Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

vtprinz

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 30, 2004
I was previously looking at the 20" iMac but now I'm thinking about getting the Dual 1.8 PM. Unfortunately anything near the caliber of the iMacs display will be pretty pricey, and I'll already be spending $2200 on the PM. So with that in mind, does anyone have a recommendation for a monitor in the $200 range? Maybe $300 if really necessary. I'm a serious amateur photographer, so it needs to be decent, but I know it's not going to compare to a Cinema Display or anything like that. Just something sharp, bright, and with as high of a resolution as possible.

What do you think?

-Mark

cluthz

macrumors 68040
Jun 15, 2004
Norway
vtprinz said:
I was previously looking at the 20" iMac but now I'm thinking about getting the Dual 1.8 PM. Unfortunately anything near the caliber of the iMacs display will be pretty pricey, and I'll already be spending $2200 on the PM. So with that in mind, does anyone have a recommendation for a monitor in the $200 range? Maybe $300 if really necessary. I'm a serious amateur photographer, so it needs to be decent, but I know it's not going to compare to a Cinema Display or anything like that. Just something sharp, bright, and with as high of a resolution as possible.

What do you think?

-Mark

Get a CRT. You should get a good 19" crt for about $200-300. I've seen Viewsonics, NECs and Samsungs 19 inchers for about $250.
Lowend LCD displays are not very good, but you can get good 17" for a little over $300.

( The Dell FW2005 20 inch LCD is also a stunning value, but it unfortunately costs about $600, but its better than the iMacs builtin 20".)

Littleodie914

macrumors 68000
Jun 9, 2004
Rochester, NY