Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

keithos27

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 17, 2006
Hi there.

I'm relatively new to the Mac Pro world and was playing around with the different ordering configurations available.

Can someone please explain the difference (along with any associated pros and cons) of getting one 3.33 GHz 6-core (6 cores) vs two 2.4 GHz 4-cores (8 cores)? The 6-core option is actually $383 more expensive. I guess what I'm trying to figure out is what are the pros/cons of having one chip that is faster (with less cores) vs two chips that are slower (but more cores)?

I wouldn't be using this desktop for anything processor intensive at the moment... let's just assume some audio processing/editing with some minor graphics use (Adobe Photoshop).

Does one configuration lend itself better to a casual user vs a user that processes a lot of data (ex. video, audio, etc)? I'm wondering if having one chip that is faster is better suited for my needs?

Thank you,
Keith :)

CaoCao

macrumors 6502a
Jul 27, 2010
assuming perfect multithreading the hexacore is slightly more powerful, considering that the hexacore is much faster for most people the hexacore is better

keithos27

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 17, 2006
thank you caocao for the quick response.

could you possibly explain "perfect multithreading" as i'm not familiar with what you mean?

am i to assume that most programs out there would not take advantage of these mutlicores? i'm not entirely sure what 6 cores vs 8 cores really means to be honest. is it basically telling the operating system (and any applications that support it) that there are 6 brains vs 8?

thanks,
keith

CaoCao

macrumors 6502a
Jul 27, 2010
thank you caocao for the quick response.

could you possibly explain "perfect multithreading" as i'm not familiar with what you mean?