Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 7, 2004, 12:50 AM   #1
Pugdawg1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elko, Nevada
Send a message via AIM to Pugdawg1 Send a message via Yahoo to Pugdawg1
Posting a picture.

Since I've found this awesome site, I thought I'd ask another question. I am here on my imac g4, and I prefer to use Netscape 7.2 to putter around on the net. I am on a couple other forums that look very much like this one, with the little tool bar for the font, and the yellow box to insert a picture, put in a link, etc. But I apparently am not doing something correct when I want to insert a picture into a post. I am on a pug dog forum and often there are times when I'd like to insert a picture of my little snorters in a post. Do I click on the picture (in their photo album they have online), and then click Copy Image Location?
Not sure if that is right or wrong.
I have tried highlighting the http etc line, then clicking copy, then coming back, clicking on the yellow box. But then a box come down saying Enter the Text to be Formatted, but it wont let me go back to Edit to select Paste while that box is there. I'm just curious what I am doing wrong?
Pugdawg1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2004, 02:48 AM   #2
evil_santa
macrumors 6502a
 
evil_santa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, England
you can click on the inset image icon and input the url of the image you want to show, or use the Attach Files box below "Submit Rely" button.

I put my images onto my .mac web folder then use the insert image method.

your file will be something like file:///Volumes/yourname/Sites/image.jpg

& its url will be http://homepage.mac.com/yourname/image.jpg
evil_santa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2004, 01:20 AM   #3
puckhead193
macrumors G3
 
puckhead193's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
If i use "Grab" to post an image of the desktop it saves it as a TIFF file, how do i go about changing it so i can post it on the site
__________________
nMP - 6 core, D700s, 32 gig, 1 TB, NEC PA272W
20" iMac C2D
17" MBP i7
iPod Touch, 64 GB iPhone 5, 64 GB iPad 3
puckhead193 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2004, 10:59 AM   #4
Capt Underpants
macrumors 68030
 
Capt Underpants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by puckhead193
If i use "Grab" to post an image of the desktop it saves it as a TIFF file, how do i go about changing it so i can post it on the site
Open it in graphic converter and save it as a jpeg instead of a tiff. Make sure that, under options, the the size of the picture can be no more than 99 Kb.
__________________
Love.
Capt Underpants is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2004, 12:22 PM   #5
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by puckhead193
If i use "Grab" to post an image of the desktop it saves it as a TIFF file, how do i go about changing it so i can post it on the site
...or better: use Preview which you'll find in the Dock (or Applications if you have dragged it of the Dock).
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2004, 02:12 PM   #6
wdlove
macrumors 604
 
wdlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by evil_santa
you can click on the inset image icon and input the url of the image you want to show, or use the Attach Files box below "Submit Rely" button.

I put my images onto my .mac web folder then use the insert image method.

your file will be something like file:///Volumes/yourname/Sites/image.jpg

& its url will be http://homepage.mac.com/yourname/image.jpg
My wife uses her .Mac a lot to store images and picture. Using slideshow is awesome.
__________________
First MacRumors "Contributor"
wdlove is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2004, 02:21 PM   #7
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
It just fits this thread...



__________________
edesignuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2004, 06:56 AM   #8
5300cs
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: japan
Dear __

Let's bash the newbie. Not like I was one at one point or anything.
__________________
5300cs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2004, 07:18 AM   #9
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5300cs
Dear __

Let's bash the newbie. Not like I was one at one point or anything.
Who's bashing the newbie? People have helped, and I just posted a funny pic that was kinda relevant
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2004, 07:23 AM   #10
Dont Hurt Me
macrumors 603
 
Dont Hurt Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Yahooville S.C.
Quote:
Originally Posted by edesignuk
Who's bashing the newbie? People have helped, and I just posted a funny pic that was kinda relevant
I enjoyed it just a lil fun ......wish there was a easy to do it on a PC.
__________________
Those that give up Liberty to have temporary Security deserve Neither......Benjamin Franklin.
Dont Hurt Me is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2004, 12:18 PM   #11
CaptainCaveMann
macrumors 68000
 
CaptainCaveMann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5300cs
Dear __

Let's bash the newbie. Not like I was one at one point or anything.
That was cool you stuck up for the newbie
__________________
I give up caring. Apple disappoints me every Tuesday. Looks like I'm going to Alienware. At least their computers can glow red. -TantalizedMind
CaptainCaveMann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2004, 12:33 PM   #12
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dont Hurt Me
I enjoyed it just a lil fun ......wish there was a easy to do it on a PC.
On a PC, the easiest way to get a web-friendly screen dump is this:

Grab the screen to the clipboard with the print screen key, and then open MS Paint and paste it in and save it as a JPEG. Actually I find it somewhat easier than the standard MacOS way, since you don't have to go through a PDF intermediary really... I guess I could just keep a paint program handy that I could drop the image into on my Mac from the clipboard, but MS Paint does load very very fast. This in itself is a good reason to drop Paint into the quick launch icon segment of the start bar....

Or were you talking about making fun of newbies, cuz I think that's just as easy from a Mac as from a PC?
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Star Wars Empire at War - Picture-in-picture GFX Glitch swwack91 Mac and PC Games 7 May 15, 2014 07:04 AM
Picture in Picture zoom on SL? WillFisher OS X 0 May 11, 2013 05:44 PM
iMovie 'picture in picture' image size question shuffles Mac Basics and Help 6 Jan 18, 2013 11:48 AM
Picture-In-Picture-Out Multitasking for iOS 212rikanmofo iOS 6 2 Oct 17, 2012 08:15 AM
How to make multiple Picture-In-Picture with iMovie VinegarTasters Digital Video 7 Sep 2, 2012 11:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC