Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Old Dec 8, 2004, 01:14 AM   #1
Patriot787
macrumors newbie

Cool How to transfer files from old G3 to iMacG5

I have an old Power Mac G3 266 Mhz that, originally didn't have any USB ports. I upgraded the G3 to a 500 Mhz processor and added 2 USB ports. Note: there is no Fire Wire on this old G3. Now, I just bought an iMac G5 20". Here's the question: How do I transfer all my important files from the G3 to the iMac G5?? Do I have to buy an external hard drive that has SCSI connectivity, and then transfer the files from A to B to C? Or, is there any other way to do it? Please keep in mind, I am not a techie, so keep it simple!
Thanks!!
Patriot787 is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2004, 01:32 AM   #2
maya
macrumors 68040

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriot787
I have an old Power Mac G3 266 Mhz that, originally didn't have any USB ports. I upgraded the G3 to a 500 Mhz processor and added 2 USB ports. Note: there is no Fire Wire on this old G3. Now, I just bought an iMac G5 20". Here's the question: How do I transfer all my important files from the G3 to the iMac G5?? Do I have to buy an external hard drive that has SCSI connectivity, and then transfer the files from A to B to C? Or, is there any other way to do it? Please keep in mind, I am not a techie, so keep it simple!
Thanks!!
All you need is the Firewire cables attached from the imac to your powerbook start up the powerbook in firewire mode hold command T and sync.

When you start up your iMac for the first time it should give you the option to do this.

:. it's here!!! .:
maya is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2004, 01:34 AM   #3
advres

Send a message via AIM to advres Send a message via Skype™ to advres
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriot787
Thanks!!
Does your old G3 have a ethernet port? Why not network them together via an ethernet cable and just copy files over that way?