Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 2, 2010, 07:44 AM   #1
i.yalovecky
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
NSTreeNode and NSCoder

Can i encode and decode my NSTreeNode tree with NSCoder?
i.yalovecky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 07:46 AM   #2
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Have you tried?
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 07:54 AM   #3
i.yalovecky
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I don't know how.

The best way for me:
[self.constantsView.rootTreeNode setObjectValue:[aDecoder decodeObject]];
[aCoder encodeObject:[self.constantsView.rootTreeNode objectValue]];

But nothing like objectValue there. I construct tree from plist, i can do reverse and after decoder and encode strings, but still hope for something easier way.
i.yalovecky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 07:56 AM   #4
i.yalovecky
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I read about NSCoder compliant, i need to subclass NSTreeNode or better convert it to source string?
i.yalovecky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 07:58 AM   #5
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
The simple answer is that NSTreeNode does not confirm to NSCoding (as you could easily have seen by looking at the documentation). As such it cannot be encoded using a NSCoder.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 09:22 AM   #6
i.yalovecky
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Ok, i convert my tree into plist NSString and encode it and decode it, but how now i can initialize NSDictionary with string? Because initially my tree initialized from plist through dictionary.

Quote:
Originally Posted by i.yalovecky View Post
Ok, i convert my tree into plist NSString and encode it and decode it, but how now i can initialize NSDictionary with string? Because initially my tree initialized from plist through dictionary.
i decide to convert my Tree into Dictionary firstly. So i dont need convertation from string to dictionary.

Last edited by annk; Sep 2, 2010 at 12:08 PM. Reason: Merged two consecutive posts
i.yalovecky is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC