashed to 5,1. And get ram some at 1333. got it.
__________________
MacPro5,1 (via upgrade): 3.46 GHZ Hex Core.GPU:GTX 680 Mac Ed. RAM:24GB.
Korican100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2014, 03:13 PM   #607
h9826790
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hong Kong
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korican100 View Post
so to install 3.46 hex W3690 in a 2009, I need to make sure its flashed to 5,1. And get ram some at 1333. got it.
Yes, you must flash to 5,1 firmware BEFORE you install the W3690, otherwise the computer won't boot. But there is no need to get 1333 RAM, the 1066 will work fine with 5,1 firmware. Also, the 5,1 firmware make the 2009 able to have audio output from HDMI or display port. Even though this is not performance related, but it may be a useful feature.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 (5,1 Firmware), W3690 (6C 12T 3.43GHz), 32GB RAM, HD7950 (Mac Edition), 840 Evo 1T SSD (Tempo SSD), 8TB HDDs (RAID 0), 27" Apple Cinema Display + 84" LG UHD 4K TV, 2T+3T TC
h9826790 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2014, 04:43 PM   #608
omvs
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by h9826790 View Post
...Also, the 5,1 firmware make the 2009 able to have audio output from HDMI or display port. Even though this is not performance related, but it may be a useful feature.
Actually, I had to use the HDMIAudio.kext to get audio even with flashing -- tried both a ATI 7950 and a NVIDIA GTX 680 (both with efi bios) and neither would give hdmi audio without it.

I'm pretty sure the bios flashing worked, since my mac thinks its a MacPro5,1 and the x5675 actually works and gives me 6 cores
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 2xHex 3.06Ghz, 24GB RAM, 1.7TB Fusion, GTX 680 (4GB)
2012 15" rMBP 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
omvs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2014, 05:31 PM   #609
h9826790
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hong Kong
Quote:
Originally Posted by omvs View Post
Actually, I had to use the HDMIAudio.kext to get audio even with flashing -- tried both a ATI 7950 and a NVIDIA GTX 680 (both with efi bios) and neither would give hdmi audio without it.
My understanding is the firmware make your machine able to do that, but you still need that HDMIAudio.kext driver to make it work.

I also have a 7950 Mac Edition, but there is no native driver for the audio part.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 (5,1 Firmware), W3690 (6C 12T 3.43GHz), 32GB RAM, HD7950 (Mac Edition), 840 Evo 1T SSD (Tempo SSD), 8TB HDDs (RAID 0), 27" Apple Cinema Display + 84" LG UHD 4K TV, 2T+3T TC
h9826790 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2014, 10:32 AM   #610
rhett7660
macrumors 604
 
rhett7660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunny, Southern California
I know this is an old thread, but can anyone please confirm I am looking at the correct CPU's for a 2010 quad core CPU upgrade:

http://www.ebay.com/sch/Computer-Com...R40&_nkw=W3680

I just want to make sure I am looking at the correct products.

Anybody have any issues with buying a used one as I haven't been able to find one that is new.
__________________
"It's quite an experience to hold the hand of someone as they move from living to dead."
"Times are looking grim these days, holding on to everything, it's hard to draw the line"
rhett7660 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2014, 10:35 AM   #611
omvs
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Yeah, the W3680 from your link would work fine.

I've bought a couple used without problems (x5675, W3580). Its nice if the seller shows a picture of the underside so you can verify the pins all look okay.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 2xHex 3.06Ghz, 24GB RAM, 1.7TB Fusion, GTX 680 (4GB)
2012 15" rMBP 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
omvs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2014, 07:14 PM   #612
rhett7660
macrumors 604
 
rhett7660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunny, Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by omvs View Post
Yeah, the W3680 from your link would work fine.

I've bought a couple used without problems (x5675, W3580). Its nice if the seller shows a picture of the underside so you can verify the pins all look okay.
Thank you!!!
__________________
"It's quite an experience to hold the hand of someone as they move from living to dead."
"Times are looking grim these days, holding on to everything, it's hard to draw the line"
rhett7660 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2014, 07:38 PM   #613
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Consider getting an X5xxx as they will allow 64GB of RAM

The W3xxx have issues with 4th RAM slot
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2014, 11:18 AM   #614
chaosbunny
macrumors 68000
 
chaosbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: down to earth, far away from any clouds
Thanks to this thread I'm now another happy hex core owner! I have never been this deep inside a computer but thanks to the great pictures and instructions this was far more easy than I thought.
__________________
>> Mac Pro 5,1 | 6x3.46ghz | GTX670 | 24gb | 240gb ssd | 6tb hds | usb3 | Dell U2711 + Wacom Cintiq 13" HD <<
chaosbunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2014, 03:44 PM   #615
TomTomTuning
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central PA
Hex 3.2 update from 2010 quad 2.8 photos new! CPU to use!

I recently purchased a used W3690, I scored it for just a tiny bit over $300. I didn't know about the X5xxx at the time but I doubt I would have been able to purchase one for nearly the same price. So far so good, I'm running 3x8gb RAM (for tri-channel) and it's plenty for now. I have another 8gb stick on stand by but benchmarks were slower due to no longer running in tri-channel.
__________________
2010 Mac Pro: Xeon W3690 3.46GHz Hex-Core, 3x8GB (24GB) 1333 RAM, 4GB GTX 680 FTW, 1TB SSD, AC & BT4
2010 15" MacBook Pro: 2.66GHz i7-620M Dual-Core, 4GB 1066 RAM, 1TB SSD

Last edited by TomTomTuning; Jul 28, 2014 at 08:01 AM.
TomTomTuning is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2014, 05:25 PM   #616
flowrider
macrumors 68000
 
flowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
^^^^Assuming you really W3690 like in your sig, not W3590 like in your post.

Lou
flowrider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2014, 07:59 AM   #617
TomTomTuning
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by flowrider View Post
^^^^Assuming you really W3690 like in your sig, not W3590 like in your post.

Lou

Yup, W3690. Corrected my post.
__________________
2010 Mac Pro: Xeon W3690 3.46GHz Hex-Core, 3x8GB (24GB) 1333 RAM, 4GB GTX 680 FTW, 1TB SSD, AC & BT4
2010 15" MacBook Pro: 2.66GHz i7-620M Dual-Core, 4GB 1066 RAM, 1TB SSD
TomTomTuning is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2014, 10:18 AM   #618
groycvg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
3.2 GHz Quad-Core 2010 Nehalem

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Consider getting an X5xxx as they will allow 64GB of RAM

The W3xxx have issues with 4th RAM slot
I just picked up a 3.2 GHz Quad-Core 2010 Nehalem. The X5675 would be a swap upgrade for the Quad core, right? And, have you guys seen much improvements in going to six-core like the X5675? Of course, dependent on what the use is... I was just thinking in general.

Thanks,
Greg
groycvg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2014, 11:32 AM   #619
omvs
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Since you've already got a 3.2ghz system, you probably won't notice a lot of improvement unless you have something thats seriously multi-threaded. Stuff like video encoding would show dramatic improvement though, but day-to-day tasks probably less noticeable. I had the base processor, so even my single-threaded performance increase was noticeable.

The hex cores are also a newer architecture which might have some benefits - I read somewhere that filevault will use cpu-based acceleration for the encryption on the hex core processors.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 2xHex 3.06Ghz, 24GB RAM, 1.7TB Fusion, GTX 680 (4GB)
2012 15" rMBP 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
omvs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2014, 01:04 PM   #620
groycvg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by omvs View Post
Since you've already got a 3.2ghz system, you probably won't notice a lot of improvement unless you have something thats seriously multi-threaded. Stuff like video encoding would show dramatic improvement though, but day-to-day tasks probably less noticeable. I had the base processor, so even my single-threaded performance increase was noticeable.

The hex cores are also a newer architecture which might have some benefits - I read somewhere that filevault will use cpu-based acceleration for the encryption on the hex core processors.
Thanks, that is what I thought. It looks like I can pick up a used one for around $220+. Might be something for later. I need Ram first. :-)

--
Greg
groycvg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2014, 04:55 PM   #621
rhett7660
macrumors 604
 
rhett7660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunny, Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by omvs View Post
Since you've already got a 3.2ghz system, you probably won't notice a lot of improvement unless you have something thats seriously multi-threaded. Stuff like video encoding would show dramatic improvement though, but day-to-day tasks probably less noticeable. I had the base processor, so even my single-threaded performance increase was noticeable.

The hex cores are also a newer architecture which might have some benefits - I read somewhere that filevault will use cpu-based acceleration for the encryption on the hex core processors.
Would you think I would see much of an improvement coming from the 2010 2.8? Looking at the X5675 since I have all my ram bunks full and want to be able to use them all.
__________________
"It's quite an experience to hold the hand of someone as they move from living to dead."
"Times are looking grim these days, holding on to everything, it's hard to draw the line"
rhett7660 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2014, 09:01 AM   #622
spacedcadet
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
2010 2.8 quad > 3.33 hex W3680

I've just done this upgrade. Really straightforward. Used W3680 cost me £180 or so from eBay including shipping to UK from USA. I was holding out for an X series, but then realised the cost of 64GB RAM wasn't justified for my workflow so happy to stick at 32GB.

In terms of performance improvement, it doesn't feel any snappier in day to day operations, but then why would it? SSDs make more difference in that respect.

Looking forward to doing some more intensive CPU heavy stuff in Photoshop soon where I expect it to shine. Also encoding video and audio.

Obviously the Geekbench score improves massively.

For the price I think it's worth it as software will always develop to take advantage of the extra cores and it's clocked faster than the 2.8 stock too.

A good upgrade to extend the life of a 2010 MacPro.
spacedcadet is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nMP Quad vs oMP Hex for Photoshop PJNanook Mac Pro 57 Jan 20, 2014 11:03 AM
Quad vs Hex TheKnifeFight Mac Pro 10 Dec 23, 2013 10:47 PM
New dual core CPU > older quad CPU? (for Logic) vladobizik MacBook Pro 28 Sep 9, 2013 02:17 PM
Mac Pro CPU Upgrado (Quad to Hex) Macquero Mac Pro 21 Feb 27, 2013 05:52 PM
Is it worth upgrade my 2009 4.1 quad 2.93ghz Mac Pro to Hex 3.33ghz? chiefroastbeef Mac Pro 16 Jul 19, 2012 03:01 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC