Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

xray328

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 2, 2010
Hi all, total Mac noob here. We loved every apple product we've played with so far (limited to ipods and playing at the apple store) and plan on getting a mac mini within the next 6 months or so to make our conversion from PC official. Anyway...

Our kids school was selling eMacs for $75 tonight so we bought one for each of our kids. I don't have them yet (supposed to pick up next week), but I as wondering what kind of things I should start upgrading them with since I assume they could probably use it. From what I understand, memory is about the only performance upgrade you can do to them, is that right? What memory do they use and how much can the support?

Can they handle leopard? Is there any advantage to using leopard?

Here's what I got from the school's handout:

Processor: Ranges from 1.0 - 1.25 GHz PPC
Memory: Ranges from 256 - 512 Mb
Hard Drive - Ranges 40 - 80 Gb
Optical Drive - DVD Read & CD Read/Write

What's the best option for wireless internet? I saw something about an Airport card, but then I also saw USB adapters that look like memory sticks?

Can these handle iTunes ok?

Off topic here, but what's the Mac version of Microsoft Office?

Thanks in advance!

Ice-Cube

macrumors 6502a
Jul 27, 2006
Somewhere over the rainbow
Whao those are very old Macs. I doubt they can handle Leopard, much less the latest OS, Snow Leopard.

Judging from the specs, I see they are just good for light surfing, or writing notes and stuff.

VanneDC

macrumors 6502a
Jun 5, 2010
Dubai, UAE
There actually very good boxes. Will run leopard just fine and dandy if you up the ram to at least a gig.