Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 28, 2010, 09:39 PM   #1
SCSnare
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Airport Extreme + Static & Dynamic IPs?

A couple of friends and I are moving into a new office on Monday and when we got the cable internet setup, we decided to get 5 Static IPs from our ISP.

Before the move, we were all using wifi from one of the other guy's Airport Extreme. Our new office doesn't have any ethernet outlets installed, so the internet is coming through a cable outlet and connected to the router the ISP provided us. Our plan is to just hook up the Airport Extreme to the router and use the wifi from that. I've read up on how to get the Airport Extreme to just pass along the Static IPs to the computers we assign them to, but I was curious as to whether or not the Airport Extreme can still distribute Dynamic IPs to other devices.

The reason I'm asking is because there are 4 people in the office, but we also occasionally use our laptops and have visitors come over that might need to use wifi. So my plan was to assign the Airport Extreme one of the Static IPs, and then pass along the other 4 Static IPs to each of our desktops, and (this is where I'm uncertain if it works like this) let the Airport Extreme assign Dynamic IPs to any other devices that might want to connect to the network.

Anyone have any experience with a situation like this? Will it work like I have described above, or do I have to choose between Static IPs only or Dynamic IPs only?
SCSnare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2010, 09:48 PM   #2
bruinsrme
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Every router I have set up, from the $40 linksys to the $180 can handle static and dynamic configurations simultaneously.

Although if I was setting up a wifi network I would also set access by MAC address.
bruinsrme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2010, 09:51 PM   #3
Corndog5595
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruinsrme View Post
Every router I have set up, from the $40 linksys to the $180 can handle static and dynamic configurations simultaneously.

Although if I was setting up a wifi network I would also set access by MAC address.
so you must be the one that made everyones iPod touches stop working at my high school.
hmm...
Corndog5595 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2010, 10:18 PM   #4
SCSnare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruinsrme View Post
Every router I have set up, from the $40 linksys to the $180 can handle static and dynamic configurations simultaneously.

Although if I was setting up a wifi network I would also set access by MAC address.
I know how to set static IPs that are created by the router along with allowing dynamic IPs created by the router (ex. 192.168.1.101, 192.168.1.102, etc.), but I've never had experience with Static IPs assigned by the ISP (72.177.1.174, 72.177.1.175, etc.) along with Dynamic IPs (192.168.1.101, etc.) created by the router.

Is it as simple as just typing in the Static IPs from our ISP and assigning it to the individual MAC addresses of our desktops, and then the Airport Extreme will automatically assign its own generated IPs to other devices?
SCSnare is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dynamic or Static Wallpapers sird28 iOS 7 20 Sep 26, 2013 02:35 AM
Do i have a dynamic or a static IP? AppleTalker OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 14 Aug 28, 2013 08:36 PM
Dynamic Vs. Static Wallpapers sird28 iOS 7 6 Aug 6, 2013 11:06 AM
Airport Extreme (Time Capsule) ping reports IPs outside of range eternalife Mac Peripherals 1 Apr 27, 2013 03:30 PM
Running multiple ISP Static IP's off Airport Extreme fxscreamer Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 1 Jan 14, 2013 05:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC