Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 2, 2010, 06:47 PM   #1
ipedro
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
AppleTV 1: Leopard iTunes server?

I'm planning to eventually get the new AppleTV but my home is completely laptop based and I don't want to have to keep my MacBookPro open with iTunes running just to operate my TV (I use tv exclusively, don't have cable).

My solution to this, without having to buy a Mac Mini just for this purpose is to convert the AppleTV into a very low powered Mac with just one purpose: to run iTunes and stream to the new AppleTV's that I'll scatter around my home.

1 - Is it possible to install a functioning OSX Leopard?
2 - Would it run efficiently, given it wouldn't be used for any other purpose?
__________________
iMac 27" i7 | MacBook Pro 17" 2009 | iPhone5 | iPad Air | tv | Time Capsule
ipedro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 06:50 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
With only 256Mb of ram the 1G Apple TV would be very tight for Leopard. I think it'll work but some things like the sound out won't.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 06:57 PM   #3
ipedro
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
Will iTunes 10 run on Tiger? I really don't care about the OS because I won't be seeing it. I just need it to run the latest iTunes so it can stream content to the new tv.
__________________
iMac 27" i7 | MacBook Pro 17" 2009 | iPhone5 | iPad Air | tv | Time Capsule
ipedro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 07:10 PM   #4
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
iTunes 10 cannot run on Tiger.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 07:29 PM   #5
8CoreWhore
macrumors 68000
 
8CoreWhore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Big D
I know you wrote you don't want a Mac Mini.... but that with Server running would be perfect for an aTV as well as sharing all kinds of stuff.

Does anyone know if FreeNAS on an old/cheap computer would work?
__________________
Late 2013 Haswell 15" rMBP... iPhone 5S iOS7... AEBS 802.11AC ... iPod Shuffle...
8CoreWhore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2010, 03:45 AM   #6
potatis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
I was myself thinking of doing this, but with an old G4 Cube, fanless and all. Could be leaved on all the time.
potatis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 07:43 PM   #7
ipedro
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
I'm reviving this as I've now found the steps to do this. I've disassembled my AppleTV and found that the HDD is IDE, not SATA so I'll have to go find an old IDE to USB cable or enclosure. These are becoming scarce and 2.5" IDE hard driver are hard to find.

Nonetheless, the final result will be a quiet, slim and Apple branded device containing my entire iTunes library. iTunes Match will allow me to delete my library from my Mac and play back via iCloud on my MacBook Pro, iPad, iPhone and AppleTV2 with the only hard copy being on the new iTunes server.

I can't wait to get started!
__________________
iMac 27" i7 | MacBook Pro 17" 2009 | iPhone5 | iPad Air | tv | Time Capsule

Last edited by ipedro; Jan 12, 2012 at 08:14 PM.
ipedro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 08:30 PM   #8
potatis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
I've done the same thing, but have yet to buy another tv. I use it for downloading stuff, works fine unless you try to run more than one application at a time due to low RAM. Hopefully it will be able to cope with a large iTunes library. Apparently you can also install Leopard via a USB stick, but I pulled out the hard drive and used a IDE to USB cable.
potatis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 11:10 PM   #9
ipedro
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
Thanks for your feedback. I plan to turn off apps, books, podcasts, ping, genius, and other functions other than Music, Movies and TV Shows to get iTunes to consume as little memory as possible.

Because I have iTunes Match, essentially, it'll be a physical backup of my library. I'll be playing most of my content from iCloud on an iPad, iPhone and AppleTV 2. So really, the iTunes server won't be doing much other than sitting there, and downloading any new content that I purchase on the other devices.

The only time it'll do any heavy lifting will be when I play movies via AppleTV and that'll probably change once Apple brings iTunes in the cloud to movies.

Back to the process of changing the AppleTV into an iTunes server. I just purchased this: http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...926&CatId=3770

Once it arrives, I'll be copying an image of an optimized Leopard DMG and then reinstalling it in the AppleTV. I'll run it via screen sharing from my Mac.
__________________
iMac 27" i7 | MacBook Pro 17" 2009 | iPhone5 | iPad Air | tv | Time Capsule
ipedro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 11:13 PM   #10
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Note: The Apple TV cannot run an unmodified Leopard OS. It needs a kernel patch to at least boot and some extension changes to work correctly.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2012, 01:31 AM   #11
MultiFinder17
macrumors 65816
 
MultiFinder17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Good luck mate! I installed Leopard on my old AppleTV a while back, and while it doesn't run anywhere near acceptably for a daily use machine, it makes a great light-duty, set-it-and-forget-it server. With 802.11b/g/n wifi and gigabit ethernet, you should be able to get all of your media anywhere you need it in a heartbeat.
__________________
2011 iMac, iMac G5, 2012 13" rMBP, ThinkPad X200, iPad mini, iPhone 5.
"...But there is one more thing - your patience was worth it. Introducing the PowerBook G5!" - Steve Jobs Hologram @ WWDC 2014
MultiFinder17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2012, 01:45 AM   #12
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
The Apple TV only has 100 megabit Ethernet.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2012, 02:03 AM   #13
GimmeSlack12
macrumors 603
 
GimmeSlack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
I inherited an AppleTV 1 and put 10.5 on it. Pretty lame, it can run about one thing at a time and not very well. I wouldn't get too excited about your idea, it just isn't very fast hardware.
__________________
iMac 24" iBook G4 iPhone 4 iPod 80Gb
GimmeSlack12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2012, 01:35 AM   #14
ipedro
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
I'm done!

Here's the setup:





AppleTV 1 fits perfectly below a Time Capsule, with AppleTV 2 beside them both.

With AppleTV 2 serving as the UI, under Computers, I see my iTunes server (an AppleTV 1 in its former life) and my MacBookPro.

The AppleTV 1 isn't connected to the TV (for now) as I have no use for it to be. I manage everything via Screen Sharing from my MacBookPro. If I connected it to the TV, I could also access my media with FrontRow.

While the 256MB limits the options of using the AppleTV 1 as a full computer, it certainly has enough to run iTunes. I've turned off Podcasts, Apps, Books, and Ping since I won't be actively using iTunes as a front end UI. Instead, I will do all my music, TV and movie purchases on my iPhone, iPad and AppleTV 2 with iCloud taking care of downloading it to my iTunes server for safe keeping and the occasional sync and/or organizing.

I've turned OSX into a very basic OS with nearly everything turned off to allow iTunes to run unhindered. It is a pitty that Apple decided to use such a small amount of RAM. With its capable 1Ghz processor and 1GB of RAM, this could have been quite a nice little multi purpose Mac. Nonetheless, it serves the purpose I intended for it very capably.

In the future, I'm going to look into the possibility of connecting my EyeTV. Right now, I'm happy to be purchasing my TV shows, renting my Movies and using Netflix for occasional tv watching but sometimes the odd tv event happens that isn't available on any of those platforms so a PVR will come in handy.
__________________
iMac 27" i7 | MacBook Pro 17" 2009 | iPhone5 | iPad Air | tv | Time Capsule
ipedro is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2012, 02:21 AM   #15
CocoaPuffs
macrumors 68010
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Aren't you afraid that ATV might burn down the house?
CocoaPuffs is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2012, 03:10 AM   #16
ipedro
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by CocoaPuffs View Post
Aren't you afraid that ATV might burn down the house?
Ironically, it ran much hotter when it was an AppleTV with what looks like a much more basic OS. It's warm right now, but nowhere near any cause for concern. I was worried about putting the TimeCapsule on top of the AppleTV but the rubber gives them enough insulation between each other that there doesn't appear that there will ever be a problem.

The one issue --unrelated to heat-- that I've found is that even though I've disabled infrared remotes in the Security preference menu, my AppleTV2 remote is still turning on FrontRow on the AppleTV1. I might have to open up the AppleTV again to pull the wire for the infrared receiver.
__________________
iMac 27" i7 | MacBook Pro 17" 2009 | iPhone5 | iPad Air | tv | Time Capsule
ipedro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2012, 09:56 AM   #17
CylonGlitch
macrumors 68030
 
CylonGlitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SoCal
I converted my ATV1 to an ATV1-Server about 6 to 8 months ago. Works great! Not a speed demon by a long shot but it work and works well. I have 700 or so movies, 500 TV shows, and 20,000+ songs. It doesn't scroll through them super fast, but it does do it. iTunes runs fine on it as well. This is the main feed to everything in my house.

Now I'm still considering a MacMini as the main server; I'd like to bring it in-house and do all my email and website hosting . . . but that's a different issue. I'll get this setup once my company is off the ground.
__________________
Last edited by CylonGlitch : Tomorrow at 37:05 AM.
MRoogle
CylonGlitch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2012, 02:26 AM   #18
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
I speak from experience when I say the Apple TV doesn't have enough power to run an EyeTV.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2012, 08:26 PM   #19
CocoaPuffs
macrumors 68010
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I had some free time and decided to turn my ATV1 into iTunes server instead of buying a dedicated Mac Mini.

As it turns out, I only needed about 15 - 20 minutes to have it up and running. Easy as pie!
CocoaPuffs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2012, 02:36 AM   #20
CocoaPuffs
macrumors 68010
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
However, it seems that ATV doesn't like to mount my external hard drive, anyone with similar issue?

I got it to mount a few times, but it's on and off. The drive is fine, and it is AC-powered.
CocoaPuffs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2012, 07:29 AM   #21
potatis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipedro View Post
The one issue --unrelated to heat-- that I've found is that even though I've disabled infrared remotes in the Security preference menu, my AppleTV2 remote is still turning on FrontRow on the AppleTV1. I might have to open up the AppleTV again to pull the wire for the infrared receiver.
You can use the TV remote programmed to the AppleTV and put away the Apple remote?
potatis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2012, 10:02 AM   #22
CylonGlitch
macrumors 68030
 
CylonGlitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by CocoaPuffs View Post
However, it seems that ATV doesn't like to mount my external hard drive, anyone with similar issue?

I got it to mount a few times, but it's on and off. The drive is fine, and it is AC-powered.
I could not get it to mount if there was a hub in the path; but if I plugged the drive in directly I had no problems. Not a huge problem (for me) . . . yet.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by potatis View Post
You can use the TV remote programmed to the AppleTV and put away the Apple remote?
I believe the modulation is completely different. I just disabled the remote control on the laptop. I've never used it so didn't feel like I lost anything.
__________________
Last edited by CylonGlitch : Tomorrow at 37:05 AM.
MRoogle
CylonGlitch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2012, 05:24 PM   #23
ipedro
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
Remotes don't seem to want to pair with Leopard on AppleTV. I also disabled it in the Security preferences menu but the remote still worked. I did find a Terminal command that turns off the IR pref file and that seems to have worked.

With regards to mounting external drives, I've had no issue with that at all. I have a 1TB WesternDigital plugged in all the time as my iTunes Library. The 160GB in the AppleTV didn't cut it and IDE 2.5" drives are way too expensive for what I'm using it for. If only the AppleTV were SATA...
__________________
iMac 27" i7 | MacBook Pro 17" 2009 | iPhone5 | iPad Air | tv | Time Capsule
ipedro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2012, 05:26 PM   #24
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by potatis View Post
You can use the TV remote programmed to the AppleTV and put away the Apple remote?
The native Apple TV OS (both 1 and 2) can learn a new remote. But full Mac OS X cannot. If you have a learning remote, it can learn the Apple Remote commands and reproduce them.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2012, 05:51 PM   #25
CocoaPuffs
macrumors 68010
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by CylonGlitch View Post
I could not get it to mount if there was a hub in the path; but if I plugged the drive in directly I had no problems. Not a huge problem (for me) . . . yet.
I am connected without a hub.
CocoaPuffs is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snow Leopard Server VS. OS X Server 10.8 Jaggions Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 7 Sep 20, 2013 01:33 PM
Anyone upgrade from Snow Leopard Server to Mountain Lion + Server.app? talmy Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 13 Jul 14, 2013 12:22 PM
Do you think iTunes will ever be a standalone server? (AppleTV) KittyKatta Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Nov 27, 2012 01:09 PM
streaming server for appletv allupons Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Nov 5, 2012 02:41 AM
Just looking at the performance, Snow Leopard server or Mountain Lion server? bl00dyg33k Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 0 Aug 23, 2012 08:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC