Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 8, 2004, 01:14 AM   #1
Patriot787
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Cool How to transfer files from old G3 to iMacG5

I have an old Power Mac G3 266 Mhz that, originally didn't have any USB ports. I upgraded the G3 to a 500 Mhz processor and added 2 USB ports. Note: there is no Fire Wire on this old G3. Now, I just bought an iMac G5 20". Here's the question: How do I transfer all my important files from the G3 to the iMac G5?? Do I have to buy an external hard drive that has SCSI connectivity, and then transfer the files from A to B to C? Or, is there any other way to do it? Please keep in mind, I am not a techie, so keep it simple!
Thanks!!
Patriot787 is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2004, 01:32 AM   #2
maya
macrumors 68040
 
maya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: somewhere between here and there.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriot787
I have an old Power Mac G3 266 Mhz that, originally didn't have any USB ports. I upgraded the G3 to a 500 Mhz processor and added 2 USB ports. Note: there is no Fire Wire on this old G3. Now, I just bought an iMac G5 20". Here's the question: How do I transfer all my important files from the G3 to the iMac G5?? Do I have to buy an external hard drive that has SCSI connectivity, and then transfer the files from A to B to C? Or, is there any other way to do it? Please keep in mind, I am not a techie, so keep it simple!
Thanks!!
All you need is the Firewire cables attached from the imac to your powerbook start up the powerbook in firewire mode hold command T and sync.

When you start up your iMac for the first time it should give you the option to do this.
__________________
~V~

:. it's here!!! .:
maya is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2004, 01:34 AM   #3
advres
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boston
Send a message via AIM to advres Send a message via Skype™ to advres
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriot787
I have an old Power Mac G3 266 Mhz that, originally didn't have any USB ports. I upgraded the G3 to a 500 Mhz processor and added 2 USB ports. Note: there is no Fire Wire on this old G3. Now, I just bought an iMac G5 20". Here's the question: How do I transfer all my important files from the G3 to the iMac G5?? Do I have to buy an external hard drive that has SCSI connectivity, and then transfer the files from A to B to C? Or, is there any other way to do it? Please keep in mind, I am not a techie, so keep it simple!
Thanks!!
Does your old G3 have a ethernet port? Why not network them together via an ethernet cable and just copy files over that way?
advres is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2004, 01:39 AM   #4
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by m a y a
All you need is the Firewire cables attached from the imac to your powerbook start up the powerbook in firewire mode hold command T and sync.

When you start up your iMac for the first time it should give you the option to do this.

FFS: Read the post.
No firewire...

You could try an A-A USB cable like this althought it might be really slow... haven't used one myself so no personal guarantee.

Or you could take the G3s IDE hard-drive out, put it into a firewire enclosure (case) and connect it that way.
Blue Velvet is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2004, 02:02 AM   #5
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Ethernet port

Just buy an ethernet cable.
Network the two together.
Drag and drop.
Done.
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2012 11.6" 2.0ghz i7 MacBook Air, 2.26 C2D Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2004, 02:13 AM   #6
Windowlicker
macrumors 6502a
 
Windowlicker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Finland
Yes, definitely go with Ethernet. Just turn on file sharing on the iMac and connect the G3 to it --> drag and drop.

If this gets too complicated, you can always get a firewire PCI-card for your G3 and start up the iMac in target disc mode (by pressing T on startup) and it will mount the iMac's HD on your G3 --> drag and drop.

You should be fine with the first option though.
__________________
I was elected to lead, not to read.
Windowlicker is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2004, 05:04 AM   #7
Jo-Kun
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Antwerp-Belgium
try ethernet, but be sure to get a crosslink cable, MacOSX says it doesn't need crossed anymore, but I had some trouble with that so to be on the safe side I think your ethernet on the G3 is still10Mbps so it will be as fast (or slow) as USB I guess...

or get an enclosure for the drive, but I do remember the G3 cases to be somewhat annoying to open and remove a drive...

or third option: do you know anyone who has a USB1.1/2 external drive?
just use that one for the transfer, so youdon't need to buy anything (exept some beers as thank you )

PS: your iMac has no SCSI so buying a SCSI drive would be a waste of money...
__________________
G5 2x1.8Ghz,CrapBook CoreDuo,Macmini 1.5G4;iPod 3g 30GB,Shuffle 1GB,Nano 8GB;iPod Touch 2nd gen 8GB; iPad 16GB;AirPort Extreme-Nhttp://www.jovdm.be
Jo-Kun is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2004, 06:29 AM   #8
AmigoMac
macrumors 68020
 
AmigoMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: l'Allemagne
You could get an USB floppy reader and transfer your files via floppy disks...
J/K

Ethernet is the solution.
__________________
No Mac no fun...
AmigoMac is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to transfer apps from old account to new one? petrucci666 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 May 11, 2011 02:56 AM
how to transfer data from old HD to new one? davidnssbm Mac Pro 13 Aug 3, 2010 01:42 PM
How to transfer files from old MB to new Graygirl MacBook 2 Nov 22, 2009 11:19 AM
How to transfer files from old iBook to new Macbk Pro mpqtpie PowerPC Macs 2 Sep 11, 2009 09:27 PM
How to transfer info from old mac to new macbook? tim2006 MacBook 4 Oct 15, 2008 06:46 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC