Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 3, 2010, 02:50 PM   #1
Fast/Furious
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Export contacts TO sim card FROM iPhone

Is this even possible? I bought a cheap Nokia E71 to use as a backup phone but I can't figure out a way to export my iPhone contacts to the SIM card. I'm jailbroken so is there some kind of JB app that will let me do this? Or an App Store app? It's kind of a pain in the ass to realize that Apple won't let us do this most likely because it makes it so easy to switch to a different brand/model of phone

PS: I already did a couple searches before I posted this but most of them are old threads and offer no clear-cut solution... apparently iSIM will do it but I have to pay?
__________________
16GB iPod Nano (Graphite)
32GB iPhone 5S
32GB iPad Wifi
Early '11 MBP 15" 2.0 i7, 8GB RAM, 500GB HD + 128GB SSD
Fast/Furious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2010, 02:58 PM   #2
chargit
macrumors 6502a
 
chargit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Evansville, In
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast/Furious View Post
Is this even possible? I bought a cheap Nokia E71 to use as a backup phone but I can't figure out a way to export my iPhone contacts to the SIM card. I'm jailbroken so is there some kind of JB app that will let me do this? Or an App Store app? It's kind of a pain in the ass to realize that Apple won't let us do this most likely because it makes it so easy to switch to a different brand/model of phone

PS: I already did a couple searches before I posted this but most of them are old threads and offer no clear-cut solution... apparently iSIM will do it but I have to pay?
Nope! and I agree with you...... maybe your new phone will sync with your computer. if so you can save your contacts from your iPhone to outlook, yahoo, or some other contact manager then sync them to your new phone. thats the only way that I know of. sorry!
__________________
iUnlock All Cell Phones
iClean Verizon ESN's
chargit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2010, 03:08 PM   #3
ivan300
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
export the contacts to windows contacts in ituens, download the nokia ovi suite, and import them

or you can take the exported vcf and put them on the e71 memory card and import them

Its easy just do some googling

Edit: or even easier set up a gmail account, on the iphone set up active sync and sync your contacts to gmail, then do the same on the e17
ivan300 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2010, 03:34 PM   #4
Carlanga
macrumors 603
 
Carlanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PR
easy if jb...

if you are jb, download SIManager and presto!
__________________
☻ "A dream you dream alone is only a dream...
... A dream you dream together is reality." ☻
Carlanga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2010, 03:51 PM   #5
chargit
macrumors 6502a
 
chargit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Evansville, In
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlanga View Post
if you are jb, download SIManager and presto!
well there you have it! I didnt even know this existed and this question has been asked many times on this forum with no good answer other than what we already posted! thanks
__________________
iUnlock All Cell Phones
iClean Verizon ESN's
chargit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2010, 05:38 PM   #6
Fast/Furious
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan300 View Post
export the contacts to windows contacts in ituens, download the nokia ovi suite, and import them
I have a Mac =/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlanga View Post
if you are jb, download SIManager and presto!
I'll try SIManager! Thanks
__________________
16GB iPod Nano (Graphite)
32GB iPhone 5S
32GB iPad Wifi
Early '11 MBP 15" 2.0 i7, 8GB RAM, 500GB HD + 128GB SSD
Fast/Furious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2010, 07:56 PM   #7
Carlanga
macrumors 603
 
Carlanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by chargit View Post
well there you have it! I didnt even know this existed and this question has been asked many times on this forum with no good answer other than what we already posted! thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast/Furious View Post
I have a Mac =/
I'll try SIManager! Thanks
No prob. It works pretty good, just remember first to press read sim card button on the bottom left, before actually telling it to copy from 'iphone to sim' so that it can know the sim card contacts size and not give you the error 'sim card is full" for your first time. You can later add new ones manually too if needed...
__________________
☻ "A dream you dream alone is only a dream...
... A dream you dream together is reality." ☻
Carlanga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2010, 10:39 PM   #8
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlanga View Post
No prob. It works pretty good, just remember first to press read sim card button on the bottom left, before actually telling it to copy from 'iphone to sim' so that it can know the sim card contacts size and not give you the error 'sim card is full" for your first time. You can later add new ones manually too if needed...
Nice, thats probably why I couldnt get it to work right before
The only down to this is that when you save to sim it just copies the name and phone number.
So for example if you have an email, home address, photo or any other field saved under that contact it will not copy over to the sim.
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2010, 12:00 AM   #9
-aggie-
macrumors Demi-God
 
