Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 24, 2010, 08:33 AM   #1
HyperX13
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
iPhone and phone calls over WiFi

I came from a black berry, where if you joined a wifi, your calls would route over the said wifi (tmobile). I was under the impression that when an iPhone is connected to WiFi and you make a call, you are making it also under wifi. Case in point, my house has no 3g or edge coverage in the basement. Since I installed wifi and connected my iphone to wifi I can make calls without issue.

A friend told me all voice calls are made over Edge or 3g and have nothing to do with wifi.

So which is it? Anyone know.

I am not talking skype. I am talking the native iPhone app for calls.

Thanks!
__________________
HyperX13
HyperX13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 08:36 AM   #2
shandyman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newbury, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperX13 View Post
I came from a black berry, where if you joined a wifi, your calls would route over the said wifi (tmobile). I was under the impression that when an iPhone is connected to WiFi and you make a call, you are making it also under wifi. Case in point, my house has no 3g or edge coverage in the basement. Since I installed wifi and connected my iphone to wifi I can make calls without issue.

A friend told me all voice calls are made over Edge or 3g and have nothing to do with wifi.

So which is it? Anyone know.

I am not talking skype. I am talking the native iPhone app for calls.

Thanks!
i've never heard of native calls over wifi, calls are over edge, 3G or just the basic 2G network.
shandyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 08:37 AM   #3
yg17
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
All voice calls via the native iPhone app go over the cellular network. It's impossible to make calls over WiFi with it.
__________________
Barack Obama is not a foreign born, brown skinned, anti-war socialist who gives away healthcare. You're thinking of Jesus.
yg17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 08:39 AM   #4
HyperX13
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by yg17 View Post
All voice calls via the native iPhone app go over the cellular network. It's impossible to make calls over WiFi with it.
But yet facetime makes the call over wifi right? Does it sync the two networks?
__________________
HyperX13
HyperX13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 08:41 AM   #5
yg17
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperX13 View Post
But yet facetime makes the call over wifi right? Does it sync the two networks?
Facetime uses WiFi. But if you're not using Facetime, then you're not using WiFi. Period.
__________________
Barack Obama is not a foreign born, brown skinned, anti-war socialist who gives away healthcare. You're thinking of Jesus.
yg17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 08:43 AM   #6
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperX13 View Post
I came from a black berry, where if you joined a wifi, your calls would route over the said wifi (tmobile). I was under the impression that when an iPhone is connected to WiFi and you make a call, you are making it also under wifi.
That is a feature that some phones support on T-Mobile (it's called UMA).

The iPhone doesn't support that feature, and the iPhone isn't available on T-Mobile in the USA.

All voice calls go over the cellular network unless you are using a third party App like Skype.
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 09:43 AM   #7
zhenya
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
As noted, this tech had nothing to do with your blackberry (other than being a compatible device), and everything to do with your provider. AT&T does not offer this service exactly, but they may provide you with a free microcell if you call and describe your situation. This would route your calls at home over the internet, but doesn't give you coverage via any wifi like T-Mobile's UMA.
zhenya is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 09:44 AM   #8
HyperX13
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by zhenya View Post
As noted, this tech had nothing to do with your blackberry (other than being a compatible device), and everything to do with your provider. AT&T does not offer this service exactly, but they may provide you with a free microcell if you call and describe your situation. This would route your calls at home over the internet, but doesn't give you coverage via any wifi like T-Mobile's UMA.
I wonder then why I drop calls sometimes when I leave my home and switch from wifi to 3g. I always thought my calls are routed like UMA... I was way off...
__________________
HyperX13
HyperX13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 10:33 AM   #9
Jnardis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Not sure if this will help. I heard a few good reviews about it.

http://www.wireless.att.com/learn/why/3gmicrocell/
Jnardis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 10:42 AM   #10
View
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Some of the T-Mobile BlackBerries have the so-called UMA calling which reroutes the call via a Wifi network. Sadly, it's not supported by either AT&T nor Apple iOS platform.
View is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 10:43 AM   #11
LSUMaze
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jnardis View Post
Not sure if this will help. I heard a few good reviews about it.

http://www.wireless.att.com/learn/why/3gmicrocell/
It's horrible, don't waste your money.. Unless you're gonna keep it in your lap all the time, cause if you're more than 5 ft away it starts skipping and you won't hear any of the caller's conversation...
LSUMaze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 10:44 AM   #12
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperX13 View Post
I wonder then why I drop calls sometimes when I leave my home and switch from wifi to 3g. I always thought my calls are routed like UMA... I was way off...
Probably because the signal from the cellular network (3G or 2G) is better in your home than it is outside.
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 11:05 AM   #13
Jnardis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSUMaze View Post
It's horrible, don't waste your money.. Unless you're gonna keep it in your lap all the time, cause if you're more than 5 ft away it starts skipping and you won't hear any of the caller's conversation...
Wow, I read a ton of review that said 40ft was about the range where they started to have trouble. 5ft is pretty much terrible IMO. Has anyone else on the forum used this thing? More reviews would be helpful.
Jnardis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 07:20 AM   #14
DannyHibbard
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Talking RE: iPhone and phone calls over WiFi

If you want to make calls over WiFi, but want to call any phone, then there is a great app available. It's called the friendly Wifi Dialer.

Android:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...bS5kaWFsMDAiXQ..

Apple:
https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/wifi...8&ign-mpt=uo=4

The rates are great, 1.4p/minute to UK landlines.

I use it every day as I work in an office with poor signal.

You even get 10 minutes of free credit to try it out.

Check it out at http://www.friendly.co.uk.

The only thing is, you need an introducing agent code to sign up. If you like the look of it, use agent code FONE on sign up.

Hope this helps.

Danny
DannyHibbard is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5 - No Audio During Phone Calls? jclardy iPhone 10 May 13, 2014 11:16 PM
Can you make phone calls with iphone with just wifi? pauly1 iPhone 7 Feb 22, 2014 08:20 AM
For phone calls and texting, is the iPhone 5S better than the 5? braddick iPhone 10 Jan 6, 2014 08:37 PM
iPhone making phone calls itself. rei101 iPhone 6 Jul 10, 2013 06:17 AM
iPhone 4S cutting out during phone calls dannyo92 iPhone 1 Dec 7, 2012 01:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC