Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

brayhite

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 21, 2010
N. Kentucky
With all the (mostly) negative and (some) positive hooplah about the new AppleTV, I'm finding myself closer and closer to preordering it. Only thing stopping me really is making sure I have a good set up and worthy equipment to take advantage of the product. With that said, I have no idea or experience with surround sound/sound bars AT ALL. While I can sit and do research all day long, after reading threads on here discussing Zone 2s, RCA/digital outputs/inputs, and receivers vs. non-receivers, I'm lost in what exactly I need to get and set up before ordering the AppleTV.

Currently, I have or can use the following media-esque/Apple things:

Samsung LCD television (with 4 HDMI inputs)
Cable box
XBox 360
2 MacBook Pros (one early 2008 version, another an early 2010)
2 iPhone 4s
Airport Extreme BS

I am really interested in getting a sound bar, as all of this is in my guestimated 12x14 concrete floor bedroom. What kind of inputs/outputs do I need to make sure come with the sound bar, and what kind of cables will I need?

Thanks to anyone who can help, and I welcome all suggestions for the sound system set up. I'm not looking to spend a lot (a lot to me is $400+).

I've found a few sound bars from Samsung and Sony for <$400 but some lack an HDMI input or no wireless subwoofer (wireless subwoofer isn't too important, but a big plus).

brayhite

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 21, 2010
N. Kentucky
Just figured I'd update this:

I ultimately bought this. It's sleek looking with the setup in my room, and definitely does it's job of providing quality sound. The wireless speaker is also a plus, with it sitting across from the TV and next to the bed (this is all in the bedroom), and a deep, vibrating bass that booms from it when the volume is up.