-aggie-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Where bunnies are welcome.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlanga View Post
if you are jb, download SIManager and presto!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlanga View Post
No prob. It works pretty good, just remember first to press read sim card button on the bottom left, before actually telling it to copy from 'iphone to sim' so that it can know the sim card contacts size and not give you the error 'sim card is full" for your first time. You can later add new ones manually too if needed...
Have you actually used this and got it to work? All Iíve heard was people finding it doesnít work.

OP, I would just export/import your contacts to gmail and then sync to your Nokia from gmail. This also allows you to always have an online backup of your contacts.
__________________
Google with site:macrumors.com as a parameter.
DFU Mode
-aggie- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2010, 12:19 AM   #10
Carlanga
macrumors 603
 
Carlanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Nice, thats probably why I couldnt get it to work right before
The only down to this is that when you save to sim it just copies the name and phone number.
So for example if you have an email, home address, photo or any other field saved under that contact it will not copy over to the sim.
That's correct because sim contacts are stored that way, you cannot add this extra info in any sim card.... that's why you may have the same contacts with various sim spaces since each number would take a sim card contact space out of the 250. (at least in the normal sized sim card is 250). (I did a mini audition in my head to select my 250! lol)

Quote:
Originally Posted by -aggie- View Post
Have you actually used this and got it to work? All I’ve heard was people finding it doesn’t work.
OP, I would just export/import your contacts to gmail and then sync to your Nokia from gmail. This also allows you to always have an online backup of your contacts.
Yep, I used it when I had to use my dumbphones when I was w/out power for 3 days thanks to hurricane earl that passed close-by a couple of days ago... you have to make sure to press first "read from sim" then copy the contacts to the sim, that's why people are not being able to make it work (version is 2.1) after that it works perfectly (I have only tried it w/ the 3GS only though, the OP has a 3GS also so it should work).... and for the OP my contacts are google pushed contacts only and SIManager copied them no problem, one less step to do....
__________________
☻ "A dream you dream alone is only a dream...
... A dream you dream together is reality." ☻
Carlanga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2010, 12:27 AM   #11
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlanga View Post
That's correct because sim contacts are stored that way, you cannot add this extra info in any sim card.... that's why you may have the same contacts with various sim spaces since each number would take a sim card contact space out of the 250. (at least in the normal sized sim card is 250). (I did a mini audition in my head to select my 250! lol)
Cool, thanks for the info.
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2010, 09:53 PM   #12
chargit
macrumors 6502a
 
chargit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Evansville, In
Quote:
Originally Posted by -aggie- View Post
Have you actually used this and got it to work? All Iíve heard was people finding it doesnít work.

OP, I would just export/import your contacts to gmail and then sync to your Nokia from gmail. This also allows you to always have an online backup of your contacts.
I did finally get it to work but it took a while to figure it out. my issue is I have way more than 250 contacts and thats all a sim will hold.
__________________
iUnlock All Cell Phones
iClean Verizon ESN's
chargit is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
contacts to sim(iphone 4s) thewall iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Sep 6, 2013 10:44 AM
Setting up iPhone 5 without a SIM card...or Help me find a nano-SIM! turbodelta iPhone 5 Dec 7, 2012 05:52 PM
sim card/activation problem/extra sim card ??? tcoche iPhone 0 Sep 22, 2012 07:38 PM
Selling iphone 4S Sim card is needed? iphone5 comes SIM card? chrisfromalbany iPhone 4 Sep 17, 2012 02:36 PM
How to copy contacts to SIM card ? mkcee iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Aug 7, 2012 11:44 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC