Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

psymac

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 17, 2002
Sorry, I'm new at all this streaming video and internet TV, but wonder if its time ditch my over $70 a month cable bill and go with some type of Mac and/or Apple TV (or iTV) solution with perhaps Netflix and Hulu.

I have a LG Blue Ray DVD player (with ethernet network input, has Netflix ability built in), JVC flat screen TV, and an older Mac Mini (Core 2 Duo). The questions have are

1) Do I need to upgrade the newest Mac Mini to use it as my internet access for Netflix/Hulu as well as use as a DVR? Or can I use my current Mini with an adapter (from display to HDMI with a separate audio cable) to connect to my HDMI port on my DVD player?

2) Do I need any special software to do this? I'm using DirectTV now with an older DirectTV Tivo DVR, will my potential setup be able to have Tivo like ability?

2) Can I use my iphone 3G as a remote, or would it be better to use a bluetooth keyboard?

3) Not sure how to do OTA TV, do I just need a special antenna for this?

4) As far as I can tell, I don't think I need an Apple TV (or iTV), as I don't really use iTunes that much and don't think iTunes offers much more than Netflix or Hulu, am I wrong about that?

5) Any other solution that I haven't thought of that might be more elegant or easier?

My main goal is to remove cable, and watch shows on the internet (e.g. HBO, Daily Show, Cartoon Network) as well as from Netflix and/or Hulu. Hope to keeping my cost down to about $20 a month or so, as well to record some shows for later viewing.

Thanks!

waw74

macrumors 601
May 27, 2008
1. Chances are, the older mini will be fine. you can use it, then if it doesn't work, upgrade later. I just upgraded, but mainly to play 1080 video files.