Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 4, 2010, 02:51 AM   #1
richyscot1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Derby, UK
1TB Apple TV...how are they doing it???

Due to the arrival of a new Apple TV, I am after purchasing an old Apple TV. I already have a 500GB Apple TV and would like one for upstairs....anyway that's a separate thing

As there are no Apple TV's available on the UK Apple store, I have turned to eBay. and on my travels have found somebody selling 1Tb Apple TV's!!!

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Apple-TV-1TB-U...ht_2506wt_1160

I have carried out the 2.5inch SATA mod to my Apple TV, to get a 500Gb drive shoe horned in there. But how on earth is somebody getting a 1Tb drive in there??? As far as I'm aware, 1Tb drives are not available in 2.5" form, and if they are, they won't be 9.5mm high...they'll be 12.5mm.

I have used the adapter card mentioned in this thread.....http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=683178

But this item on eBay makes me think there is a better adapter that can be used???

Anybody have any ideas how people are doing this??
__________________
Late 2012 27" iMac; mac mini; MacBook Air
Ipod Nano, 16Gb; Ipod Classic, 160Gb
iPhone 5, 64Gb
2 TV 2's; TimeCapsule
richyscot1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2010, 03:11 AM   #2
TheBritishBloke
macrumors 68030
 
TheBritishBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Western Digital released a 5200RPM 2.5" 1TB HDD very recently.

You can find it here.
TheBritishBloke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2010, 04:14 AM   #3
ipedro
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
^ I have that WD 1TB running in my MacBookPro... that's right, a 1TB MBP!
__________________
iMac 27" i7 | MacBook Pro 17" 2009 | iPhone5 | iPad Air | tv | Time Capsule
ipedro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2010, 04:18 AM   #4
Mowgli21
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Hi

Be aware that listing on eBay is 169 for an installation of a 1tb hdd in an apple tv. It includes the hdd and the installation but not the apple tv!!!
__________________
21.5" iMac 500GB 4GB RAM iPhone 4 32GB 32GB iPad Wifi MacBook Pro 13" Mid 2011
Mowgli21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2010, 05:52 AM   #5
cube
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBritishBloke View Post
Western Digital released a 5200RPM 2.5" 1TB HDD very recently.

You can find it here.
That is a SATA drive. The question is which adapter.
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2010, 06:12 AM   #6
MacUser09
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
You might still find the older type ATVs in Mac reseller's shops.
MacUser09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2010, 06:45 PM   #7
Mike Oxard
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by richyscot1 View Post

As there are no Apple TV's available on the UK Apple store, I have turned to eBay. and on my travels have found somebody selling 1Tb Apple TV's!!!
They are still showing up in the refurb store, there's one there right now:

http://store.apple.com/uk/browse/hom.../ipod/apple_tv
Mike Oxard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2010, 08:00 PM   #8
rorschach
macrumors 68000
 
rorschach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipedro View Post
^ I have that WD 1TB running in my MacBookPro... that's right, a 1TB MBP!
OT but which MBP do you have it in? I was thinking of getting it for my Late 2008 15-incher but I read it was too big or needed an adapter...?
__________________
MacBook Air 13-inch (Mid 2012), iPhone 5
rorschach is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2010, 09:29 PM   #9
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
I'm going to try a new mod this weekend. If it works, I'll have a 750 gb PATA drive inside my Apple TV. I'll post the details whether I succeed or not. Wish me luck.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2010, 11:34 PM   #10
rorschach
macrumors 68000
 
rorschach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
I'm going to try a new mod this weekend. If it works, I'll have a 750 gb PATA drive inside my Apple TV. I'll post the details whether I succeed or not. Wish me luck.
Yes please do let us know!
__________________
MacBook Air 13-inch (Mid 2012), iPhone 5
rorschach is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2010, 01:55 AM   #11
ipedro
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by rorschach View Post
OT but which MBP do you have it in? I was thinking of getting it for my Late 2008 15-incher but I read it was too big or needed an adapter...?
Mine is in an early 2009 17" MBP. When I took out the old HDD and saw how much thicker the 1TB drive was, I slapped my forehead and thought it would never fit. It does! Perfectly.

I don't have a 15" MBP but from what I've seen online, it should fit.
__________________
iMac 27" i7 | MacBook Pro 17" 2009 | iPhone5 | iPad Air | tv | Time Capsule
ipedro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2010, 08:51 PM   #12
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by rorschach View Post
Yes please do let us know!
My idea didn't work. A bit of an obstacle. Basically, I wanted to do a controller transplant. You can see the problem in the 750 gb Apple TV thread.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much weight did Apple shave off, and how did they do it? WardC MacBook Pro 3 Feb 24, 2011 11:37 AM
How do I run an iPhoto'11 slideshow in 2nd gen Apple TV? mamalisa08 Apple TV and Home Theater 9 Nov 16, 2010 02:50 PM
Apple pico projector. How will they do it? techguy866 iPhone 0 Apr 9, 2010 04:32 PM
I saw this at the apple store today...How did they do it? xsecretfiles iPhone 14 Oct 5, 2009 12:11 AM
When people say they "over clocked" the Chip, How are they doing this? macsrules OS X 3 Apr 24, 2008 06:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC