Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AshleyByrom

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 24, 2010
Hi,

I'm trying to use global keyboard shortcuts inside my Cocoa app and, as far as I know, this can only be done with Carbon.

I'm relatively new to Cocoa and Mac Programming as a whole (This being my first real application) and so, I'm EXTREMELY new to Carbon! From what I can understand Cocoa and Carbon are just two different APIs with Cocoa being the 'newer' one (OS X) and the 'preferred' one whereas Carbon is the 'older' (Pre OS X) but it still can do things Cocoa can't so it still gets used.

^^ I hope I understood it right, please correct me if I'm wrong!

Anyway, I have a Cocoa app and I'm trying to reference a Cocoa method in Carbon code. The keyboard shortcuts work and the Carbon code I have is

Code:
OSStatus MyHotKeyHandler(EventHandlerCallRef nextHandler,EventRef theEvent, void *userData) {
	NSAutoreleasePool *localPool;
	localPool = [[NSAutoreleasePool alloc] init];
	EventHotKeyID hkCom;
	GetEventParameter(theEvent,kEventParamDirectObject,typeEventHotKeyID,NULL,sizeof(hkCom),NULL,&hkCom);
	int l = hkCom.id;

switch (l) {
		case 1:
			NSLog(@"Decrease shorcut!");
			break;
		case 2:
			NSLog(@"Increase shortcut!");
			break;
	}
	[localPool release];
	return noErr;
}

Like I said, that works. But I have two methods in my app controller (Cocoa) that I'd like to call instead of NSLog. they're called increaseBrightness and decreaseBrightness. I'd love to just be able to put [self increaseBrightness] instead of the NSLogs but I get errors. I've ready through the CarbonCocoa Integration Guide and it just seems really confusing! Any help?

Thanks,
Ash

lee1210

macrumors 68040
Jan 10, 2005
Dallas, TX